We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very mediocre meal”

Monteiths Brewery Bar Hanmer Springs
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“very mediocre meal”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Looks great, good location, nice staff, shame about the food. Very average and my partners was cold. My advice, go for a drink give the food a miss.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kassie54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    262
    117
    67
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greymouth
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“good food but very poor service”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Came here with friends. Always like the atmosphere but the service is really poor. We choose to eat at the leaners in the bar - always have and not normally an issue. Considering 7 - yes 7 waiting staff on had to continually get their attention to be served. Never came and asked if wanted anything else - once got menu didn't come and take order - had to continually get them. Often they were all standing at the checkout counter just chatting - was ridiculous. Very disappointing.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jedsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doncaster
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“evening meal”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

we had our evening meal here with the grandkids and we all enjoyed it very much, there was also entertainment on and we had an enjoyable meal

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank lindel253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
371 reviews
204 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Worth it for a family meal”
Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

We went here after a day at the Springs. It was just across the road and accommodated all types of appetite. 6 adults, 2 children and a baby. The menu was varied, not too pricey and some had fabulous knickerbocker glories. The service was friendly but the high chairs were rather grubby so we didn't use them. Clean please for babies.
Would recommend after a day in the pools.

Helpful?
Thank SueWithaView
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Meath, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just delicious”
Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

Really enjoyed this busy and very friendly place. The food was fabulous and they do a 20$ steak night on Monday and Tuesday. We were served by a really friendly Irish girl called Karen that made the night even more enjoyable. Would highly recommend this place for food and atmosphere!

Helpful?
Thank 75tui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monteiths Brewery Bar Hanmer Springs also viewed

Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
 
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
 
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Monteiths Brewery Bar Hanmer Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing