We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bit Soulless” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Monteiths Brewery Bar Hanmer Springs

Monteiths Brewery Bar Hanmer Springs
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Leicester
Level Contributor
116 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Bit Soulless”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

Popped down to here for a drink after eating in at our chalet but we enjoyed the walk there and back more than the bar. Too many people just sitting and watching the TV screens and no particular welcome from anyone behind the bar (certainly not a landlord) so seemed pretty much devoid of atmosphere and Kiwi beer isn't enough to keep you anywhere like that.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank TCMike54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    247
    113
    63
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
99 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Tasty Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We decided to go here for dinner (recommended by a staff member at Hot Pools). It was a busy holiday evening so we were expecting to not get a table - but we were politely told it would be 20 mins wait. They had a waiting list for tables so we got drinks - orders some garlic ciabatta to keep us going and sat in the bar area.
Wait was a bit over 20 mins but with garlic bread on hand it was fine.
I ordered the Flintstone steak with peppercorn sauce and this was very good. The Eye Fillet was sent out overcooked so dad wasn't so impressed. My mum who doesn't eat a lot ordered the buffalo chicken wings - these were dry and possibly freezer burnt. Luckily she was able to share some of mine so it didn't bother us too much. On a busy night it probably wasn't worth complaining as we would have been waiting a lot longer for something else. It certainly had a few issues - overall tasty but should be all good for the prices they are asking.

Wished that I had eaten at the Hot Springs Hotel which I was told was very nice and close to our motel if we wanted to drink. Better luck next time I suppose.

P.s Not sure about Robbies Hanmer Springs but this beats Robbies Kaikoura hands down.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CosmicCowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terrible food and service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Arrived around 5.30pm and was seated immediatly, there was only one other table at this time.
Everything was good until we ordered, then we never saw our waitress again.The meals were placed on the table and the waitress disappeared without offering any more drinks, despite all glasses on table being empty. I ordered the salmon and fish stack, it was terrible the fish looked glassy and watery as if it had been frozen, I tried to get a staff members attention but no one would come over. I picked through the stack and ate the salmon, which was nice and the so called gourmet potatoes, that were washed potatoes cut in half and drowned in butter.
When everyone had finished the waitress cleared the plates and never asked how any of the meals were depsite half of it still being on the plate. I asked her if the fish was fresh or frozen, her response was "its out of the chiller". On paying I brought this to the cashiers attention and got nothing but a mumble, knew I was wasting my time here! Would not recommend this to anyone!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank susienp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

called in but they were very busy,
Had a few drinks and left as very uncomforable seating also the staff were not very friendly.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Montys4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timaru, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Terrible and rude service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

Walked in and was not greeted by anyone, we then seated ourselves and after 20 minutes of waiting and staff walking past us we went up and ordered. They were rude and off hand with us and with other customers. The staff were more interested in folding napkins then serving customers. The place looked dirty like the floor needed a good clean. The food was average, ordered ribs to share but yet they only gave us one knife and fork. Poor poor service. Would not recommend to anyone.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Grace M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monteiths Brewery Bar Hanmer Springs also viewed

Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
 
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Monteiths Brewery Bar Hanmer Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing