We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint & restful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Jack in the Green Backpackers
Rockingham, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Quaint & restful”
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

This place has a tranquil feeling to it. We had a double room outside with a beautiful view of the mountains. Staff we're friendly & the room was spacious & clean with fresh towels provided. A nice deck to sit on & contemplate the days adventures.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ChelleKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    29
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
10
32
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Its a lovely little backpackers just on the edge of town but still within walking distance. Clean kitchen ( the manager even cleans up behind you as you are cooking, stressful but then OCD is) plenty of hot water and a comfortable lounge and dining area. As it only has 7 rooms its not noisy. Hope the management have thrown out the double bed mattress with the springs sticking out. Sadly not even an "Oh I'm sorry, hope you slept ok though".

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MinxyMeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

After staying in several loud and not too clean backpackers I was very happy when I arrived in this one. The first glance told me it's nice and clean. And it was: great bathrooms, lovely kitchen with all you need, cozy dining room and like the title promises: surrounded by green. The beds were comfortable and the rooms nicely equipped (shelves and little cupboards!!!). The only negative point for me was the fact that I stayed in a four-bed dorm and there was no key to lock my stuff when I went to the city.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Knute88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed February 18, 2014

This is definitely the best hostel I have ever stayed at! Very clean, lovely owner, great & helpful staff, lovely setting, great value for money... it's just the best! Every time I visit Hanmer I stay here, as it's simply the best accommodation in town. The owner and staff have spent a lot of time refurbishing the place and it's even better now than it was before. It doesn't feel like you're staying in a hostel. The rooms are large and nicely decorated, the new kitchen is amazing (twice as big now), the lounge is cozy and it is always very, very clean. You can really tell that the owner and staff love this little gem and put their heart and soul into it. Great value for money as well! I will definitely be back and recommend this place to anybody visiting Hanmer Springs!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CathNZ80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Im not sure if the sheets were changed or not before our stay, the sheets did feel clean and the bed was made nicely but when I got in bed I moved my pillow and some toe nail clippings feel out! Ew! The price was good but not if they dont take proper care with changing the sheets,hygiene is important. I shouldnt have to doubt whether or not the sheets have been changed.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole13693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack in the Gre... B, Manager at Jack in the Green Backpackers, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Nicole, I am sorry to hear about your less than ideal experience. We maintain a high standard of cleanliness in our hostel and follow a strict procedure for changing bedding. Sheets and pillow cases are changed DAILY so I am unsure how this occurred. If you had brought your concerns to management at the time of the discovery we would have happily have accommodated you with new bedding. Once again, I am sorry for your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DT
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

This place is very clean and cosy...even provides towels but the staff was not even as much as mumbling a good morning or such(it took a while to even recognize the lady as a staff member)which gave us a weird feeling of not being welcome.The owner was swearing loudly while talking to someone on the phone or shortly after hanging up and rushed out of the room(it's ok to be pissed but not in the living room of a hostel when your guests are around),sorry but that just added to the weird feel.It was a little noisy as well but apart from that,the place itself is worth staying a night or two.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Wuschel-NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, NZ
Level Contributor
139 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as a family of 4, after a prior trip for father & son. We had the family room with ensuite with a picnic table outside & easy access to the kitchen, living area, car park & clothesline. The room was clean & tidy, absolutely all you need when you're in & out. No TV in the room was great as it gave the kids a break! We used the communal kitchen for breakfasts & snacks, always accessible & since it was a small backpackers we didn't need to compete for space. The kids were confident & happy to wander around themselves & pop into the living area. Wifi was easily accessible & inexpensive. Would definitely go back.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank TischlerAndHubby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.6 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
673 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hanmer Backpackers
Hanmer Backpackers
#6 of 12 in Hanmer Springs
127 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kakapo Lodge YHA
Kakapo Lodge YHA
#3 of 12 in Hanmer Springs
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hanmer Springs Top 10 Holiday Park
1.8 mi away
Alpine Holiday Apartments & Campground
Alpine Holiday Apartments & Camp...
#11 of 12 in Hanmer Springs
66 reviews
0.7 mi away
Drifters Inn Hanmer Springs
Drifters Inn Hanmer Springs
#1 of 12 in Hanmer Springs
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jack in the Green Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jack in the Green Backpackers

Property: Jack in the Green Backpackers
Address: 3 Devon Street, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand (Formerly Le Gite)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Jack in the Green Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by mountains, set in the alpine village of Hanmer Springs, Jack in the Green Backpackers is a boutique budget travellers accommodation. Jack in the Green is located in a quiet part of Hanmer Springs, on a ten minute walk from the town centre and famous thermal pools. Come and enjoy our spacious comfortable rooms, cosy lounge, lovely garden with sunny verandas and patio with bbq. Relax and take your time to discover beautiful Hanmer Springs! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Jack in the Green Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing