We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Rotorua
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
Reviewed July 5, 2010

Only stayed here for one night for a conference, it was a really nice and quiet... great place to stay would defintely recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maiden_Aotearoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review, January 11, 2015
Dear Maiden_Aotearoa

Thanks so much for your review of the hotel. We sincerely apologise for the delay in responding to your review.

As the new General Manager at the hotel, our focus moving forward will be on providing the best possible service and experience for our guests.

Best regards

Duncan Mackenzie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    254
    124
    57
    23
See reviews for
125
388
13
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
christchurch
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 26, 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights with our 2 under 5's. The staff were attentive, friendly and helpful. Idyllic location for a relaxing weekend getaway. Gorgeous grounds for the kids to run around, Delicious buffet breakfast to start the day. The room was a little small for all of us - we would have been better off in one of the 3 bedroom apartments which i had a look at, they were fabulous but a little out of our price range. Perfect for couples, cheaper for us to rent a house in Hanmer than stay in their apartments but huge bonus to have the room cleaned everyday with lovely toiletries and no mess to worry about when we leave. We had a wonderful time there x

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilikenicepeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review, January 11, 2015
Dear ilikenicepeople

Thanks for taking the time to post a review of the hotel. We sincerely apologise for the delay in responding to your review.

As the new General Manager at the hotel, our focus moving forward will be on providing the best possible service and experience for our guests.

We hope to see you again.

Best regards

Duncan Mackenzie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2010

We were initially hesitant about booking this hotel for our honeymoon, especially after reading an earlier comment on the service. But we proceeded anyway, as we were intrigued by the picturesque grounds & appearance of this historical building which was formerly Hanmer Lodge.
We were pleasantly surprised & hugely impressed when one of the front desk staff went out of his way to help haul our suitcases & wedding presents up the stairs to our room. We met several other front desk staff & other hotel staff, all who are very friendly & pleasant, competent & helpful. Room service food was great!
The hotel is situated pretty much in the middle of the village centre - very handy to all shops, eateries, Conical Hill walkways & the thermal springs. Our hotel room (Standard) is clean albeit modest, but we did get what we booked anyway & were satisfied. There are grander options available from this hotel including Garden Rooms & Family Villas.
As mentioned earlier, it is a beautiful building with beautiful grounds & we enjoyed just mooching around the gardens during the quieter hours of dawn & dusk. The hotel is peaceful & quiet although just to note that we did visit Hanmer during its off peak season.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GotVisaWillTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review, January 11, 2015
Dear GotVisaWillTravel

Thank you for your review of the hotel. We sincerely apologise for the delay in responding to your review.

As the new General Manager at the hotel, our focus moving forward will be on providing the best possible service and experience for our guests.

Best regards

Duncan Mackenzie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
96 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2010

the cottage was very nice from the outside and very TIRED on the inside, horrible kitchen facilities, but very nice layout and good fireplace ready with wood etc
good size deck and dining table
toilets are old and dirty
beds are tired feeling
the kitchen - my god, dirty glasses, plates, the water jug is black on the inside, the kitchen is BROWN (original colour is white, use your imagination here)
staff are unhelpful and make you feel like you are bothering them each time you ask something
overall it was ok, but for the above

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edwin11967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageHotelsNZ, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review, July 15, 2010
Dear Smellyfish,
I appreciate you taking the time to post feedback regarding your stay with us at Hanmer Springs, I would like to sincerely apologise for the standard of cleanliness you experienced, this is not our usual level of service and has been brought to the attention of my Housekeeper. I also note that you felt the Villa was tired and I am happy to report that we are currently working through a refurbishment program of our Villa's which we are aiming to complete by November.
I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future,

Kind regards,
Tony Howlett
General Manager, Heritage Hanmer Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2010

We (2 adults/2 children) stayed in a Garden Room which has one queen size bed and a pull-out sofa, no cooking facilities, did have tea/coffee making facilities, and a bathroom. The room was very small. Despite the fact there were four people booked for the room, only 2 mugs, 2 glasses, 1 teacup, 1 saucer and 2 teaspoons were available.

The next day we expected our room to be serviced, but at 5pm had to ring and ask them to service the room. A man arrived with some towels, and that was all he did. We had dirty dishes and no way of cleaning them, and no clean dishes were given to us. When we asked for more dishes, he said he didn't have any.

We weren't told at the time of booking that a wedding was taking place on the saturday afternoon, at which time the tennis court and pool were closed to all guests. It was a sweltering hot day and we desperately wanted to use the pool and felt it was unfair that as paying guests we weren't allowed to use the facilities.

We were respectfully quiet during the wedding ceremony, and then in the evening the wedding guests partied extremely loudly - the party was still going strongly at 2am with lots of yelling, screaming and loud music - not exactly a good nights sleep for us and all the other guests at the complex who were not involved in the wedding.

We also found that the garden room we stayed in had a little outdoor area, but absolutely no shelter from the sun - we struggled to find a sheltered spot anywhere near our room and it was extremely hot.

The only good thing about our stay at the Heritage Hotel is that the hotel is situated within walking distance of the shops and the hot pools.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charmayne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageHotelsNZ, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review, July 15, 2010
Dear Charmayne,

Thank you for taking the time to post feedback regarding your stay with us in Hanmer Springs. I am sincerely sorry that your stay was unsatisfactory and housekeeping standard below our usual level, I will follow up with the relevant team members to prevent any recurrences. I am also sorry to hear that the Wedding celebration which took place during your stay caused you disturbance, we do try to minimise any disruption caused to other guests and also advise them at the time of booking but have obviously failed to do so on this occasion.
I note your feedback regarding lack of shade around the garden rooms and I will review any suitable opportunities of providing some during the refurbishment program we are currently working through. We do have varying room types within the complex including 3-bedroom self contained Villa's which have full kitchen facilities and I believe would have suited your requirements more satisfactorily.
I do hope we have to opportunity to welcome back to enjoy our usual high standard.

Kind regards,
Tony Howlett
General Manager, Heritage Hanmer Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 18, 2010

Had been informed when booking that the hotel was full and choice of rooms limited found the hotel almost deserted on arrival.
Decor tired and needs renovating.
Room inadequately cleaned during our stay - dirty glasses left untouched and towels not changed. Stewed coffee at breakfast and told we would have to pay extra for fresh coffee.
We were the only diners in the restaurant although the meal was adequate.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank riannehornung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageHotelsNZ, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review, July 15, 2010
Dear Riannehornung,
Thank you for taking the time to post feedback on Trip Adviser regarding your stay with us at the Heritage in Hanmer Springs. I would like to sincerely apologise for the standard of housekeeping you experienced and I have shared your comments with my Housekeeper in order to ascertain how and why we failed to maintain our usual standard. I also note that you felt that our rooms were in need refurbishment and I am happy to report that we have been working through a large refurbishment program including new lighting, curtains, repainting, LCD TV's and iPod docks and are intending to have all rooms fully completed by September.
I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to experience our refreshed product and usual high standard of service.

Kind regards,
Tony Howlett
General Manager, Heritage Hanmer Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2009

My Husband and I stayed two nights in the Heritage for our Honeymoon. We were very disappointed with the unhelpful and unfriendly staff. We will not be staying there again. It definitely put a damper on our trip!

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happytraveller178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageHotelsNZ, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review, July 15, 2010
Dear happytraveller178,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us at Heritage Hanmer Springs. I am very sorry to hear that the level of service you experienced did not meet with your expectation and took the 'shine' from your special weekend away. This is certainly not the standard of service we strive to achieve and maintain and please rest assured that I have shared your feedback with my team in order to prevent any recurrences. I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to experience our usual high service standard.

Kind regards,
Tony Howlett
General Manager, Heritage Hanmer Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
453 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#5 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
288 reviews
0.1 mi away
Village Lake Apartments
Village Lake Apartments
#4 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
#9 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
297 reviews
0.3 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
589 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hanmer Apartments
Hanmer Apartments
#2 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Hanmer Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Hanmer Springs

Property: Heritage Hanmer Springs
Address: 1 Conical Hill Road, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Hanmer Springs 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 90 minutes from Christchurch, Hanmer Springs is the perfect place to escape the pressure of the city and relax in the natural beauty of the Southern Alps. The Heritage Hanmer Springs is a landmark hotel in the heart of Hanmer Springs Village, just a short stroll from the shops and the famous Thermal Pools. Nestled in 9 hectares of beautifully landscaped gardens, the historic Hanmer Lodge building offers the perfect retreat from the stress of modern life. Relax and enjoy the peaceful outdoor setting that the hotel provides, including our tennis court and outdoor swimming pool (seasonal). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Heritage Hanmer Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Hanmer Springs Hotel Hanmer Springs
Hanmer Springs Heritage
Heritage Hotel Hanmer Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing