We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at St James”
Review of The St James

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The St James
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Made very welcome at reception. Apartment roomy and beautifully detailed. Under tile heating on and rooms were pleasantly warm. Bathroom spacious and well appointed. Towels for hot pools provided without having to ask.
Quiet bedroom and great sleep in comfortable bed.
A restful environment.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank shonaandalister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStJames, Owner at The St James, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Thank you for your feedback and I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (484)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

370 - 376 of 484 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2012

The hosts were lovely, they were welcoming and friendly and happy to help out where possible. Even though we had checked out they still let us use their towels for the hot pools, leave our car in their carpark while we went to the pools and lunch. Fantastic service! would happily stay again!!
Also love the DVD library they offer for free, if you are just wanting to relax in your room for a few hours its nice to be able to sit back and watch something of your choice. Keep up the good work guys its nice to see a modern and well kept place that is in the budget of average joe.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Owen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStJames, Manager at The St James, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Thank you for your very postive comments, we appreciated them. We have great staff who enjoy meeting and looking after all our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

This was our last stop in New Zealand, after a month travelling around, and we couldn't have wished for a better place to end our journey. The hosts are incredibly nice and helpful, the rooms are so comfortable (home away from home) and beautiful, the surroundings and views from the room are stunning... Totally recommendable for a romantic getaway!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IratxePG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStJames, Owner at The St James, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Thank you for staying with us and we are really pleased you enjoyed your last stop in New Zealand. We hope you are able to make a return visit sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

If you want to stay in luxury, well this is for you great value, fantastic hosts ,and the motel is beautiful. We spent a fantastic evening at the St James. Value for money this would be some of the best accomadation in Canterbury. the rooms are beautifully appointed and the view from the balconies is breath taking. And a pillow menu, unheard of by the top rated players! We will be back!

Room Tip: We stayed upstairs. Well worth the climb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P111Dunedin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStJames, Owner at The St James, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to comment on The St James it is appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Hanmer is a small village built around natural hot springs and I was pleasantly surprised with the quality of accommodation and service that we experienced at St James. Our room at St James with the great view and a luxurious bed was ideal for an honeymoon couple like us. The service a delight.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bart_Jasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStJames, Owner at The St James, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Very clean rooms, modern and luxuarious overall. The host could not be more helpful, although we only dealt with rae she was very warm and welcoming and allowed us early check in, as soon as our room was ready she phoned us, as we are from christchurch so we travelled up early to make the most of our anniversary stay.

Also late check out of 11.30am which was just great! Very close to town with a beautiful rural outlook facing the mountians. Restaurants were reccommended to us for dinner and they certainly lived up to our satisfaction so much so we went back for lunch before we headed back to christchurch.

5 min walk to the pools which is refreashing after lazing in the pools all day and a wee short cut pointed out to us just to make it even closer.

Beds are super comfy to and I cannot reccommend them highly enough!!!

Loved it and wished we could have stayed longer.

We will be back!!!

Room Tip: 209 is at the very end upstairs. lovely view and only one neighbour and the bedend is up against th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haua2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStJames, Owner at The St James, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

We appreciate your review and are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

I have just returned from a one night stay at The St James. What a treat! The best accommodation I have ever stayed in. Luxurious, clean and very comfortable. Fantastic location - easy walking distance to hot pools, shops and restaurants. The views and peaceful environment were stunning.
I will be staying here again very soon.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#6 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
732 reviews
0.2 mi away
Village Lake Apartments
Village Lake Apartments
#4 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
309 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
#9 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
338 reviews
0.4 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
617 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hanmer Apartments
Hanmer Apartments
#2 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St James

Address: 20 Chisholm Crescent, Hanmer Springs 7360, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hanmer Springs
Price Range: $129 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The St James 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hanmer Springs newest accommodation. 5 Star rating. The perfect place for couples to relax and recharge. Located in the centre of the village - park the car and stroll to the restaurants, cafes, shops and thermal pools. Self-contained studios and suites with panoramic alpine views, sunny patios/balconies, luxury bathrooms and oh, so comfortable beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The St James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St James Hotel Hanmer Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing