We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good night in Hanmer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good night in Hanmer”
Reviewed March 2, 2012

We spent a lovely day and night in Hanmer Springs. A nice little town. We stayed at the Heritage Hotel and had a beautiful sleep. The hotel itself sits on picturesque grounds and has ambience and old world charm. The room was a good size and very clean.The staff from reception to the room attendants were friendly. Reception offered to carry our bags upstairs but my wife and I needed the exercise! Reading a couple of the not so positive reviews from a coule of people makes me wonder whether they stayed at the same place we experienced.Some people whinge for the sake of whinging.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review, December 29, 2014
Dear Tony I

Thanks for your review of the Heritage Hanmer Springs. We sincerely apologise for the delay in responding to your review.

As the new General Manager at the hotel, our focus moving forward will be on providing the best possible service and experience for our guests.

We really appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again.

Best regards

Duncan Mackenzie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    253
    124
    57
    23
See reviews for
124
384
13
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2012

Slightly 'tired' feel to hotel but none the less very comfortable and good size room.
Handy enough for everything in town - easy walk to the Springs etc.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CameramanG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review, December 29, 2014
Dear CameramanG

Thanks for taking the time to post a review of the hotel. We sincerely apologise for the delay in responding to your review.

As the new General Manager at the hotel, our focus moving forward will be on providing the best possible service and experience for our guests.

Thanks again for your feedback.

Best regards

Duncan Mackenzie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tadworth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Not worth the petrol getting there and avoid weekends

Room Tip: Not worth the effort. Service and attitude of staff poor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageHanmer_GM, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
Dear Peter S

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. I have attached my email address below, it would be greatly appreciated if you could to contact me directly and provide some more detailed feedback around your stay. This would enable me to address any issues or shortfalls with my team.

I hope to hear from you soon,

Kind regards

Tony Howlett
General Manager
tonyh@heritagehotels.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2012

We stayed here for the second night of our honeymoon. We got the executive suite and it was on the second story. Very very dark and nothing to rave about. However cLean and separate lounge which was nice. Good location but that's about it. Cheaper and nicer places to stay in Hanmer. If you do stay- go for the ground floor. We have stayed 3 times and won't stay again only because of the dark dingy rooms and could get better value for money and a lot nicer elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank delphi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageHanmer_GM, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review, February 8, 2012
Dear delphi1

Thank you for posting your feedback on your recent stay with us in Hanmer Springs.

Congratulations on your recent wedding and thank you for choosing to stay at the Heritage during your Honeymoon. I am sorry to hear that you found the executive suite dark, we are somewhat limited by the size of windows in some of our rooms however we will review the lighting in that particular suite to see if we are able to improve this in anyway.

I do hope that you enjoyed other aspects of your stay and the remainder of your honeymoon.

Kind regards

Tony Howlett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2012

Went here expecting quality. Got a nice room but paid accordingly. Rooms are far too noisy.spa bath sounded like industrial pump station and was embarrassed to use, heard everyone in corridor entire 3 night stay. For price I'd book elsewhere next time

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roonbeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageHanmer_GM, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review, February 8, 2012
Dear Roonbeast,

Thank you for taking the time to post feedback regarding your recent stay at Heritage Hanmer Springs.

I am very sorry to hear that you were disturbed by neighbouring guests and noise in the corridor outside your room, this is certainly a challenge in many hotels particularly in a building of this age and with the inability to fully control other guest noise and activity. We do however review ways in which we can improve soundproofing as we work through refurbishment projects which we hope will minimise disturbance to our guests.

I also note your comments regarding the Spa bath in your room and have arranged for this to be investigated by our maintenance manager.

Once again thank you for your feedback,

Kind regards

Tony Howlett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2012

We stayed here for one night on our way to Kaikoura. The hotel was nice if a bit old fashioned. We stayed in the main building. The only criticism I really have is that as an older building it has very high ceilings, which look nice, but make the room quite cold if there isn't enough sunlight. We were freezing even with the heater on.

Other than that reasonably standard - a good 4 star hotel, very well placed to restaurants etc and the Spas.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Umesh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review, December 29, 2014
Dear Umesh R

Thank you for your review of the hotel. We sincerely apologise for the delay in responding to your review.

As the new General Manager at the hotel, our focus moving forward will be on providing the best possible service and experience for our guests.

Best regards

Duncan Mackenzie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

The hotel chain may be brilliant, as it was in Queenstown, but they are definitely no good with bungalows in Hanmer Springs. It was charged like a high-quality room in the hotel, but it was tiny, the sofa bed was never folded up and made the entrance to the room awkward and uncomfortable. There was very little space to put your luggage away or organize your clothes in any possible way. We were told we would get a newspaper every day, but we got one only one day out of the 4 days. The reception officer was o.k. at best. The whole experience felt like being outcasts. Not good. And as if things could not get any worse, we had a small girl crying loud all night and it felt like there was no door in between. I would recommend not to take a bungalow. Could not say about the rest of the hotel, which looked nice, but I could not experience it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soalbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageHanmer_GM, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review, February 8, 2012
Dear soalbar,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your stay with us in Hanmer Springs. I am very sorry to hear that your stay did not meet with your expectations and apologise for the shortfall in the service you received and inconsistent newspaper delivery.

I note that you stayed with us back in August 2011 and it may be worth knowing that we no longer advertise the use of sofa beds to accommodate additional guests in any of our rooms, as I believe they rarely offer a completely satisfactory solution. We do however have a number of room types which our are more suitable for families in the main hotel building with double/double or double/twin bedding configurations, as well as our three bedroom Villa's which are fully self contained.

My sincere apologies again and I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to stay in the future.

Kind regards

Tony Howlett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
The St James
The St James
#2 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#6 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.1 mi away
Village Lake Apartments
Village Lake Apartments
#4 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
#9 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hanmer Apartments
Hanmer Apartments
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
0.3 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Hanmer Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Hanmer Springs

Property: Heritage Hanmer Springs
Address: 1 Conical Hill Road, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Hanmer Springs 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 90 minutes from Christchurch, Hanmer Springs is the perfect place to escape the pressure of the city and relax in the natural beauty of the Southern Alps. The Heritage Hanmer Springs is a landmark hotel in the heart of Hanmer Springs Village, just a short stroll from the shops and the famous Thermal Pools. Nestled in 9 hectares of beautifully landscaped gardens, the historic Hanmer Lodge building offers the perfect retreat from the stress of modern life. Relax and enjoy the peaceful outdoor setting that the hotel provides, including our tennis court and outdoor swimming pool (seasonal). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Heritage Hanmer Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Hanmer Springs Hotel Hanmer Springs
Hanmer Springs Heritage
Heritage Hotel Hanmer Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing