We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cheltenham House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Harrogate Gardens Motel(Hanmer Springs)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpine Lodge Motel(Hanmer Springs)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Scarborough Lodge Motel(Hanmer Springs)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Heritage Hanmer Springs(Hanmer Springs)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Settlers Motel(Hanmer Springs)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tussock Peak Motor Lodge(Hanmer Springs)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
ASURE Hanmer Inn Motel(Hanmer Springs)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpine Garden Motel(Hanmer Springs)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Village Lake Apartments(Hanmer Springs)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (153)
Filter reviews
153 results
Traveler rating
141
12
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
141
12
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbilliard roomother guestsglass of wineevening drinksb bperfect hostsbreakfast served in roombush fireslocal toiletriessun roomlocal winenew zealandslept really wellhot poolsone nightlovely touchopportunity to meet
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
106 - 111 of 153 reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Spent 1 night in the Windsor suite on a mother/daughter getaway. We were warmly welcomed and showed around the house, has been offered advice on where to eat and so on.
The room is spacious and comfortable, spotless and perfect in every way. We couldn't ask for more.
Our breakfast was what we ordered, on time, big and delicious.
Could carry on, but would only repeat what others already noted.

Room Tip: We have noticed that some of the downstairs rooms do not have ensuite. If you dont like to share bathroom, worth checking before booking.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham_12, Owner at Cheltenham House, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2012

Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased to read you enjoyed your stay at "Cheltenham House". Len and I always enjoy our guests and ensuring they have a happy stay in Hanmer Springs. You are correct in the ensuite advise. We have one suite downstairs that has a private bathroom (exclusively for the use of that suite), that also caters for guests requiring wheelchair access. All other suites have an ensuite. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

My fiancee and I stayed one night in this gorgeous family run bed and breakfast. We had a garden suite which was beautifully modern inside and very cute looking for the outside. We were very warmly welcomed by the owners who showed us around our room then offered us a glass of wine in the billiard room.We didn't accept the offer however as we wanted to catch the thermal springs before they shut. Before we left for the springs, they took our breakfast order.
The following morning it was brought to the room (at the time that we had asked for), freshly prepared by the kitchen. I had smoked salmon on a toasted bagel and my partner has a "full English fry up"!
The main house it's self was rather amazing and the garden between our suite and the main house beautifully maintained and very cute. They also have two resident dogs, an but gorgeous labrador and a much smaller white dog. Both did some initial (inquisitive barking) when we arrived in the car but this didn't last long. The labrador was very interested in our breakfast when it arrived, standing with his two front paws in the doorway but was very well trained and didn't come in.
Location is central (hard not to be when Hamner Springs is so small) but just tucked behind the main road making out door noise non existent.
Overall it was our stay was short and sweet.

Room Tip: I think all the suites are externally located in the garden, so all would be a good choice.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chicadiee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

This is a beautiful Bed and Breakfast with guests brought together each night to meet and say hello over a glass of wine . A truly lovely touch. The breakfasts are brought to your own room each morning ( you have a small suite with table etc.. as well as bed/s). The owners have been here a very long time and can offer lots of help on request as to eating out and/or local walks etc. Fresh towels for the warm pools are made available every day. You can order virtually anything you fancy for breakfast so egg and smoked salmon, fruit pancakes with maple syrup and of course full english presented no problems. We loved our stay here, got to know several fellow visitors from all over the world at the evening wine meet and thoroughly enjoyed the varied and quality dining out each night in this gorgeous alpine-like village. Definitely a Bed and Breakfast experience to return to time and again if opportunity presents itself.

Room Tip: The upstairs room offers a great deal of space and privacy.. There are two queen beds either quite large enough for a comfortable nights sleep or you can luxuriate by having one each!
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

We stayed for a night in one of the self contained garden suits and it was super. The room was large with half the room dedicated to a seating area, offering a TV with sky. There was a fridge, coffee making facilities and a huge variety of speciality teas. The robes were black and fleecy and electric blankets on the bed have now become my obsession (I'm only 33).
The bathroom was furnished with local products and a full breakfast is brought to your room (or set up on your courtyard) depending on the weather. Our hosts were obviously B&B pros, with every little detail taken care of. Videos could be borrowed, wifi was available and there was even a sewing kit in case of an emergency. The nicest touch as a glass of wine a 6.30 in the billiard room and a chance to have a quick chat and meet the other guests. A great combination of suberb hosting and accommodation that gives you privacy and space.
Two thumbs up.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TabHamster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2012

We enjoyed Cheltenham House for one night with 2 teenage children. Whilst we share a room, it was VERY spacious with lovely touches like robes in the wardrobe. Our bathroom facilities weren't en suite style but, as there weren't any other guests in our area, it wasn't a problem to pop on a robe and head the few steps down the hall. The use of the billiard room (full sized table!) and the run of the expansive backyard, complete with friendly dog and fruiting plum trees (we were able to help ourselves :D ) made the place very relaxing and welcoming. The drinks served to the guests every evening would have been lovely to enjoy but our activities meant we weren't around for those. A special touch was having breakfast in the room: a fully set table (damask serviettes, butter knives, jam spoons, etc) laden with our selections of pancakes, fresh fruit salad, toast, omelets was a real treat! Cheltenham House is a very short walk to the hot springs and various restaurants and forest walks. Len and Maree (hosts) were very chatty and welcoming but never overbearing.

Room Tip: An upstairs room would have been more private - our room was right beside the driveway and felt a little open during the daylight hours as we had the curtains and windows open to enjoy the lovely breezes.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews