We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and tidy, but overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Clean and tidy, but overpriced”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Last minute booking to be fair - but for a basic motel room, over priced. Not much a a view from the Garden View rooms. Pretty basic room, Channels etc. Very handy to the town, Hanmer Pools, restaurants etc. though

Room Tip: Find a place on the hill for better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review, October 12, 2014
Dear Scott J

Thank you for your review of the hotel. We sincerely apologise for the delay in responding to you.

As the new General Manager at the hotel, our focus moving forward will be on providing the best possible service and experience for our guests.

Best regards

Duncan Mackenzie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    254
    124
    57
    23
See reviews for
125
388
13
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

We had a great 3-bedroom apartment with lovely mountaiin views in the distance and a duck pond just outside the door. Very central to the hot spring pools and alpine village resort. Visiting at the end of summer it was very hot and we were able to have dinner on the outside deck. Sleeping upstairs we needed the fan on, and it was a nuisance having to go down to the bathroom which is located between the other 2 bedrroms and disturbed our house mates at night. Kitchen adequately equipped and washing machine & dryer conveniently in the garage - washing all dried during the afternoon outside. Lovely grounds and free wifi in the lobby. I would have liked an early morning swim before we left but the pool does not open till 9am. Overall a comfortable stay.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank cherry_bobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review, October 13, 2014
Dear Cherry_bobby

Thank you for your review of the hotel. We sincerely apologise for the delay in responding to you.

As the new General Manager at the hotel, our focus moving forward will be on providing the best possible service and experience for our guests.

Best regards

Duncan Mackenzie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

These 3 bedroom apartments are detached from the main hotel, and are two-storey self standing villas, some by the little pond/lake. There is one bedroom at the top (which is not fully enclosed), and two bedrooms underneath. We booked three of these apartments and some have two bathrooms and some have one bathroom. There was also a number of different configurations for the bedding, some apartments had two tiwn rooms + one double, whereas others had two double rooms + one twin, so it's worth asking for the exact bedding/bathroom confirguration if you have a preference. The apartments are clean and tidy but the standard of maintenance is lower than the main hotel (I've stayed in the main hotel before). There were a few things that were older, eg. Blinds that doesn't work, garage door that doesn’t open, the bed was small and old, and the furnishings had a slightly dated look to it compared to the main hotel room. However, for the price and the fact that it's fully self catering, I don't have much to complain about. The location of the apartments is very central - a short stroll to the hot pools and shops. This is also one of the few places we stayed at as a group that gave us 3 sets of keys for each apartment, which is a bonus when travelling with a large group.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zigletta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review, October 16, 2014
Dear Zigletta

Thank you for your review of the hotel. We sincerely apologise for the delay in responding to you.

As the new General Manager at the hotel, our focus moving forward will be on providing the best possible service and experience for our guests.

Best regards

Duncan Mackenzie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed as part of a package. I liked this hotel even though it was not as plush inside as it was outside and could easily be rectified. The actual building is lovely and the grounds attractive with a lovely outside patio area by the bar. The catering was good and we found the staff friendly. Some free wifi in lobby which was sufficient. Excellent location for the Springs, shops and walks. It's a shame the decor isn't refreshed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fran39_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review, October 16, 2014
Dear Fran39_12

Thank you for your review of the hotel. We sincerely apologise for the delay in responding to you.

As the new General Manager at the hotel, our focus moving forward will be on providing the best possible service and experience for our guests.

Best regards

Duncan Mackenzie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
237 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

We bought a package which included the Heritage as the accommodation component. The staff were very friendly, and the rooms comfortable, but if it wasn't part of our package we probably wouldn't have stayed here. Only Internet is a Mac in the foyer and 30 mins free per day on your own device, but you have to be near the foyer to use it. We stayed on the 2nd floor and it was very noisy from other rooms and also people walking out in the hallways. It is good though for proximity to the town centre, a very easy walk, and also close to the hot springs.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Deano_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review, October 20, 2014
Dear Deano_au

Thank you for your review of the hotel. We sincerely apologise for the delay in responding to you.

As the new General Manager at the hotel, our focus moving forward will be on providing the best possible service and experience for our guests.

Best regards

Duncan Mackenzie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Our room with ensuite was located less that 100M from the historic Hanmer Lodge building, which has been carefully restored to its former glory. We were surrounded by immaculately landscaped gardens, but were able to park adjacent to our room.
The hotel is located in the centre of town within walking distance of the Hot Springs complex and several restaurants.
Facilities include an outdoor pool and tennis court with limited free wifi in reception

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiGregNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review, October 22, 2014
Dear KiwigregNZ

Thank you for your review of the hotel. We sincerely apologise for the delay in responding to you.

As the new General Manager at the hotel, our focus moving forward will be on providing the best possible service and experience for our guests.

Best regards

Duncan Mackenzie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

The website is very deceiving, especially when it comes to the rooms. Our room looked nothing like what it was portrayed on the website. What looked like floor to ceiling windows on the website was infact a view out over the hotel airconditioning unit. Not only was it ugly, but it was also very noisy. I did ask for another room and was given a room overlooking the loading bay and garbage containers...thanks alot... The hotel was not full and I'm sure it would not of been a huge problem finding a room that matched the website description.
The general feel of the hotel was one of shabbiness, not old world charm....on check in the carpets looked like they needed a good vacuum, and the flowers at the reception desk should of been changed days ago. (not difficult to ensure first impressions are met)
The potential for this hotel to be a top notch place is there, it is a lovely building from the outside...unfortunately the balloon soons deflate once you walk through the front door. Not sure I trust the Heritage Brand after that experience. Judging by the reviews, if you luck out and get one of the nice room overlooking the mountains or gardens, the views and location will make up for everything else this hotel is lacking.

Room Tip: Don't reley on the website when choosing a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ilikethisidea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review, October 22, 2014
Dear ilikethisidea

Thank you for your review of the hotel. We sincerely apologise for the delay in responding to you.

As the new General Manager at the hotel, our focus moving forward will be on providing the best possible service and experience for our guests.

Best regards

Duncan Mackenzie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
The St James
The St James
#2 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
453 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#5 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
288 reviews
0.1 mi away
Village Lake Apartments
Village Lake Apartments
#4 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
#9 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
297 reviews
0.3 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
589 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hanmer Apartments
Hanmer Apartments
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Hanmer Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Hanmer Springs

Property: Heritage Hanmer Springs
Address: 1 Conical Hill Road, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Hanmer Springs 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 90 minutes from Christchurch, Hanmer Springs is the perfect place to escape the pressure of the city and relax in the natural beauty of the Southern Alps. The Heritage Hanmer Springs is a landmark hotel in the heart of Hanmer Springs Village, just a short stroll from the shops and the famous Thermal Pools. Nestled in 9 hectares of beautifully landscaped gardens, the historic Hanmer Lodge building offers the perfect retreat from the stress of modern life. Relax and enjoy the peaceful outdoor setting that the hotel provides, including our tennis court and outdoor swimming pool (seasonal). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Heritage Hanmer Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Hanmer Springs Hotel Hanmer Springs
Hanmer Springs Heritage
Heritage Hotel Hanmer Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing