We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is homely old-world Kiwi homestay at it's best.”
Review of Cheltenham House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cheltenham House
Ranked #1 of 15 Hanmer Springs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bay of Plenty
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This is homely old-world Kiwi homestay at it's best.”
Reviewed November 3, 2009

This was our second stay at Cheltenham. This time we travelled with another couple. We occupied the two refurbished and delightfully comfortable adjoining garden cottages. It is peaceful, clean, convenient and friendly. Len's breakfasts have to be tried regardless of your diet! Len's and Maree's hosting of evening drinks in the snooker room by the open fire was dangerously enjoyable! If you miss your family pet whilst away from home then the family labrador will love you to bits. A really lovely place to base yourself in Hanmer.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigFanToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
99
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 31, 2009

My husband & I stayed here for two nights in a Queen bed garden studio/cottage. The guest house is situated on a quiet street, among beautifully manicured and private garden surrounds. The generously sized rooms are beautiful - immaculatey presented and tastefully decorated. Hosts Len & Maree are just great. They go to a great deal of trouble to ensure the comfort and enjoyment of guests. We particulalry enjoyed the evening glass of wine in the billiards room with Len & Maree and other guests - such a nice touch. You don't have to leave your room in the morning to savour a delicious breakfast - it is brought to your room ( I'd highly recommend Len's omlette by the way! ) This was a 10/10 for us - perfect! Looking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zebmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2009

The accommodations were great and the breakfast in your own room is an outstanding touch, plus being very delicious. The evening cocktails were like a night out and we were lucky enough to be there when Len and Maree's Aussie friends blew in just for drinks. What a fun time every evening. You will not be disappointed in the location, as you can walk to everything including the hot springs spa and a great Indian Restaurant. Len gives great advise on what to do.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CapCodBlackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2009

Absolutely beautiful house although we were staying in a separate 'cottage' in the landscaped garden which felt very secluded and special. The hosts were superb- Len and Maree were incredibly welcoming and friendly and brought us a superb cooked breakfast to our room every morning. They also hosted get-togethers for the guests in the evening with free wine in their billiard room. Also very central for getting to the thermal pools down the road and they recommended some great restaurants that were also easily in walking distance. Unfaultable - we thoroughly enjoyed our time here and would recommend it to everyone who is looking for a very special place to stay at a very fair price.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PoppyNPepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2009

We stayed in one of the garden chalets, which was very spacious and fitted to a high standard, we walked to the springs and used the towels provided, a nice touch, there was a choice for breakfast all brought down to the chalet and set out for you on the table, there is a full size snooker table and books dvds etc for your use, but the nicest touch was the get together with the owners and fellow guests a great place to swap tips and experiences. very friendly place

  • Liked — Wine in the afternoon with fellow guests
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Braniff58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2008

Beautiful house and great room, very good location with gracious hosts and a nice cat. All in all, very good

  • Stayed January 2008
    • Value
Helpful?
Thank Anders_Sto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2007

My son and I stayed here for one night in April 2007. We stayed in the twin bedded room at the top of the stairs (had two large double beds). The owners were extremley welcoming and I loved the glass of wine in the evening especially as it gave me chance to chat with the other guests staying. Breakfast served to the room in the morning was a lovely touch (you choose what you want, smoked salmon, full English). They even had towels they could lend you for the thermal pools. Thoroughly recommend this above average B&B.

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Shell007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.2 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
694 reviews
0.2 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
463 reviews
3.6 mi away
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
#9 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
603 reviews
0.6 mi away
Marchmont Gardens
Marchmont Gardens
#2 of 15 in Hanmer Springs
184 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hanmer Springs Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheltenham House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheltenham House

Property: Cheltenham House
Address: 13 Cheltenham Street, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cheltenham House 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a thoughtful mix of comfort, traditional elegance and warm NZ hospitality in one of the private suites in our gracious B&B or self contained accommodation, in our NEW, 4 bedroom, 3 bathroom Villa, built & furnished to 5 star criteria. Both are within 300metres or the Thermal Pools, restaurants, shops & forest walks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cheltenham House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing