We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The St James

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The St James
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed here as part of a package deal we got through the Spa at Hanmer Springs.

The rooms were well appointed and there are great restaurants within a minute walk. If we were staying in Hanmer Springs again we would choose to stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 777Viki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    31
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
38
339
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

amazing amazing accommodation. Luxury in all respects. Just loved staying here. The views were amazing, the accommodation just superb. Everything about St James was quality, when we arrived the floor was warm, the room welcoming, the bathroom was luxurious. Can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
152 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

In the normal run of things, the St James would be well outside our preferred price point.
But hectic, stressed out times call for special measures and the St James delivered on all counts during a recent weekend getaway.
We paid up happily after two nights in an executive spa studio (Room 209) and no matter how hard we tried, we could not find any aspect of this place that failed to live up to expectation.
If anything, the St James under promises and over delivers, which in our experience is pretty rare!
The sign outside says simply ambiance, romance, luxury and relaxation and that's exactly what we got. We recommend without hesitation and look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coastfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely spot on apartment in the heart of Hanmer. Really could not have asked for anything more from our stay here with fantastic hospitality, perfect room and great location. Definitely recommend to anyone who is heading this way.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeamTurtle1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Gorgeous place to stay..Modern with heated floors in bathroom and kitchen.
Owners very helpful and friendly...short walk to hot springs which was a delightful while it was snowing with a umbrella/pool towels and bag supplied by the office.
Close to everything and fabulous views. Would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sensational18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Loved the stay there. Service was great.
Friendly. Close to shops and pools in hanmer. Owners were very helpful and couldn't do enough for us. I would recommend anyone to stay there. Gas fire was amazing snd added to coziness of the room. Bathrooms were spacious and modern

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajelliot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed at the St James for a couple of nights recently. I have no complaints. The location is perfect, you can walk most places. The hotel is the most clean hotel I've ever stayed in. I didn't see a bit of dirt or dust anywhere. The cleaners do a great job. Rooms are also really warm. Some of the hotels we stayed in during our NZ road trip weren't warm enough but the St James definitely is. Thumbs up for the free pool towels and internet. Simple touches but appreciated. The views from our room were beautiful (but there were some rooms around the corner that may not have the same views). Nice owners that seem like they want to please everybody. There was some other nice looking hotels around Hanmer Springs but if I visited again, I'd choose the St James!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussiegal2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#5 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
0.2 mi away
Village Lake Apartments
Village Lake Apartments
#4 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hanmer Apartments
Hanmer Apartments
#2 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
0.4 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
3.7 mi away
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
#9 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St James

Property: The St James
Address: 20 Chisholm Crescent, Hanmer Springs 7360, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St James 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hanmer Springs newest accommodation. 5 Star rating. The perfect place for couples to relax and recharge. Located in the centre of the village - park the car and stroll to the restaurants, cafes, shops and thermal pools. Self-contained studios and suites with panoramic alpine views, sunny patios/balconies, luxury bathrooms and oh, so comfortable beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The St James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St James Hotel Hanmer Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing