We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great meal with kids” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saints Cafe, Restaurant & Bar

Saints Cafe, Restaurant & Bar
Price range: $7 - $27
Cuisines: Bar, Pizza, Pub, New Zealand, European, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: This Restaurant of ours is always buzzing with tourists, locals, families and groups of friends. We've got big comfy booths, spread out tables and long outside wooden benches for those warm evenings. Relax with a drink or famous cocktail, shoot some pool, or enjoy our restaurant where you may choose from our celebrated gourmet pizzas, unique stonegrill, and classic a-la-carte menu. For those of you with children, please bring them with you as we are absolutely child friendly. Kids can choose from their own menu and colour to their hearts content. We also offer the great taste of Saints through our takeaway service offering not only our gourmet pizzas but our full a-la-carte menu. Come and join us as our team would love to look after you.
Wellington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great meal with kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

Popped in without booking around 5pm and the kids played pool while we waited for the food. The kids were also supplied with Kids activity packs which entertained then right through dinner. Great food with a huge range of kid friendly foods. Highly recommend for families.

Helpful?
Thank damianhannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    100
    34
    12
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashburton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yummy pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

Nice decor, friendly staff, awesome pizza, a pool table area too! Good central location. Plenty of parking space.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank KarenF2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
70 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Good honest food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

Came in with the family as we were staying just down the road. Got the last table available so counted ourselves lucky. Service was good, friendly and prompt.

All of us enjoyed our food, the stonegrill beef for me was great and the beers to go with it were quick in arriving. Overall we were very happy with our meal there and would eat there again if back in Hanmer Springs.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwi_acct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great wait staff!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

14 rowdy adults filled with cocktails could have been a disasterous handful but the wonderful team at Saints looked after us all and with a smile and sense of humour too!! They pampered to our many requests and managed to serve our drinks and food promptly. The food was great with everyone enjoying their pizzas or stonegrill dinners.
We were given ample warning that they would be moving our tables for dancing later. if your looking for a restaurant/bar that's lively as well as serving great food then book a table at Saints.
All in all a great night thanks Saints!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

We dined here a few nights ago, everybody enjoyed their meal. I had the pizza and it was so good, I'm going to try and replicate it at home. The service was great, Miss 8 ordered a stonegrill platter and the waitress fully explained everything to her, making sure that she was safe and didn't burn herself. I feel bad not getting the waitresses name, she was lovely. My husbands meal was somehow left off our order and the guy that took the order was very apologetic and we appreciate these things happen. As soon as they realised the mistake they were straight on to it, and the meal was made as quickly as possible. Apparently it was worth the wait! Would dine here again.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Melanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saints Cafe, Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
 
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
 
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Saints Cafe, Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing