We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good typical hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

As expected the Heritage Hotel at Hanmer Springs was up to a high standard, good size rooms, clean, quiet and good service. While the rooms look like they have been recently refitted (and up to a high standard) personally I just wish they went with a more modern look then the big arm chairs and old school fabrics....oh and provide wifi. Overall a nice comfortable place to stay that is very central to everything.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NZer_on_tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageHanmer_GM, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Dear NZer_on_tour,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback, I am pleased to see that you had an enjoyable stay. I have noted your comments and you may be interested to know that we are currently working towards a solution to increase the Wireless internet service we provide in the public area's to cover the entire complex.

Thank you again for your feedback and I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Tony Howlett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (704)
There are newer reviews for Heritage Hanmer Springs
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

579 - 585 of 704 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at The Heritage for two nights September 8-10 2012. This was pre-booked through the southern spa package and I was a little concerned after reading poor reviews on here. What I found on arrival was a beautiful building on stunning property with highly professional and attentive staff. Room was very modern for the age of the building and more than accommodated our needs.

Only one mishap would be that our initial room had twin beds and not double as requested- this was very efficiently amended by Tim at front desk and he even followed up later to ensure we were happy- great service!

I have no idea what past reviews are talking about- I would say they are just like a good moan about nothing- the window latches.. Really??

Ate at the the restaurant four times during our stay- food an service were amazing.

Stay at the Heritage in Hanmer- you will not regret it! I plan to return at least once a year.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reneebrooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2014

Dear Reneebrooke

Thank you for your review of the hotel. We sincerely apologise for the delay in responding to your review.

As the new General Manager at the hotel, our focus moving forward will be on providing the best possible service and experience for our guests.

We really appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon.

Best regards

Duncan Mackenzie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We arrived with friends to celebrate a special birthday & thoroughly enjoyed our 2 nt stay.
We Stayed in the main Hotel & loved the open fire & drinks at happy hour.
Our room was spacious, spotless bathroom, lovely & warm . Great views of the gardens & the tall Redwoods, handy to great eating alternatives, cafes, bars & Restaurants.
Free wifi in Lobby area, Helpful staff.
Would definately stay here again, The air is amazing so fresh.
Quality Boutique shops
I would love to visit in the Summer as well I Imagine very pretty for weddings

Room Tip: A wide selection to choose from, I like the 3 bedroom Villas which are ideal for families & a sm...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2014

Dear Liz P

Thank you for your review of the hotel. We sincerely apologise for the delay in responding to your review.

As the new General Manager at the hotel, our focus moving forward will be on providing the best possible service and experience for our guests.

We really appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon.

Best regards

Duncan Mackenzie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed in one of the newer villas built behind the old hotel building. Very spacious and comfortable - 3 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms, full kitchen and laundry facilities. Breakfast was a splendid buffet, better than expectation. We would certainly do this again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loreen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2014

Dear Loreen B

Thanks for taking the time to post a review of the hotel. We sincerely apologise for the delay in responding to your review.

As the new General Manager at the hotel, our focus moving forward will be on providing the best possible service and experience for our guests.

We really appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon.

Best regards

Duncan Mackenzie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

As a weekend away destination Hanmer Springs offers a bit of everything. An easy 1 1/2 hour drive from Christchurch saw us arrive at The Heritage for a Friday/Saturday night stay. we were met at the door by Joel, an extremely happy, courteous and obliging man. He showed us through the Hotel and garden rooms available and we settled on a lovely room upstairs in the old building. It had everything we needed, was very well appointed and the beds were extremely comfortable. Next day we returned after our exploits to a serviced room, immaculately clean
The first evening we dined in the restaurant at the Heritage on succulent Molesworth beef. A great advertisement for both Molesworth Station, Harris Meats and the Chef who cooked this beautiful standing rib.
We treated ourselves to a massage at Wisteria Cottge the next day and then soaked in the pools. Not for us the mountain biking, horse trekking, golfing weekend, but those we saw doing these things were enjoying themselves immensely.
This was a wonderful way to celebrate a wedding anniversary and we would definitely go back to The Heritage in Hanmer Springs again.

Room Tip: Upstairs at the end of the corridors. No lift for disabled though. Garden rooms are nice too. Would...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Val063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2014

Dear Val063

Thank you for your review of the hotel. We sincerely apologise for the delay in responding to your review.

As the new General Manager at the hotel, our focus moving forward will be on providing the best possible service and experience for our guests.

We really appreciate your feedback about the hotel and about Hanmer as a great place to get away.

We hope to see you again soon.

Best regards

Duncan Mackenzie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Although my wife and I only stayed for one night, we were made very welcome. The staff were very efficient and friendly. The accomodation that we were in was a garden unit which was extreemly well presented, very clean and warm with a spotless en suite. We would certainly be more than happy to go back there .

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kjan2210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2014

Dear Kjan2210

Thank you for your review of the Heritage Hanmer Springs. We sincerely apologise for the delay in responding to your review.

As the new General Manager at the hotel, our focus moving forward will be on providing the best possible service and experience for our guests.

We really appreciate your feedback and hope to see you in Hanmer again soon.

Best regards

Duncan Mackenzie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

My husband and I stayed in a Heritage Hotel garden room in early 2012. The room smelled of bleach, the windows were filthy and the crockery was sparse. The bathroom, which was ironically set up to cope with wheelchairs, was a minefield with very slippery tiles all the time not just after a shower and it was freezing. Not worth the money we spent.

Room Tip: We would not recommend a Garden Room, the rooms inside the hotel may be better.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trev M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageHanmer_GM, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

Dear Trev M,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your stay with us. I would like to apologise for the shortfall in housekeeping standards you experienced, I have shared your feedback with my Executive Housekeeper to help prevent any recurrences. We will also investigate a solution for the slippery tiles in our disabled access bathrooms.
Once again thank you for your feedback and I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards

Tony Howlett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
466 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#7 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
291 reviews
0.1 mi away
Village Lake Apartments
Village Lake Apartments
#4 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
#9 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
309 reviews
0.3 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
605 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Motel
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Mote...
#12 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Hanmer Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Hanmer Springs

Address: 1 Conical Hill Road, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Hanmer Springs
Price Range: $109 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Hanmer Springs 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 90 minutes from Christchurch, Hanmer Springs is the perfect place to escape the pressure of the city and relax in the natural beauty of the Southern Alps. The Heritage Hanmer Springs is a landmark hotel in the heart of Hanmer Springs Village, just a short stroll from the shops and the famous Thermal Pools. Nestled in 9 hectares of beautifully landscaped gardens, the historic Hanmer Lodge building offers the perfect retreat from the stress of modern life. Relax and enjoy the peaceful outdoor setting that the hotel provides, including our tennis court and outdoor swimming pool (seasonal). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Heritage Hanmer Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Hanmer Springs Hotel Hanmer Springs
Hanmer Springs Heritage
Heritage Hotel Hanmer Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing