We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alpine Village Inn

Alpine Village Inn
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

The 'special of the day' was pan fried Blue Cod with chips and salad. Supberb!! Very helpful waitress and good service. Would recommend and will return as it was great value for money.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank grahammenteith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    30
    15
    11
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
48 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Really good for what it is, and thats a pub.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Gave it an excellent as its a pub, and as far as pub food goes it was really excellent. We had dinner and drinks there. Fantsatict atmosphere as it appears to be the main locals pub.

All of our food was great, really tasty and the service was superb. Steaks were cooked to perfection and they portions were good as well. Good value for money.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Todd C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Won't go back there again”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Service was shocking. Lady who took our orders at the bar clearly did not want to be there. Waitress was rude and outspoken. Food very poor quality and over priced. Would have had a better meal at McDonald's

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank blenmcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best All Day breakfast he had”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

My 13yold boy loves his all day breakfast and he considered this to be the best on our 14 days of travel. We all enjoyed our meals, they were large and tasty servings of basic meals. One of the only restaurants on our 14 day trip to offer vegetables with the meal, not salad and this was really appreciated

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ToowoombaBilby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“average experiance”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

long wait time for our meals to arrive. very average meals (slightly over priced) as expected in a pub. staff did beer minimum. wont be returning

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jessie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alpine Village Inn also viewed

Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
 
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Alpine Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing