We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 15, 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Heritage in Dec for a weekend. The room was spacious, clean and private, with a nice courtyard which we fully enjoyed over a summer night. Location is central and plenty of free parking. The hotel is very close to restaurants and to the hot pools both. Definitely recommended

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francesca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2014

Dear Francesca D

Thank you for your review of the hotel. We sincerely apologise for the delay in responding to your review.

As the new General Manager at the hotel, our focus moving forward will be on providing the best possible service and experience for our guests.

Best regards

Duncan Mackenzie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (731)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

575 - 581 of 731 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

Perfect surroundings and huge potential, but the current state is actually quite far away from the advertised pictures.

I honestly cannot understand how this property is ranked as 4.5 star hotel, as there is an obvious lack of facilities that such status generally implies. And this is most definitely is not the luxury destination it is portrayed as. Most likely it should be described as quality motel with no kitchenettes, or as an average hotel with no service.

The most disgusting problem during our short stay was the noise which was created by the guests of the wedding party during whole night. This is rather small property and such huge and noisy event MUST be indicated to ALL guests before occurrence or during booking and checking –in. For very obvious reason management of the hotel decided ignore the interest of all guest in favour of having a profit from the wedding party.

According to the staff these type of parties are very common during weekends, and my advice is that one should check specifically during booking if any celebrations are planned to occur during stay. If yes – do not stay here.

The restaurant in the hotel is in a very poor state with very mediocre dishes. The so-called “breakfast buffet” consist of a VERY ! limited choice of dishes. This is FAR BELOW the standard of a breakfast buffet in a 4-5 stars property, and the selection looks like cheap service station breakfast.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kermadek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2014

Dear kermadek

Thank you for your feedback on the hotel. We sincerely apologise for the delay in responding to your review.

As the new General Manager at the hotel, our focus moving forward will be on providing the best possible service and experience for our guests.

Best regards

Duncan Mackenzie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Friendly staff, clean rooms, good views although for a 4 1/2 star hotel could do with some more updated furniture. Nice restaurant. Had a lovely cooked breakfast.
free 1/2 hr internet - must be used in one time

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kym B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2014

Dear Kym B

Thank you for your review of the hotel. We sincerely apologise for the delay in responding to you.

As the new General Manager at the hotel, our focus moving forward will be on providing the best possible service and experience for our guests.

Best regards

Duncan Mackenzie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed in one of the Garden View rooms and we were disappointed having stayed at some excellent B&B's in NZ. The rooms and bathrooms were average and not what I expected from a brand name like Hanmer. The rooms also do not have air conditioning and it wasn't even that warm when we stayed there. The rooms are very stuffy and have a musty feel to them.

Breakfast was only average and the service was very very slow. The only good thing was the location. only a few minutes walk to the springs and the hotel had free parking.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PP_08_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2014

Dear PP_08_11

Thank you for your review of the hotel. We sincerely apologise for the delay in responding to you.

As the new General Manager at the hotel, our focus moving forward will be on providing the best possible service and experience for our guests.

Best regards

Duncan Mackenzie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Last minute booking to be fair - but for a basic motel room, over priced. Not much a a view from the Garden View rooms. Pretty basic room, Channels etc. Very handy to the town, Hanmer Pools, restaurants etc. though

Room Tip: Find a place on the hill for better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2014

Dear Scott J

Thank you for your review of the hotel. We sincerely apologise for the delay in responding to you.

As the new General Manager at the hotel, our focus moving forward will be on providing the best possible service and experience for our guests.

Best regards

Duncan Mackenzie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We had a great 3-bedroom apartment with lovely mountaiin views in the distance and a duck pond just outside the door. Very central to the hot spring pools and alpine village resort. Visiting at the end of summer it was very hot and we were able to have dinner on the outside deck. Sleeping upstairs we needed the fan on, and it was a nuisance having to go down to the bathroom which is located between the other 2 bedrroms and disturbed our house mates at night. Kitchen adequately equipped and washing machine & dryer conveniently in the garage - washing all dried during the afternoon outside. Lovely grounds and free wifi in the lobby. I would have liked an early morning swim before we left but the pool does not open till 9am. Overall a comfortable stay.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
Thank cherry_bobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2014

Dear Cherry_bobby

Thank you for your review of the hotel. We sincerely apologise for the delay in responding to you.

As the new General Manager at the hotel, our focus moving forward will be on providing the best possible service and experience for our guests.

Best regards

Duncan Mackenzie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

These 3 bedroom apartments are detached from the main hotel, and are two-storey self standing villas, some by the little pond/lake. There is one bedroom at the top (which is not fully enclosed), and two bedrooms underneath. We booked three of these apartments and some have two bathrooms and some have one bathroom. There was also a number of different configurations for the bedding, some apartments had two tiwn rooms + one double, whereas others had two double rooms + one twin, so it's worth asking for the exact bedding/bathroom confirguration if you have a preference. The apartments are clean and tidy but the standard of maintenance is lower than the main hotel (I've stayed in the main hotel before). There were a few things that were older, eg. Blinds that doesn't work, garage door that doesn’t open, the bed was small and old, and the furnishings had a slightly dated look to it compared to the main hotel room. However, for the price and the fact that it's fully self catering, I don't have much to complain about. The location of the apartments is very central - a short stroll to the hot pools and shops. This is also one of the few places we stayed at as a group that gave us 3 sets of keys for each apartment, which is a bonus when travelling with a large group.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zigletta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2014

Dear Zigletta

Thank you for your review of the hotel. We sincerely apologise for the delay in responding to you.

As the new General Manager at the hotel, our focus moving forward will be on providing the best possible service and experience for our guests.

Best regards

Duncan Mackenzie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
483 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
295 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alpine Lodge Motel
Alpine Lodge Motel
#15 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
#9 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
337 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Motel
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Mote...
#12 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
155 reviews
0.3 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Hanmer Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Hanmer Springs

Address: 1 Conical Hill Road, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Hanmer Springs
Price Range: $104 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Hanmer Springs 4.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 90 minutes from Christchurch, Hanmer Springs is the perfect place to escape the pressure of the city and relax in the natural beauty of the Southern Alps. The Heritage Hanmer Springs is a landmark hotel in the heart of Hanmer Springs Village, just a short stroll from the shops and the famous Thermal Pools. Nestled in 9 hectares of beautifully landscaped gardens, the historic Hanmer Lodge building offers the perfect retreat from the stress of modern life. Relax and enjoy the peaceful outdoor setting that the hotel provides, including our tennis court and outdoor swimming pool (seasonal). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Heritage Hanmer Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Hanmer Springs Hotel Hanmer Springs
Hanmer Springs Heritage
Heritage Hotel Hanmer Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing