We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic!”

Saints Cafe, Restaurant & Bar
Price range: $7 - $27
Cuisines: Bar, Pizza, Pub, New Zealand, European, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: This Restaurant of ours is always buzzing with tourists, locals, families and groups of friends. We've got big comfy booths, spread out tables and long outside wooden benches for those warm evenings. Relax with a drink or famous cocktail, shoot some pool, or enjoy our restaurant where you may choose from our celebrated gourmet pizzas, unique stonegrill, and classic a-la-carte menu. For those of you with children, please bring them with you as we are absolutely child friendly. Kids can choose from their own menu and colour to their hearts content. We also offer the great taste of Saints through our takeaway service offering not only our gourmet pizzas but our full a-la-carte menu. Come and join us as our team would love to look after you.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2011

Our family goes to Saints often. Great coffee and pizza, very good service and not to pricey. Great value for money. Family friendly and nice food.
Awesome!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Colleen4154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    102
    35
    13
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Level Contributor
105 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Great hot stone grill !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2011

Go only for the best cut of beef.......no regrets. On the hot stone, cook the meat any which way you like ! GREAT !!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank magbillSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2011

More of a bar than a resturant, bit noisy, had a table looking onto the toilet facilities, so that not graet, the portions were generous, prices reasonable, but limitedvegiataian menu and food was average.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Only okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2011

Saints looked lovely from the outside & the stonegrill meals appealed to us, so we decided to give it a try. Once inside though it was not as expected. Basically more of a bar, with pool tables etc & tables around them. The service was friendly & pleasant. We ordered 2 stonegrill meals & while okay they were nothing special...although hubby said his eye fillet was delicious & tender! They came with a side salad which was fresh & shoestring fries. My chicken breast was just that, a chicken breast (not marinated, so no flavour) & came with a small bowl of mass produced satay sauce. It was difficult to cut into slices to cook on the stone with just a normal knife, so I would suggest giving patrons steak knives to cut their meats for cooking.
All in all very average, probably better for families, maybe it's more of a kids place but as a couple we were disappointed with the ambience & food.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Birmandt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
48 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Delish pizza and great coffee!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

We have been to Saints every visit to Hanmer Springs and couldn't recommend it more! They do wonderful fresh pizzas, which is just what you feel like after a dip in the springs. We were able to watch the rugby on their massive projector screen. The staff have always been good and we will continue to head back there.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Smarty18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saints Cafe, Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
 
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Saints Cafe, Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing