We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“St James Excellence”
Review of The St James

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The St James
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“St James Excellence”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Very well appointed hotel in Hanmer. Great location within a minutes’ walk of restaurants and shops.

Outstanding vista views of town and mountains from room. High standard of finish throughout and attention to detail. Very warm with under floor heating and heat pump. Large spa bath in unit. Towels and carry bags supplied for Hanmer Hot Springs by The St James.

Host Paul very helpful, things to do and recommendations of nice places to eat.
Extremely good value for money considering the very high standard of accommodation.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have an outstanding outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    31
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
39
351
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Invercargill
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Arrived 1.30pm shown to room, heating on so lovely and warm. Given internet password straight away, didn't have to ask for a thing, they thought of it all. Loved all the attention to detail, quality fittings. Even a special face cloth for taking make-up off. Hosts and staff so friendly & helpful. Dressing gowns provided, loved the lights very romantic.
Definitely stay here again if in Hanmer Springs. Home away from home. Bed was a little soft for my liking.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GVH232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Top accommodation and great rates for what you get. Top quality apartments, under floor heating, heat pumps, modern spacious decor.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FraSta1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We were encouraged to stay at The St James from all the positive reviews we had read. This hotel did not dissapoint! Very comfortable bed, extremely neat and clean with the presentation of the unit and had a homely feek. Located very close to all amenities and the host were extremely friendly. Nothing was a bother, they were very happy to help with any request! We will definitely be returning. We also found the price to be extremely good value for premium acommodation in Hanmer Springs.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the back mountains,very ideallic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Excellent accomodation for exploring this area. Very well appointed suite which would be ideal for anyone spending more than a few days in the town. A bit weird ordering breakfastt he day before and having it delivered to the room, but would highly recommend the accomodation.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maritchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2012

After being advised by his doctor for some immediate time out due to exhaustion, my husband, and I, busily looked online, found The St James and hurriedly took off from Christchurch. The St James was right up our alley; close to shops/restaurants/pools & spa and nice new amenities which does appeal to us while we are traveling. Our Executive Spa Studio was wonderfully spacious, superbly priced, extremely clean and tidy and had everything we needed. The 'welcome' chocolates were a nice wee touch. I also loved the addition of a full length mirror on the inside of the wardrobe - it seems they've thought of everything! The scenery was spectacular - snow on the ground (a leftover from a recent dumping) just added to the magic of our time spent is this gorgeous part of New Zealand.Owners Paul and Rae were very welcoming and helpful and as we left I remember saying "we'll see you next time" and believe me... there'll definitely be a next time. Well worth the visit!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keri J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
693 reviews
0.2 mi away
Village Lake Apartments
Village Lake Apartments
#4 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
293 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#7 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
#9 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
307 reviews
0.4 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
602 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hanmer Apartments
Hanmer Apartments
#2 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St James

Property: The St James
Address: 20 Chisholm Crescent, Hanmer Springs 7360, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St James 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hanmer Springs newest accommodation. 5 Star rating. The perfect place for couples to relax and recharge. Located in the centre of the village - park the car and stroll to the restaurants, cafes, shops and thermal pools. Self-contained studios and suites with panoramic alpine views, sunny patios/balconies, luxury bathrooms and oh, so comfortable beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The St James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St James Hotel Hanmer Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing