We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful oasis”
Review of Cheltenham House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cheltenham House
Ranked #1 of 15 Hanmer Springs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 17, 2011

We had a wonderful stay at Cheltenham House in Hanmer Springs. Hosts Len and Maree were extremely welcoming and helpful. Evening drinks were great (and generous, too!). Breakfast was pre-selected from a menu the evening before, which meant there was greater choice in breakfast than typically offered in bed and breakfasts. Located within very easy walking distance to the spas, as well as everything else in town. Room was very nicely appointed, e.g., underfloor heating for bathroom tiles, large television in room, multiple sitting chairs, large comfortable bed. Thoroughly recommended!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Earl room (garden suite), which was very private. Avoid the garden suites if you do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (149)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 149 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2011

Hanmer Springs is a wonderful town with a nice spa (though children should be more segregated from the adult pools) and there's no better place to stay than Cheltenham House. Our room (Clarence) was spacious with plenty of storage and seating, as well as a fireplace. Our bathroom across the hall was large and well-equipped. The outdoor hot tub is beautifully secluded among the garden greenery. It was nice to share wine and conversation with hosts and guests in the evening; the billiard room is a wonderful place to gather. Cheltenham House is highly recommended for anyone traveling to Hanmer Springs.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 689canda689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2011

We stayed for three nights at Cheltenham House during our month in NZ for the rugby world cup, and can thoroughly recommend it as an excellent place to stay. Hanmer Springs is in itself an interesting area, and the thermal pools are a must for any visitor. Len and Maree are welcoming hosts who are commited to providing a very high quality of service to their guests but who also take a genuine interest in them. We very much enjoyed a glass or three of wine and a chat with Len and Maree in the early evening before setting off to one of the many nearby restaurants. Breakfast is brought to your room in the morning and is of an exceptional quality. We stayed in the Morse suite which has its own conservatory and access to the garden. Len and Maree are justifiably proud of their interesting home which has played its part in the history of the town. Don't miss the opportunity to stay at Cheltenham House if you in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Len and Maree are the best hosts ever! Made our stay here feel absolutely too short. Each morning, Maree would bring breakfast right to our room, which was always impeccably clean. Got to explore their family rooms, play with the dog, have wine with the hosts each evening and even got to play on their piano. The location is also great, just minutes' walk to the small town centre and the thermal pools, and also close to some stunning cycling trails. Love this place, love the folks, and we'll come back even if it's just to visit them!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

My husband and I recently stayed for a couple of nights at Cheltenham House in Hanmer Springs. We couldn't recommend this property more highly. The standard of the room and the hospitality provided by Len and Maree (our hosts) were wonderful.
We stayed in the Morse suite which has a king size bed and a sunroom attached in which a very pleasant breakfast is served each morning if you wish. Evenings commence with a complimentary drink in the billiardroom with your hosts and other guests at which time you can chat and get to know each other. Each evening we then tried a couple of restaurants which Len and Maree recommended and which we very much enjoyed.
Len and Maree's hospitality was great and we would highly recommend staying here if you are visiting Hanmer Springs. The property is within a short walking distance to everything in the township.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cruizin42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2011

If you stay in Hanmer it has to be Cheltenham House. We stayed in the house not one of the lodges and it was just perfect. The location was right near the hot pools and very close to beautiful woodland walks. We had our own sitting room and could open the outside wall, would you believe, on hot days with our own little terrace. Len and Maree were the perfect hosts, I even played snooker with Len on their own full size table ! We loved the 6 o'clock get together with plenty of lovely New Zealand wine when all the guests met and chatted, every evening. A great idea. So near to everything and yet so quiet. A lovely house in a lovely setting.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bettysmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2011

Eccentric, fun, helpful and very likeable cheerful host. Pleasant comfortable roomy cottage in the garden with tea/coffee facilities and fridge and where breakfast is brought to you. Sociable wine is offered to guests in the snooker room early evening. Good location with main drag including thermal pools and restaurants an easily walkable 200 yards. We liked it.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GLx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.2 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
502 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#7 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
772 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Marchmont Gardens
Marchmont Gardens
#3 of 15 in Hanmer Springs
187 reviews
0.9 mi away
Vibrant Living Retreat & Day Spa
Vibrant Living Retreat & Day Spa
#5 of 15 in Hanmer Springs
121 reviews
0.6 mi away
8 on Oregon Boutique Lodge
8 on Oregon Boutique Lodge
#4 of 15 in Hanmer Springs
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheltenham House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheltenham House

Address: 13 Cheltenham Street, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Hanmer Springs
Price Range: $170 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cheltenham House 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a thoughtful mix of comfort, traditional elegance and warm NZ hospitality in one of the private suites in our gracious B&B or self contained accommodation, in our NEW, 4 bedroom, 3 bathroom Villa, built & furnished to 5 star criteria. Both are within 300metres or the Thermal Pools, restaurants, shops & forest walks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Cheltenham House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing