We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not great value for money”
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a villa as there were no other rooms available. It was expensive for what it was; $339 per night! This may have been due to us staying in peak season. The staff were really friendly and helpful and the location is excellent. It is 2 minutes walk to the springs/spa on the main road so also close to the bars & restaurants the town has to offer.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank sleepy15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
I am sorry you found our villas expensive however they are three bedrooms and fully self contained including a lock up garage.
Yes the price is slightly higher for Christmas and New Year period but overall our room rates are competitive with other accommodation in Hanmer Springs. We also have the added benefit of a swimming pool and tennis court.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    255
    124
    57
    23
See reviews for
125
389
13
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location. Few minutes walk to the hot pools. Very close to everything.
The room was clean and tidy although a little dark. We were just aim a basic room...there are certainly other room to choose from.
The hotel has a beautiful back garden area with a swimming pool. The pool isn't heated but was refreshing after sitting in the sun.
Was fine for what we needed...a one night stop.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sejie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and I am pleased you enjoyed your stay.
All the best for 2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
56 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

And older hotel very well furnished , just stayed the two nights the gardens are large and beautifully kept , comfortable rooms with a large restaurant with good food , great central location short walk to the Spa's

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TezFoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
thank you for your review.
We are very lucky to be situated in such a beautiful part of New Zealand and we are very proud of our location and gardens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

This hotel is located just down the road to the hot springs.The rooms are comfortable and quiet. The restaurant is worth using, good quality and price. Best place to stay in Hammer Springs.
Location, quality, and price

Room Tip: Upstairs at rear overlooking gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Wayfarers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
It's great to receive positive feedback and thank you for taking the time to let us know you enjoyed your stay.
Have a great 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Level Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights. We had a end room on the first floor. The grounds were very nice and sitting out side in the afternoon was relaxing. It is only a short walk to anything in town and to the pools. We ate at other places in town, as the prices for meals here seemed high. The rooms were very clean and spacious.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Playin-Hooky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Thank you for your very kind words. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope you get the oppportunity to return
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stayed here for one night, it was in a good location, and the gardens were nice but I was expecting more, particularly seeing it was rather expensive. The rooms seemed more outdated than heritage. It was comfortable and clean but I was expecting more character.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Birch84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and I am sorry you found our accommodation rather expensive. The rates are competitive and benchmarked against other accomodation providers in Hanmer.
We also have the added advantage of a swimming pool and tennis court which does add value to our offering.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Methven, null, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

I stayed at the Heritage for a conference and was very very disappointed to fine blood in my bed. I did tell the receptionist of the fact and was assured that it would be addressed. After a 2 week period I heard nothing so I phoned again. I spoke with the new manager and he said he would get back to me before the end of the week. He didn't clarify the week so I'm still waiting.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Shirley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
We are unsure if this review applies to out hotel as it mentions a new male manager.
We do not have a male manager and we do not have a new manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
453 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#5 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
288 reviews
0.1 mi away
Village Lake Apartments
Village Lake Apartments
#4 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
#9 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
298 reviews
0.3 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
590 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hanmer Apartments
Hanmer Apartments
#2 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Hanmer Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Hanmer Springs

Property: Heritage Hanmer Springs
Address: 1 Conical Hill Road, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Hanmer Springs 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 90 minutes from Christchurch, Hanmer Springs is the perfect place to escape the pressure of the city and relax in the natural beauty of the Southern Alps. The Heritage Hanmer Springs is a landmark hotel in the heart of Hanmer Springs Village, just a short stroll from the shops and the famous Thermal Pools. Nestled in 9 hectares of beautifully landscaped gardens, the historic Hanmer Lodge building offers the perfect retreat from the stress of modern life. Relax and enjoy the peaceful outdoor setting that the hotel provides, including our tennis court and outdoor swimming pool (seasonal). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Heritage Hanmer Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Hanmer Springs Hotel Hanmer Springs
Hanmer Springs Heritage
Heritage Hotel Hanmer Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing