We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The St James

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The St James
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

The St James is a lovely hotel and its friendly staff and service made our trip complete. The hotel includes free wifi and towels for the thermal pools. These little details are appreciated! We traveled with our three month old and the room was set up in advance with a crib and extra towels. The staff went out of their way to help us - including locating a wedding gift we wanted to buy and to return to us something we left in the room. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    31
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
38
339
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

The St James is a high quality complex with wonderful views, services and staff. We loved our stay and intend to return in the near future. Close to all services and restaurants. We can highly recommend The St James to all travelers.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lismore, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

This property is close to everything in Hanmer Springs and is very well appointed. The owners work hard to provide everything to the highest standard - they are very attentive and helpful. All the fixtures and fittings in the room were top quality and the bed was magically comfortable. We ate out which was almost a shame as the kitchen facilities were wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lois223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

This was an amazing weekend and a stunning place to stay. Close to everything, clean gorgeous room, friendly, helpful service. Would not hesitate to recommend to everyone. The bed was so comfortable I didn't want to leave, was so warm and cozy in the room. They had enough tools in the kitchen to actually make a meal. Thank you!

Room Tip: Loved having the spa in the room, didn't even go to the pools the whole weekend!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

Stayed at the St James for one night whilst in Hanmer for a weekend. Was really impressed with the cleanliness of the place for a start, very new and modern rooms as well. Great views over the park. The St James is an excellent location, with everything in walking distance including most restaurants so no need to drive anywhere.
What impressed me the most was the wonderful friendly service. What a nice warm welcome and so helpful. We also recieved a bag with towels to use specifically for going to the hot pools just down the road so bath towels weren't used. What a great idea, especially if you forget to bring towels yourself. If you are looking for nice, clean and modern accommodation in Hanmer, then this is definitely the place. Would definitely return here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jh2615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

A lovely motel, clean modern rooms. Superb bathroom. Just a bit expensive for a motel. we stayed for 1 night, but it was the most expensive motel we stayed at on the south island. but in this situation suppose you do get what you pay for.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissM55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

We had a lovely deluxe studio room - beautifully decorated and very comfortable. We had a friendly welcome and our stay was hassle free. We really appreciated the free use of the laundry complex, a great added extra. Close to hot pools and shops / restaurant - only a 5 minute walk. We are planning to return as soon as we can.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TashWayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#5 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
0.2 mi away
Village Lake Apartments
Village Lake Apartments
#4 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hanmer Apartments
Hanmer Apartments
#2 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
0.4 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
3.7 mi away
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
#9 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St James

Property: The St James
Address: 20 Chisholm Crescent, Hanmer Springs 7360, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St James 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hanmer Springs newest accommodation. 5 Star rating. The perfect place for couples to relax and recharge. Located in the centre of the village - park the car and stroll to the restaurants, cafes, shops and thermal pools. Self-contained studios and suites with panoramic alpine views, sunny patios/balconies, luxury bathrooms and oh, so comfortable beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The St James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St James Hotel Hanmer Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing