We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad, pretty good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We spent one night at Hanmer and it was fine. The staff are really nice and friendly and the hotel is fine. We were there mid week so it was pretty quite. Our room was nice, clean and warm. The only problem was were were close to reception and at the change of staff we could hear them talking and laughing. Great that staff were happy to come to work. Usually not a problem as we wake early, but as we were still on Aussie time, 7am was 5 am for us. Just request a room away from reception.
Breakfast was included in our tariff and as it was pretty quite breakfast was al la carte, which we prefer, better than the pre cooked variety sitting in buffet style.
My wife had the most delicious vegetarian breakfast whilst i went for the eggs benedict with salmon. It was nice except instead of smoked salmon it was tinned red salmon, not as good.
If these are our only complaints it's not too bad and we would stay there again. Happy hour was pretty good, beer and wine cheaper than in the local pubs.
Spend a few hours in the hot thermal pools nearby, lovely and relaxing. The hotel will supply towels, no need to hire at the centre. Don't forget to pack your cossies (bathers, swimming trunks etc.) and save on the $5 hire.

Room Tip: Just ask for one away from reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chermick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2014

Dear Chermick

Thank you for your review of the hotel. We sincerely apologise for the delay in responding to you.

As the new General Manager at the hotel, our focus moving forward will be on providing the best possible service and experience for our guests.

Best regards

Duncan Mackenzie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (711)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

541 - 547 of 711 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2013

I booked this on the internet - 2 rooms, 1 each for my mother and I. When we arrived they only had one room booked, luckily they sorted out another one, but I wasted them ajoining which we were not able to have but the staff did a great job of rectifying the mistake. We stayed in the garden in a studio room (like a cabin with 2 rooms side by side) and it was beautiful and really cosy - the only problem was the noisy people next door talking and stomping around all night so I got stuff all sleep the first night and ended up watching my ipad until late - also the door between to two rooms opens and I was freaked out so asked reception and they said the other side cant open my side - a sign on the door saying that would be good.The parking is miles away and you have to drag your bags across the gravel which is a bit of a chore if your bags are heavy. A stocked mini bar would have been good, I ordered Cheese platter & a fruit platter which was lovely. The room service for dinner was DEVINE as was dessert we ordered. The light in the bathroom was not working but I got this fixed around 30 mins after calling. When we checked out, they had charged for the cheese platter & fruit platter on both rooms for both nights, so it took a while for the lady at reception to fix this for me. I would come back, but would like a stand alone house I think next time.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lsimpsondusty49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

I am glad to see you enjoyed your stay despite a few annoying "niggles" and I apologise for that. It's not much fun when you can't sleep.
Each garden block has a car parking area beside it however it appears you may have parked in the main car park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

The lady at the front desk was very nice and helpful the room were not very clean. They had a french press coffee pot but no coffee, milk or sugar in the room. The rooms are dated! This place needs a face lift for this kind of money I would not go back. I do go to Hanmer often and I will not being staying here.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobiUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2014

Dear RobiUSA

Thank you for your review of the hotel. We sincerely apologise for the delay in responding to you.

As the new General Manager at the hotel, our focus moving forward will be on providing the best possible service and experience for our guests.

Best regards

Duncan Mackenzie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

The Heritage Hamner is an attraction in itself. The buildings and grounds are stunning and staying here makes you feel really special walking up the grand entrance. You can walk everywhere too, which is perfect after visiting the pools on a cold day, being able to pop back to the room to relax.
Only negative is that we were in a garden room on a windy night. The fly screen door banged endlessly in the wind, making for a terrible night's sleep. Another guest also complained about their door as well. Hopefully they sort it out following our feedback because it wasn't good. Also curious as to why the more expensive garden rooms do not have mini bar facilities? Considering they are in the more exposed part of the complex to pop out in the cold, it would be helpful to have a minibar as well.

Room Tip: I'd prefer the superior room to the garden room as they're more exposed to the weather, thou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelnat78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Thank you for your posting.
I am sorry you were kept awake by the banging door. The flyscreen doors should have catches on them so i have asked the maintenance team to check them all.
Mini bars have been removed from the garden rooms due to a very high level of theft. However, if a customers wants one put into their room, we can do that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Stayed recently as a group. Upon walking into the lobby not one of the three staff on the front desk even acknowledged our group. Not sure who was the duty manager as no one appeared to be in uniform or wearing name badges. The man who eventually checked in the group did not give directions to the room until asked. When we got to the room we found it to be very suited to our needs, however hidden charges await! If you use more than your daily allocation of firewood you are charged $30 for any extra load! For the price we paid you would expect as much wood as needed. Nothing wrong with rooms, centrally located. Service was the issue here

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Greer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2014

Dear Greer G

Thank you for your review of the hotel. We sincerely apologise for the delay in responding to you.

As the new General Manager at the hotel, our focus moving forward will be on providing the best possible service and experience for our guests.

Thanks again for your feedback.

Best regards

Duncan Mackenzie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Large, clean room with a big bathroom. The bed was very comfortable. It is a little bit dated but absolutely functional and acceptable. It is right in the middle of town and I can recommend the walk up the hill for the view. Great service at the hotel and the food was delicious.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzienz07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2014

Dear Susienz07

Thank you for your review of the hotel. We sincerely apologise for the delay in responding to you.

As the new General Manager at the hotel, our focus moving forward will be on providing the best possible service and experience for our guests.

We hope to see you again soon.

Best regards

Duncan Mackenzie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We went for a night away and the service was great, big clean rooms with a massive bathroom! Beds were comfortable and room was nice and quiet! Well worth the stay!
Nice and central with lovely outdoor area to drink and pool if you want to go for a swim

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MadiGeorjah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2014

Dear MadiGeorjah

Thank you for your review of the hotel. We sincerely apologise for the delay in responding to you.

As the new General Manager at the hotel, our focus moving forward will be on providing the best possible service and experience for our guests.

Best regards

Duncan Mackenzie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
472 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#7 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
294 reviews
0.1 mi away
Village Lake Apartments
Village Lake Apartments
#4 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alpine Lodge Motel
Alpine Lodge Motel
#19 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
136 reviews
3.7 mi away
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
#9 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
326 reviews
0.3 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Hanmer Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Hanmer Springs

Address: 1 Conical Hill Road, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Hanmer Springs
Price Range: $110 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Hanmer Springs 4.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 90 minutes from Christchurch, Hanmer Springs is the perfect place to escape the pressure of the city and relax in the natural beauty of the Southern Alps. The Heritage Hanmer Springs is a landmark hotel in the heart of Hanmer Springs Village, just a short stroll from the shops and the famous Thermal Pools. Nestled in 9 hectares of beautifully landscaped gardens, the historic Hanmer Lodge building offers the perfect retreat from the stress of modern life. Relax and enjoy the peaceful outdoor setting that the hotel provides, including our tennis court and outdoor swimming pool (seasonal). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Expedia, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Heritage Hanmer Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Hanmer Springs Hotel Hanmer Springs
Hanmer Springs Heritage
Heritage Hotel Hanmer Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing