We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, quiet and close enough to the pools” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hanmer Springs Top 10 Holiday Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hanmer Springs Top 10 Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
229 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Clean, quiet and close enough to the pools”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

We enjoyed our stay there in a cabin.

The staff were very friendly, the room had everything we needed to chill, cook and watch TV after a great day at the pools, which are less than 10 minutes walk. It is also close enough to town, and the walk there and back is quiet and nice.

They had varnished the bathroom and it was the strong smell was quite disgusting, but just hope it goes away soon. Our neighbours had a dog in their room, am not against pets in the rooms, but could be quite annoying when the dog was barking in the middle of the night

Will definitely be back.

Room Tip: cabin units are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DiegoUG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    97
    26
    12
    8
See reviews for
100
123
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here overnight in camper arriving at night so can't comment on full range of facilities. Clean amenities, decent sized camper site and friendly reception staff.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ozstars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

Stayed here for one night in early May. We were on our way back down to Christchurch and this was to be our last night in our campervan.

The lady in reception was super helpful and would have talked on and on for ages advising us where to go and what to see.

The park is located just out of the town centre and is a little difficult to see when first driving into town. You can walk from the park to the town but it's a bit long at night .

The park has good amenities, however some minor maintenance is required. eg, toilet seat fell off when lifting and at night the lighting was very poor. Don't know if the globes were out but the whole place was DARK!

We found that the campervan sites (UK...pitches!) were very close together and our van was almost "shoulder to shoulder" with next door. Perhaps we had been spoilt in previous locations.

Trying to find the park at night (coming back from the town) we overshot and had to turn around several times to find the entrance. (the driver had not been drinking!!) Perhaps the owners might like to address this with a lighted sign.

Considering the popularity of this park the nightly tariff of $38 nz, was very reasonable. We would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Westwanderer_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangkok
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

This was our last stay day in NZ, also one of the best and rememerable places visited during this trip, the hotel was clean and nice, with all the accomodation one would ask for. The 2 bed room ensitu unit we had contains all the needed things e.g. kitchen amenties and shower. The heater was nice and modern. Flat screen TV with several sky TV channels. The hotel is also close to Hanmer Hot Springs, of which we spend some good 4-6 hours inside, with double entry as we are Top 10 customers. The host was very friendly and had a great service mind, my parents had a enjoyable conversation with her.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kitipan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

We loved staying here so much that we decided to extend by another night! The hostess was extremely helpful and friendly. We stayed in off peak season so had a fantastic powered site for our van right next to the playground, which is helpful when travelling with a 3 year old. The bathroom was huge and seemed clean (except the gazillion spiders and webs up in the high ceilings - I told myself not to look up!) and the shower stalls were quite large and even had a little stool in them to sit on or put your things on. There was one shower stall which had a bath/shower in it so I was able to give my son an actual bath for the first time on our entire trip. He loved the playground. Older kids can hire the bikes out as well (though seemed a little pricey to me). It was only a 5 or so min walk up the hill into town and to the hot springs (which by the way are awesome). In autumn the holiday park looks lovely with the coloured leaves and fresh air. We would have happily stayed here for longer and will definitely stay there again next time we're in NZ.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StellaBella77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
114 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

We tried to use Top 10 sites wherever we stayed in New Zealand. The standard was always high and the accommodation clean and comfortable. We used self contained cabin units which had bathrooms and limited kitchen facilities sufficient for a breakfast or a takeaway evening meal. Linen, towels and soap were always included. They were also easy to book ahead and would undertake to book local attractions for you. this is a very pleasant site within easy walking distance of the springs and local restaurents.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fhdCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohoka, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

Rang and booked in advance said we would be there at lunch time, got there just before 12 and they said check in wasn't until 1pm. Wasn't told this on the phone but didn't mind to much as we went into the town and had lunch. Came back at 1pm and was told the room still wasn't ready, was really annoying as just wanted to get changed and head to the pools. Then the friend I was with tried to hire a towel and she tried to rip us off by pretending not to know the cost of hire when she clearly owns the place. Another worker told us we could park somewhere which we were then told to move the car by another. Also thought the room was a rip off for $75 a night.
Will not be coming back!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashleigh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.2 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#4 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.5 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
0.5 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Alpine Adventure Holiday Park
Alpine Adventure Holiday Park
#8 of 12 in Hanmer Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
1.3 mi away
Alpine Holiday Apartments & Campground
Alpine Holiday Apartments & Camp...
#10 of 12 in Hanmer Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hanmer Backpackers
Hanmer Backpackers
#4 of 12 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanmer Springs Top 10 Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanmer Springs Top 10 Holiday Park

Property: Hanmer Springs Top 10 Holiday Park
Address: 5 Hanmer Springs Road, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hanmer Springs Top 10 Holiday Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please provide a description of your business. To add or edit the description in another language, close this box and select a flag in the upper-right corner of the page. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hanmer Springs Top 10 Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing