We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Nearby Hotels
Settlers Motel(Hanmer Springs)
$146
$128
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpine Lodge Motel(Hanmer Springs)(Great Value!)
$120
$112
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
ASURE Hanmer Inn Motel(Hanmer Springs)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tussock Peak Motor Lodge(Hanmer Springs)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harrogate Gardens Motel(Hanmer Springs)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpine Springs Motel(Hanmer Springs)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Forest Peak Motel(Hanmer Springs)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
Hanmer Springs Retreat(Hanmer Springs)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (802)
Filter reviews
802 results
Traveler rating
272
301
137
63
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
272
301
137
63
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden roomno liftthe main hotelbuffet breakfasthotel restaurantoutdoor poollovely hotellovely groundstennis courtshot poolsfirst floorcentre of townthree bedroomroom was largecomfortable bedheat pumpnew zealand
Filter
Updating list...
652 - 657 of 802 reviews
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We bought a package which included the Heritage as the accommodation component. The staff were very friendly, and the rooms comfortable, but if it wasn't part of our package we probably wouldn't have stayed here. Only Internet is a Mac in the foyer and 30 mins free per day on your own device, but you have to be near the foyer to use it. We stayed on the 2nd floor and it was very noisy from other rooms and also people walking out in the hallways. It is good though for proximity to the town centre, a very easy walk, and also close to the hot springs.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Deano_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2014

Dear Deano_au

Thank you for your review of the hotel. We sincerely apologise for the delay in responding to you.

As the new General Manager at the hotel, our focus moving forward will be on providing the best possible service and experience for our guests.

Best regards

Duncan Mackenzie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Our room with ensuite was located less that 100M from the historic Hanmer Lodge building, which has been carefully restored to its former glory. We were surrounded by immaculately landscaped gardens, but were able to park adjacent to our room.
The hotel is located in the centre of town within walking distance of the Hot Springs complex and several restaurants.
Facilities include an outdoor pool and tennis court with limited free wifi in reception

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwiGregNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2014

Dear KiwigregNZ

Thank you for your review of the hotel. We sincerely apologise for the delay in responding to you.

As the new General Manager at the hotel, our focus moving forward will be on providing the best possible service and experience for our guests.

Best regards

Duncan Mackenzie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

The website is very deceiving, especially when it comes to the rooms. Our room looked nothing like what it was portrayed on the website. What looked like floor to ceiling windows on the website was infact a view out over the hotel airconditioning unit. Not only was it ugly, but it was also very noisy. I did ask for another room and was given a room overlooking the loading bay and garbage containers...thanks alot... The hotel was not full and I'm sure it would not of been a huge problem finding a room that matched the website description.
The general feel of the hotel was one of shabbiness, not old world charm....on check in the carpets looked like they needed a good vacuum, and the flowers at the reception desk should of been changed days ago. (not difficult to ensure first impressions are met)
The potential for this hotel to be a top notch place is there, it is a lovely building from the outside...unfortunately the balloon soons deflate once you walk through the front door. Not sure I trust the Heritage Brand after that experience. Judging by the reviews, if you luck out and get one of the nice room overlooking the mountains or gardens, the views and location will make up for everything else this hotel is lacking.

Room Tip: Don't reley on the website when choosing a room
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ilikethisidea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2014

Dear ilikethisidea

Thank you for your review of the hotel. We sincerely apologise for the delay in responding to you.

As the new General Manager at the hotel, our focus moving forward will be on providing the best possible service and experience for our guests.

Best regards

Duncan Mackenzie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Just come back from a conference in Hanmer Springs where we stayed at the Heritage. This hotel is located bang in the middle of a very small but very beautiful town. We were lucky to have a room overlooking the front of the hotel and had an amazing view of the snow capped mountains. The service we received was always excellent and the food was amazing. Great place to take the family with an outdoor pool and tennis courts. There are also loads of things to do in Hanmer including the famous Hanmer Springs Hot Pools. Some colleagues also stayed in the villas that are separate from the hotel. These are three bedroom villas with full kitchens, 2 bathrooms and lounge, dining areas and a garage!! These were great. Can't say enough good things about this property and am already planning to take the husband and kids back on a holiday.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tahlulah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2014

Dear Tahlulah

Thank you for your review of the hotel. We sincerely apologise for the delay in responding to you.

As the new General Manager at the hotel, our focus moving forward will be on providing the best possible service and experience for our guests.

Best regards

Duncan Mackenzie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed in a 3-bed 'villa' at the Heritage for one night over the Christmas period. We were disappointed by the standard of the accommodation. The pictures on the website made the villas appear to be quite luxurious but this was not the case. i would have expected more based on the price of them too. We found it to be very rough around the edges - chipped paint work in the bathroom, shabby kitchen with little equipment, balcony was in need of a revamp too.

The hotel grounds were nice though and the villa had a nice outlook over the duck pond.
Perhaps the hotel rooms are nicer.

I informed the front desk staff of our party's disappointment and the initial response was a very definite roll of the eyes! Couldn't believe it - luckily a more senior member of staff stepped in and handled it from that point.

Unlikely to stay here again and certainly wouldn't recommend a villa - could probably get a high quality motel unit for the same price.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bikinbingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2014

Dear Bikinbingo

Thank you for your review of the hotel. We sincerely apologise for the delay in responding to you.

As the new General Manager at the hotel, our focus moving forward will be on providing the best possible service and experience for our guests.

Best regards

Duncan Mackenzie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews