We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friends and Family night”

Robbies Bar & Bistro
Price range: $2 - $28
Cuisines: New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We arrived in Hanmer and booked this place with less than 24 hours notice for a night for friends and family - about 50 of us, no problem to them, food was nice, staff were incredibly efficient.

Thank BaznSueHawkesBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (446)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

401 - 405 of 446 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2014

Went there with a friend only to find that since she wasn't 18 we couldn't eat there as they served alcohol but there were children in there eating... Every other food shop was closed by the time we got in so had nothing to eat for dinner unfortunately.

1  Thank 88kezza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobbiesHanmer, Manager at Robbies Bar & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Hi Yes unfortunately we are under a restricted license premises which is imposed on us by the restrictions of our alcohol license. we are in the process of changing this however it is decided by the council not Robbie's. We do have a big sign at our front door entrance which explains that a supervised license means only those above 18 years old with Id or children accompanied by their parents are able to be present on our premises. Unfortunately the penalty of allowing anything other than this is very expensive (can be upwards of $10,000, loss of license and closure for penalty days). We do apologise that this was not explained on the night. And please be reassured we are looking in to changing this license.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

All we wanted was some lunch, nothing too expensive or fancy. Firstly the waitresses were extremely young which wasnt a problem as we knew they were learning. What we couldn't understand is that we ordered food at the bar and paid for it upfront and then the duty manager came over quite a while later asking us what we had ordered, as we watched other people eating who had arrived after us. Ordering a cheese mushroom and spring onion omlette with chips and a burger with chips we thought this was an easy request. Omlette was tasteless with not a hint of cheese, also noticed no spring onions. We called the duty manager over to ask what had happened as maybe when had had to reorder maybe they made a mistake, her reply was that there was definitely cheese in the omlette (even though we couldnt see smell or taste it) because that is what holds an omlette together. I have never heard such rubbish, we sat there stunned....isnt it the egg that holds an omlette together? Oh and apparently there were no spring onions left from their herb garden.....how about letting customers know this upon ordering, did she think we would just forget one of the main ingredients! Then talk about sauces, these were just even stranger, none of it resembled aioli or mayonaise, I think we got salad dressing instead. After complaining about the tastless omlette the duty manager mumbled something about refunding us a drink for the disappointment but upon paying for the one extra drink we had ordered during our lunch she told us we could just pay half price for the drink, a saving of $2.50, what an insult. You would have been better not offering anything at all! That is more insulting than us just paying full price and leaving unsatisfied. That is what has driven us to write this review. Your staff need more training in the kitchen and on the floor. Ive worked in all areas of hospo for over 12 years now and still do and im just speechless with regards to how a manager dealt with this so poorly.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank Hannah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Friendly attentive staff, food ok, good craft beer available, sandflies outside who also had their evening meal

Thank nzfargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

The kids were kept entertained with colouring activities thankfully. Waited far too long for our order despite arriving early, around 5pm when there were very few other customers. As for the standard of food, it left a lot to be desired....tasted like dried-up leftovers. As a family holiday treat eating out, this was disappointing. The waiter was cheerful but never once asked if everything was ok.

1  Thank BirdsongHokitikaYHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Robbies Bar & Bistro also viewed

Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
 
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
 
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Robbies Bar & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing