We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mountain Biking”
Review of Hanmer Forest

Hanmer Forest
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mountain Biking”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We loved mountain biking through the forest tracks. In particular "Tank", "Yankee Zepher", "Swamp" and "Detox" were alot of fun. The tracks were hard and fast and much more enjoyable than when we did them last time in the mud. Well signposted and not crowded.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    75
    7
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bowral, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“lovely walking area”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Beautiful forest walks with hardly anyone around. No bikes allowed on walking trails.Lots of lovely deciduous trees, it would be stunning in autumn!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Burradoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A walk in paradise”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Easily found with a variety of beautiful well signed posted walks. Although a sunday afternoon the forest was quiet and peaceful. The terrain was for gentle walking rather than arduous.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
137 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Beautiful scenery - needs more signage”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Although overcast and a bit rainy we decided that we would go for a walk through the forest. The trail was a little overgrown when we went in November but still pleasant. The views out across the countryside are fabulous. I would make sure that you take careful note of the signage however as there is not a lot once actually on the trails. Hope to go again on a sunny day!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank JandAKiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“so nice.”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

beautiful place. needs more signs, we didnt know where we could go.However it was nice and would like to go back and explore with more time.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lynley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hanmer Forest also viewed

Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
 
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Hanmer Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing