We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Hotel in Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 23, 2013

This hotel is in a great location. Few minutes walk to the hot pools. Very close to everything.
The room was clean and tidy although a little dark. We were just aim a basic room...there are certainly other room to choose from.
The hotel has a beautiful back garden area with a swimming pool. The pool isn't heated but was refreshing after sitting in the sun.
Was fine for what we needed...a one night stop.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Sejie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Thank you for your kind words and I am pleased you enjoyed your stay.
All the best for 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (731)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

531 - 537 of 731 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2013

And older hotel very well furnished , just stayed the two nights the gardens are large and beautifully kept , comfortable rooms with a large restaurant with good food , great central location short walk to the Spa's

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TezFoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

thank you for your review.
We are very lucky to be situated in such a beautiful part of New Zealand and we are very proud of our location and gardens.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

This hotel is located just down the road to the hot springs.The rooms are comfortable and quiet. The restaurant is worth using, good quality and price. Best place to stay in Hammer Springs.
Location, quality, and price

Room Tip: Upstairs at rear overlooking gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2Wayfarers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

It's great to receive positive feedback and thank you for taking the time to let us know you enjoyed your stay.
Have a great 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights. We had a end room on the first floor. The grounds were very nice and sitting out side in the afternoon was relaxing. It is only a short walk to anything in town and to the pools. We ate at other places in town, as the prices for meals here seemed high. The rooms were very clean and spacious.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Playin-Hooky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Thank you for your very kind words. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope you get the oppportunity to return

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stayed here for one night, it was in a good location, and the gardens were nice but I was expecting more, particularly seeing it was rather expensive. The rooms seemed more outdated than heritage. It was comfortable and clean but I was expecting more character.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Birch84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Thank you for your feedback and I am sorry you found our accommodation rather expensive. The rates are competitive and benchmarked against other accomodation providers in Hanmer.
We also have the added advantage of a swimming pool and tennis court which does add value to our offering.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

I stayed at the Heritage for a conference and was very very disappointed to fine blood in my bed. I did tell the receptionist of the fact and was assured that it would be addressed. After a 2 week period I heard nothing so I phoned again. I spoke with the new manager and he said he would get back to me before the end of the week. He didn't clarify the week so I'm still waiting.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Shirley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

We are unsure if this review applies to out hotel as it mentions a new male manager.
We do not have a male manager and we do not have a new manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night in a deluxe room and was not disappointed. Room was clean and tidy and spacious, really comfy king size bed, 2 seater couch, mini bar area.. Good heating too. We had the Buffett breakfast which had good selection, couldn't fault anything. Really like the ambience of this hotel as it has that history feel too it. Hotel is just across the road from the hot springs. Stayed in room 215.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank samiez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

thank you for your very positive review. We appreciate you took time to write it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
483 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
295 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alpine Lodge Motel
Alpine Lodge Motel
#15 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
#9 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
337 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Motel
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Mote...
#12 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
155 reviews
0.3 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Hanmer Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Hanmer Springs

Address: 1 Conical Hill Road, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Hanmer Springs
Price Range: $104 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Hanmer Springs 4.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 90 minutes from Christchurch, Hanmer Springs is the perfect place to escape the pressure of the city and relax in the natural beauty of the Southern Alps. The Heritage Hanmer Springs is a landmark hotel in the heart of Hanmer Springs Village, just a short stroll from the shops and the famous Thermal Pools. Nestled in 9 hectares of beautifully landscaped gardens, the historic Hanmer Lodge building offers the perfect retreat from the stress of modern life. Relax and enjoy the peaceful outdoor setting that the hotel provides, including our tennis court and outdoor swimming pool (seasonal). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Heritage Hanmer Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Hanmer Springs Hotel Hanmer Springs
Hanmer Springs Heritage
Heritage Hotel Hanmer Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing