We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely quiet stay in Hanmer Springs” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Heritage Hanmer Springs

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely quiet stay in Hanmer Springs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014

We stayed one night on 22 August 2014 and thoroughly enjoyed this hotel. I particularly loved the Spanish architecture, no lifts, grand carpets in the hallway and how quiet the hotel was situated back from the road and with garden and mountain views. The staff were friendly and professional. The location was perfect for a nice 5 minute walk to the thermal pools, it is surrounded by the local shops and with access to good outdoor activities. We look forward to coming here again.

Room Tip: We were upstairs at the back of the hotel facing the outside pool and gardens which was deliciously...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jude T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Jude T

Thank you so much for your fantastic feedback. Hanmer is an excellent place to visit (and to live) and we are really glad you enjoyed your experience here – both at the hotel and in Hanmer itself.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best regards,

Duncan Mackenzie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    240
    119
    54
    21
See reviews for
118
363
13
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

My husband and I decided on the spur of the moment to go to Hanmer for the night. We booked a deal with two passes for the hot pools and full breakfast. It was excellent value for money. We dined at the restaurant that night and although there were only two staff on (it was a Sunday night) and the restaurant was quite busy, we were well looked after by the waiter who could not have done enough for us. Due to it being busy, we said we would be happy to wait by the fire and have a drink, the waiter said we could order our food there and when our table and entree were ready he would let us know. The waiter replaced my husbands drink (free of charge) and brought us a bowl of nuts as he perceived we had been so patient - for us it was a lovely touch because the ambience while sitting by the fire was no hard ship by any stretch of the imagination and we certainly didn't think we had been waiting very long. We could not fault the food - it was delicious and so well presented. The breakfast was great and the dining room is stunning. The only down side would be there is no lift for luggage - but that was a small price to pay for the overall experience we had. All the staff we came in contact with were so helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: We didn't choose our own room as such, but we had a great view from the back of the hotel which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 123Walker99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear 123Walker99

Thank you for your review of the Heritage Hanmer Springs.

I have passed on your comments about our staff, particularly the staff in the restaurant. I have passed on your comments to the Restaurant Manager so that the staff are aware of this excellent feedback.

Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best regards,

Duncan Mackenzie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014

We purchased a special offer for one night's stay, a 2-course meal & buffet breakfast.
For less than $300 for the whole lot for both my husband & I combined, I felt like it was good value for money.
We pulled into the hotel, to a full carpark and no parking attendants in sight.
After parking out on the road, we came in to an empty reception (this is at about 7.15pm).
I rang the intercom on the front desk, but we still waited about 3 or 4 minutes before someone appeared.
Friendly enough service, and apologetic for the wait.
Found our room a good size, shower was a good pressure. Enough TV channels that we found something to watch.
Our 2 course dinner was very nice, I had the braised pork shoulder, and it was falling apart, though I felt it was a little lacking in sides.
I had a meringue coconut roulade for dessert, and this was also really nice.
Not as much selection at the bar as I had hoped. No flavoured vodkas listed etc.
Upstairs after dinner, could hear a lot of squeaking of the floorboards in the hallway outside our room, but didn't mind it too much, as its an old building, and is all part of the appeal.
Beds are really comfy, and although I normally HATE zipped beds, I didnt mind this one at all.
Quite an early check out at 10am, a lot of other places we have stayed at, it has been 11am, but no big deal.
Buffet breakfast was very nice, you have to try the danishes, and lots of variety.
Overall, a nice night away, but nothing spectacular about the customer service.
Would recommend though.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Response posted 20th August 2014

Dear Louise T

Thanks very much for your review of the hotel.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, however it is a concern that there was a delay in greeting you on arrival.

Please let me know which day you stayed at the hotel and I will follow up to make sure that we are doing the best we can to provide excellent customer service.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Best regards,

Duncan Mackenzie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
47 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014

We`d been over to NZ from the UK, roadtripping around after seeing Queens of the Stone Age in Auckland, Wellington and Christchurch, had covered 4000 miles and were one day away from the end of our trip.
A lot of people had mentioned Hanmer Springs and its relaxing spas; so we thought we`d indulge a bit and stay here, as we`d been so pleased with the Heritage Hotel we`d stay in at Queenstown.
On arrival we were shown upstairs to a room that was very splendid, but had no balcony for the smoker in me. Yet we were convinced we`d requested a garden room.
So after lugging our heavy cases back down the stairs we were given another key and a map of directions for how to get there.
There, being right at the very far end of the hotel gardens in the last chalet with a view of nothing but trees, and a bit of the mountains, if you craned your neck. So we assumed the hotel must be nearly full, and that's all they had.
But no, it was like a ghost town. We had no neighbours whatsoever, and only saw 20 other guests, at most, the whole 18 hours we stayed here. So why were we not put into somewhere with a bit more accessible scenery?
We couldn`t fault the cleanliness, the hotel has a certain newish charm, but it seemed to have no soul or character.
The staff, as helpful as they were, we can`t fault their demeanour, but there wasn`t much jollity or voluntary interaction in the way of pleasantries.
Certainly not somewhere we`ll be returning to.
Oh, we did get a very good picture of the sunset from the hotel grounds...here`s one for the staff: See if you can figure out where we took it from.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat-and-Maria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear Pat and Maria

Thanks for your review of the hotel. It’s a shame that your experience at the Heritage Hanmer Springs was mixed.

I am the new General Manager at the hotel - for nearly 4 weeks now - and I have made a concerted effort for staff to focus on customer service going forward because we are nothing without our guests!

Regarding your booking for a Garden Room, we believe that this may have been a quirk of one of the online booking websites where we can’t change the name of the room on the website from a Garden Room even though we know it is not the correct room description. Did you make your booking online?

Thanks for your photo! It took me a couple of minutes to figure it out because I am new here, but one of our reception staff who has been here a bit longer picked it in about 2 seconds flat! It’s the view back over the stones in the driveway towards the west (where the sun sets).

Pat and Maria, thanks again for your feedback and please rest assured that we are taking steps to improve our service and the overall ambience at the hotel. We hope you enjoyed your trip to New Zealand and we hope that one day we will see you again.

Best regards,


Duncan Mackenzie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

Service was terrible, I was asked for ID (because of the minibar in the room) I have never been asked this before. No lift, there was only stairs which was not fun with a large heavy bag. The room was really small and there was no rubbish bin. Was woken up by the next room in the morning with the shower/bath going, I could not believe how loud it was. The only thing that was good was the bed was comfortable but other than that I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jemz-01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Jemz-01

Thanks for your feedback on the hotel. We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay.

Please let me know which room you were staying in and on which date and I will follow up with the hotel staff to find out what happened.

Thanks.

Duncan Mackenzie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amberley, null, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

It was very nice room was very nice and relaxing only stayed one night but was really nice. Would definitely go back. The breakfast was amazing with lots of variety and the staff were very nice welcoming and friendly

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear EmmaH

Thanks for your review of the hotel.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.

Best regards.

Duncan Mackenzie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch NZ
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

My Wife and I have just spent 3 wonderful days at the Heritage Hotel, and could not fault it.
On arrival, parking was easy, and we received a most efficient and friendly welcome. Our room was spacious and clean, and the Bathroom huge! The heating was super efficient, and as the temperature plunged to -6 degrees was certainly appreciated.
We did not intend to eat in the hotel for more than one night, but the combination of a fabulous meal the first night, together with the charisma and efficiency of our Waitstaff, Petyo and Orshi, convinced us to repeat it each night. We were not disappointed!
We look forward to staying there again in the near future.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JellyNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Jelly NZ

Thanks for posting a review of your recent stay at the Heritage Hotel Hanmer Springs.

We are really happy you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate your positive feedback about our staff. I will make sure that Petyo and Orshi are aware of your great feedback and are commended for their excellent customer service.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best regards,

Duncan Mackenzie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#4 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.1 mi away
Village Lake Apartments
Village Lake Apartments
#5 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
#9 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
0.1 mi away
ASURE Hanmer Inn Motel
ASURE Hanmer Inn Motel
#10 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.3 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Hanmer Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Hanmer Springs

Property: Heritage Hanmer Springs
Address: 1 Conical Hill Road, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Hanmer Springs 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 90 minutes from Christchurch, Hanmer Springs is the perfect place to escape the pressure of the city and relax in the natural beauty of the Southern Alps. The Heritage Hanmer Springs is a landmark hotel in the heart of Hanmer Springs Village, just a short stroll from the shops and the famous Thermal Pools. Nestled in 9 hectares of beautifully landscaped gardens, the historic Hanmer Lodge building offers the perfect retreat from the stress of modern life. Relax and enjoy the peaceful outdoor setting that the hotel provides, including our tennis court and outdoor swimming pool (seasonal). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Heritage Hanmer Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Hanmer Springs Hotel Hanmer Springs
Hanmer Springs Heritage
Heritage Hotel Hanmer Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing