We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy pasta”

Monteiths Brewery Bar Hanmer Springs
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Adelaide
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Yummy pasta”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

My husband and I had dinner here one evening while staying in Hanmer Springs. Pretty standard Pub atmosphere, was fairly noisy, so wouldn't recommend it for a romantic dinner, however the food was tasty (I had the pasta) and the service was very friendly. Good place for a quick and easy meal.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Melvum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    263
    118
    68
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Napier, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Evening Meal”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Very friendly efficient service with nice food.
Had the added extra of a very good live singer, who at first we thought was going to get too loud. Turned out to be very entertaining!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank tymanfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Eggs Benedict with HARD EGGS!!”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Went for breakfast and the food was pretty average. Worst thing was my sisters eggs benedict arrived with rock hard poached eggs. When we told the waitress she said that is how they come as we didn't specify we wanted them soft. Well I have never ever been given hard eggs with eggs benedict or had to specify that I want them runny. They are supposed to be runny!!! This place really needs to improve on its cooking as well as its customer service!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bananas111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“GREAT place to eat”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Great food and although it had a pub atmosphere it wasn't too noisy....thankfully the music was at a pleasant level making conversation easier. Only disappointment was the exorbitant price of a small bowl of steamed vegies!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mims-memories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“$20 steak night!!!”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

500gm steak and mash with an amazing sauce for just $20. Great value compared to the other places in town, which were much smaller meals for a lot more money. Steak was great quality for the price as well - I was expecting it to be tough, fatty and just bad, but was incredibly impressed. Only got half way through, and was offered it to takeaway, but I couldn't have even looked at it again without feeling full.

Friendly, fast service, great drinks.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zinnia-alice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monteiths Brewery Bar Hanmer Springs also viewed

Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
 
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
 
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Monteiths Brewery Bar Hanmer Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing