We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Clean Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The St James

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The St James
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very Clean Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed at the St James for a couple of nights recently. I have no complaints. The location is perfect, you can walk most places. The hotel is the most clean hotel I've ever stayed in. I didn't see a bit of dirt or dust anywhere. The cleaners do a great job. Rooms are also really warm. Some of the hotels we stayed in during our NZ road trip weren't warm enough but the St James definitely is. Thumbs up for the free pool towels and internet. Simple touches but appreciated. The views from our room were beautiful (but there were some rooms around the corner that may not have the same views). Nice owners that seem like they want to please everybody. There was some other nice looking hotels around Hanmer Springs but if I visited again, I'd choose the St James!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussiegal2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    31
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
38
340
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

We were expecting great things based on reviews but really it was just average. The sofa and chair in the sitting room were small and uncomfortable. The t.v in the bedroom was too small and if you are a smoker don't bother as you have to go off the premises and over the road! The one bonus was the midweek special which with all the bonus made up for the negatives above.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Deb045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

This proved to be an excellent choice of accommodation. In a small town full of options it can be hard to know which one will be good but my advice is to simply choose The St James. Right from the beginning of our stay the hosts were friendly and professional and this continued throughout. We stayed in a studio apartment which was immaculately clean, well appointed, had fantastic views and was warm. Extras such as free Internet, pool towels to use and a guest laundry were very much appreciated. The St James is perfectly positioned for access to everything so no need to even use your car during your stay.
I would recommend this accommodation to all age groups and families.

Room Tip: All rooms have beautiful views. Stayed in studio apartment which was very good size for two people f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed for just one night on Saturday and wished I could have stayed longer or never had to leave! Had just been a very heavy dump of snow and the wonderful warm surroundings were dreamy. Loved the gorgeous gas fire, heat pump and especially the heated tiled floors in the kitchen and bathrooms - bliss. The highest quality accommodation and hope I can return in the near future. You want attention to detail, it's St James! No hesitation in recommending.

Room Tip: There were two of us (girl friends) so we had separate units off one foyer, absolutely perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Had a very nice stay at the St James in Hanmer springs, rooms were spacious, clean, and had a lovely view and nicely decorated, close to restaurants and very clean. Would return and recommend to others

Room Tip: Studio spa room very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

The St James is a lovely hotel and its friendly staff and service made our trip complete. The hotel includes free wifi and towels for the thermal pools. These little details are appreciated! We traveled with our three month old and the room was set up in advance with a crib and extra towels. The staff went out of their way to help us - including locating a wedding gift we wanted to buy and to return to us something we left in the room. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

The St James is a high quality complex with wonderful views, services and staff. We loved our stay and intend to return in the near future. Close to all services and restaurants. We can highly recommend The St James to all travelers.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#5 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
0.2 mi away
Village Lake Apartments
Village Lake Apartments
#4 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hanmer Apartments
Hanmer Apartments
#2 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.4 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
3.7 mi away
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
#9 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St James

Property: The St James
Address: 20 Chisholm Crescent, Hanmer Springs 7360, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St James 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hanmer Springs newest accommodation. 5 Star rating. The perfect place for couples to relax and recharge. Located in the centre of the village - park the car and stroll to the restaurants, cafes, shops and thermal pools. Self-contained studios and suites with panoramic alpine views, sunny patios/balconies, luxury bathrooms and oh, so comfortable beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The St James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St James Hotel Hanmer Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing