We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service”

Chantellinis Restaurant and Cafe
Price range: $11 - $27
Cuisines: French, European, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Experience exceptional hospitality in an Award Winning French inspired fine dining restaurant. Chantellinis champions the finest local and seasonal produce complete with an extensive and nationally recognised wine list, which compliments the menu while showcasing the best wines from Waipara and New Zealand. The team work from the ground up producing virtually everything, from house baked breads, butter, cheeses, chocolate, pastry and charcuterie. Produce is sourced locally including truffles, farmed and wild meats, poultry and organic vegetables. Garnishes and herbs are grown in the restaurant's organic vegetable garden. Menus are generally altered twice each season, according to the best produce available, whether farmed or foraged. The intimate and private dining rooms are perfect for corporate groups, or family celebrations, as the knowledgeable and professional team will make your event memorable. Chantellinis is the ultimate restaurant for those who want a special dining experience.Checkout our Facebook and become a friend of Chantellinis.
Salisbury UK
Level Contributor
154 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Called in on spec and were greeted warmly and shown to a nice table. The service was very good, as was the food. What else can one say, try this restaurant if you want a great meal.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank QJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    26
    12
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
185 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Absolutely Perfect”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Dined here early November, and everything from the initial booking over the phone, to the meet and greet when we arrived to our table situated upstairs looking out to the hills, to the service and the food/wine was exceptional. Couldn't fault anything. We have eaten here before and definitely weren't disappointed. Chose the lamb and duck for mains and apple pie for dessert and was lovely.
Would definitely dine again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nomadicnevs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
62 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“3rd Time Unlucky”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We have dined at Chantellinis twice before (dinner & lunch) and while we certainly enjoyed the outdoor ambiance on a beautiful day we did find the lunch menu was more limited than previous visits, and the service from the kitchen was extremely slow given the surprisingly low patronage on a holiday weekend. We commented on the presentation of the Eggs Meurette to our friendly waitress (who handled the matter very well) which was ordered, but not enjoyed at all, by 3 of our group of 5. The biggest disappointment though was the unacceptabe and deprecating attitude of the (presumably) maitre de/owner.When we were settling the account we were informed that "we do not serve pub eggs here". Such lofty comments have ensured we will not return.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kerei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmbags, Owner at Chantellinis Restaurant and Cafe, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Unfortunately, you are misleading with your information. Firstly our lunch menu is larger than it has ever been - we had two fresh salads, beef eye fillet, chicken, vegetarian, smoked salmon, venison and pate to choose from.
Secondly, the service was not slow. One of your party ordered their eye fillet medium, which took time to cook. The tables were quickly put together for your group, your wine served efficiently and you were comfortably able to linger for another 30minutes after you had finished your meal, clearly indicating you were in no rush at all.
You were checked on numerous times during your lunch, which would have been ideal times to explain that the eggs dish was not what you were expecting. The dish was exactly as the description says it is. Poached eggs served in a Bordelaise sauce, bacon, mushrooms and onions with house made sour dough toasted bread. The Bordelaise sauce is made from house made beef stock and the bread is house made.
However, even though you all ate the entire meals we discounted the 3 lunches by 50%. (we still have the receipts on file). So you each paid less than $9.00 for your those 3 lunches. Which we were happy to do, as we have never had one complaint about that dish.
On payment, interestingly enough the word 'pub' was never used at all. I said that the dish was a classic French dish, totally unlike the eggs dishes that are served in the other cafes (such as eggs Benedict, which has the hollandaise sauce over the eggs).
We are sorry that even with 50% off you were still unsatisfied.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisborne, New Zealand
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“WOW fantastic”
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Decided to spend my 50th at this restaurant. So pleased we did. We were greeted by friendly staff and were taken to our table with an outlook out to the hills. The menu was explained I chose quail and main of venison . The other meal was smoked eel ravioli and main of bluenose fish with a side of veges shared by two. The food was faultless so tasty and tender and presented wonderfully on our plates. Neither of us felt like dessert however I was presented with a lemon curd tart with a white chocolate happy birthday wish with a candle really thoughtful of the team a special touch. It is in the higher price bracket however food and the staff were wonderful so we didnt mind the cost $200 for 2 incl 4 drinks! Would recommend you try this restaurant for a special night out.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Biffee63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Five star”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Silver service does not even begin to describe this place. The wait staff are so friendly, knowledgeable, unobtrusive and friendly that neither of us felt intimidated. The food was divine and if the prices were a little on the expensive side, they were totally worth every cent. We both had the Duo of Duck which was served with tiny baby turnips which were just little morsels of delciiousness and sweetness. The duck fat potatoes and other veges were perfect accompiments.
Dessert for me was the Dark Chocolat Fondant and OMGoodness it was...divine cannot even express how good it was. My friend had the creme brulee and she said it was the largest! and nicest she had ever had.
It was the small touches such as the warm homemade bread rolls with thyme butter and the heavenly, handmade caramel chocolates (complimentary) that made our visit memorable as well.
We ahd booked early and just as well we had as even though it was mid week, the place was fully booked!
Fantatic. Well worth every cent!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shadyladynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chantellinis Restaurant and Cafe also viewed

Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
 
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
 
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing