We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aging Heritage”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Aging Heritage”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Looking forward to a night away we could not fault the staff. From Reception, to room service, to wait staff, they were unfailingly cheerful, helpful and efficient. The building however let them down. We stayed in the main hotel which had a musty/smoky odour in the foyer, creaking floorboards at points, and sticking latches on the window. An enjoyable stay in a refreshing spot, tainted (not spoiled!) by aging facilities.

Room Tip: Ask for either a garden room or one further toward the end of the main wings. Otherwise there could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrevorL305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageHanmer_GM, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear TrevorL305,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. I am very pleased to note that you found the service, cheerful, helpful and efficient. With regard to the reception foyer, I am happy to inform you that we will commence a refurbishment of this area in August which I believe will significantly enhance the reception and lobby and provide our guests with a much warmer welcome to the Hotel.

I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future and once again thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards

Tony Howlett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    259
    125
    57
    24
See reviews for
127
399
13
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gurgaon, Haryana, India
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

the rooms in heritage are well furnished and have all the facilities that are required to fulfill a 5 star hotel it has a fireplace the only drawback is that the reception is a 5 min walk from the villas and to access internet we have to go to the reception as there is no internet facilities available in the vilas

Room Tip: the villas would be the best facing the lake its very beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dhruvt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageHanmer_GM, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear dhruvt,

Thank you for posting your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am very pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay and that our Villa's met with your expectation. I am also happy to advise you that we are currently working on a Wireless Internet solution for the property with the aim of providing internet to the Villa's as well as the remainder of the complex.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Tony Howlett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We have just returned home from a great break at the heritage. The rooms were clean well presented and filled with heating options to make our room cosy and warm. The mountain views were fantastic and the tennis court provided a few laughs. Would definately visit and stay again!!!

Room Tip: Garden rom was lovely and away from the hustle of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark698_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review, December 28, 2014
Dear Mark698_12

Thanks for your review of the hotel. We sincerely apologise for the delay in responding to your review.

As the new General Manager at the hotel, our focus moving forward will be on providing the best possible service and experience for our guests.

We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon.

Best regards

Duncan Mackenzie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Whether you're visiting New Zealand and looking for the best bits, or like us, residents who want a great getaway, Hanmer Springs should be on your list. With it's fresh alpine air, spectacular views, skiing/snowboarding, fishing, mountain biking, jetboating, hiking and bungy jumping, spa's and hot pools, there's plenty to do here!

We stayed two nights at the Heritage Hotel. The Heritage has the advantage of being the only proper hotel in the centre of town, so location, location LOCATION. We had a delux room, but were initially disappointed that the room had no bath after reading on the website that all delux rooms had baths.

Reception were apologetic and quickly had us in a delux room with a bath. The decor of the room, much like the rest of ther hotel, was fresh and not dated, matching the age of the hotel.

The bed was large but a little hard for my liking. The room was quite clean, with just a few areas like the top of the tall bathroom mirror needing more regular cleaning.

The hair dryer was a little grotty - old and discoloured, but in it's defence, it did work. The shower/bath both worked well and had newish fittings. We did find that after one big bath the water tended to go cold. The bathroom had an added advantage of a towel heater.

The only couch in the room was also fold out bed, and was not very comfortable to sit on.

The room provided tea and coffee facilities, and I'm pleased to say not with small teacups, but decent sized mugs. Unfortunately there is no tray or mat for preparing drinks or snacks, and this probably explains the state of the once varnished shelf that the electric jug sits on. There were small milks available free in the fridge.

Another slightly off-putting feature of the upstair room we had (215), was that at 6:30 every morning, some sort of heating machine, generator or air-conditoner started up, and woke me each time, although my wife didn't wake.

All staff at the hotel were professional and friendly. Although not anything like a 5 star hotel, The Heritage would come between a 3 and a 4 Star, with reasonable rates.

It's main advantage is it's location - walk to the hot pools, walk to the spas, walk to the shops and restaurants - everything is close at hand.

Yes, I would be happy to stay here again.

The hotel's reastaurant Isobel's is very good, and medium priced.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, prehaps a downstairs room might be better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Nadar7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review, December 28, 2014
Dear Nadar7

Thank you for your review of the Heritage Hanmer Springs. We sincerely apologise for the delay in responding to your review.

As the new General Manager at the hotel, our focus moving forward will be on providing the best possible service and experience for our guests.

Thanks again for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon.

Best regards

Duncan Mackenzie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greymouth, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

We stayed in the 'garden units' which is set back from the main hotel itself, but just a short walk. We were told that free 30 min wifi was only available in the hotel lobby, however, we found it was also available in our units. One advantage of the garden units, is that by being seat apart from the hotel, there is never a concern of being kept awake by noisy patrons or say a live band.
We were part of a large group for a weekend seminar. The facilities they offered were excellent and meals also excellent. Breakfast may not suit European travelers as I did not see the croissants, cheese and ham, however I am certain that if required, they would produce it.
The building has a distinct Spanish or Italian flavor to it.

Bed was very comfortable, good shower, however personally I preferr a seperate shower to having shower over bath type.

Room Tip: Garden suites have adjoining doors so ideal for a small group of family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coaster2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review, December 28, 2014
Dear coaster2

Thanks for taking the time to post a review of the hotel. We sincerely apologise for the delay in responding to your review.

As the new General Manager at the hotel, our focus moving forward will be on providing the best possible service and experience for our guests.

We really appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon.

Best regards

Duncan Mackenzie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Nice place in the centre of the quiet town, very close to plenty of eating places and just up the road from the spa. Modern touches but enough old-world charm to keep us happy. Large room with all we needed. Tip: try the date scones from the bakery just across the road - huge and excellent! By the way we totally agree with the reference to the hotel in "The Shining" by another reviewer - we said exactly the same!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EastSussexToad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review, December 28, 2014
Dear EastSussexToad

Thank you for your review of the Heritage Hanmer Springs. We sincerely apologise for the delay in responding to your review.

As the new General Manager at the hotel, our focus moving forward will be on providing the best possible service and experience for our guests.

Best regards

Duncan Mackenzie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 12, 2012 via mobile

We stayed queens birthday wknd. We had a room out in the gardens, warm & cosy and a great view out the window. Room service was great and the restaurant excellent. Would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jduknz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review, December 28, 2014
Dear jduknz

Thank you for your review of the hotel. We sincerely apologise for the delay in responding to your review.

As the new General Manager at the hotel, our focus moving forward will be on providing the best possible service and experience for our guests.

Best regards

Duncan Mackenzie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
457 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#5 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
289 reviews
0.1 mi away
Village Lake Apartments
Village Lake Apartments
#4 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
#9 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
302 reviews
0.3 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
595 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Motel
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Mote...
#12 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Hanmer Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Hanmer Springs

Property: Heritage Hanmer Springs
Address: 1 Conical Hill Road, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Hanmer Springs 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 90 minutes from Christchurch, Hanmer Springs is the perfect place to escape the pressure of the city and relax in the natural beauty of the Southern Alps. The Heritage Hanmer Springs is a landmark hotel in the heart of Hanmer Springs Village, just a short stroll from the shops and the famous Thermal Pools. Nestled in 9 hectares of beautifully landscaped gardens, the historic Hanmer Lodge building offers the perfect retreat from the stress of modern life. Relax and enjoy the peaceful outdoor setting that the hotel provides, including our tennis court and outdoor swimming pool (seasonal). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Heritage Hanmer Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Hanmer Springs Hotel Hanmer Springs
Hanmer Springs Heritage
Heritage Hotel Hanmer Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing