We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superior Quality”
Review of The St James

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The St James
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Superior Quality”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

This place is fairly new and has a made a terrific start. The decor and design is relaxing and of superior quality. We stayed in a studio suite which was quite spacious. Our room had a lovely outlook up to the mountains. Very pleasant and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FourPawDrive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    31
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
39
351
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Very very nice place to stay. Bit dear but worth every dollar.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeenie1003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

The place was excellent all round. Everything was of top quality. One of the most comfortable beds I have experienced in NZ. The room itself was nice and spacious. An excellent place to relax and unwind. The lady at the counter, who I believe is one of the owners, was extremely friendly and courteous.
On the down side, I would have expected to see a wider selection of TV channels and a few more frills in the bathroom to really justify the five star rating. A highly recommended place nevertheless.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmcant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2011

Hanmer Springs is a beautiful relaxed little town and well worth the visit. The St James is located central to town. The superior king room was spacious and finished with premium quality fixtures. The bed was extremely comfortable and gave us a good nights sleep. The modern kitchen was of suitable size to cook a meal for two or make breakfast before you checkout.

I would recommend this accommodation to anyone searching for 5 star quality. The rooms are well priced and will not disappoint.

Room Tip: We stayed in a studio superior king room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GBMB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2011

Totally civilised owners who cared way beyond the call of duty for our needs, even offered their own personal sky box so that I could watch the Grand Prix - declined but very impressed. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hope-you-save-time
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2011

Having stayed here previously we knew what to expect and were not disappointed.

Wonderfully appointed rooms with subtle touches to make the stay not only comfortable and enjoyable but also, indulgent! Features such as heated tiles in the kitchen and bathroom areas, a super king bed, top quality appliances, quality fittings and decor throughout have this accommodation reeking of luxury. The corner spa in our room (we asked for a room with one) was a welcome feature for relaxing after returning from dinner. Loved the Manuka honey bath gel!

The service was top notch. A relaxed and personable approach with the owners showing us the features of the complex and room on arrival. Paul and Rae and their staff delivered the perfect level of service.

The setting is wonderful. Rooms on both levels afford an open view with a small native walkway set on the far boundary as well as it being adjacent to parks allow an unobstructed view from the rooms. The location is within the Hanmer Springs township so walking to cafes, restaurants, shops and the pool is as convenient as it gets.

Attention to detail is also great not only from the spotlessly clean rooms but also touches like the availability of towels for use at the pools, an in-complex DVD collection, make up removal cloths, complimentary Wi-Fi connection and immaculately pressed bathrobes.

If you are looking for accommodation with that little bit extra then look no further.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crosshand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2011

This has got to be THE best accommodation we stayed in. The location was perfect, the amenities in the room were more than enough & internet was COMPLIMENTARY!!! The view that greets you early morning is heavenly! It was a plus point that the toilet floors were heated! And my partner & I both agreed that the BED was fantabulous! It was like sleeping on clouds! Soft & heavenly! Lulls you to sleep immediately!

It was a great pleasure to have stayed in St James! Would definitely recommend it to anyone going to Hanmer Springs! :) keep up the great job!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hanin_Anjelika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
693 reviews
0.2 mi away
Village Lake Apartments
Village Lake Apartments
#4 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
293 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#7 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
#9 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
307 reviews
0.4 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
602 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hanmer Apartments
Hanmer Apartments
#2 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St James

Property: The St James
Address: 20 Chisholm Crescent, Hanmer Springs 7360, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St James 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hanmer Springs newest accommodation. 5 Star rating. The perfect place for couples to relax and recharge. Located in the centre of the village - park the car and stroll to the restaurants, cafes, shops and thermal pools. Self-contained studios and suites with panoramic alpine views, sunny patios/balconies, luxury bathrooms and oh, so comfortable beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The St James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St James Hotel Hanmer Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing