We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed and Breakfast Paradise in New Zealand with a real breakfast !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rosie's Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 15 Hanmer Springs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bed and Breakfast Paradise in New Zealand with a real breakfast !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012 via mobile

Our hosts, Rebekah and Garry, welcomed us in this piece of paradise in the thermal village of Hanmer Springs, South New Zealand. Rooms are comfortable. You can make your own tea and coffee. You have access to the lounge to read books from the shelf or watching a huge LCD TV. You may have a chance to share glass of port in the evening with the hosts. The breakfast is a real one with fruit juice, real coffee (not instant), fresh fruit, bread. If you stay several days, R & G will change the breakfast (pancakes, etc...) so that you don't get bored. Rosie's is the best value B&B at 2 min.walk of the Thermal Pools.
Thank you so much R&G, greetings from Belgium S&Ch

Stayed February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Christian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    24
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
44
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

Inviting and cosy guesthouse. Hosts were very friendly and made us feel at home - ive never felt so comfortable!! Great price and beautiful breakfast. Thankyou so much.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

A good place to stay with friendly helpful owners, a good spacious lounge with a big TV, comfy lounge suite and lots of reading material. Breakfast was the highlight with everything from cereal and fruit to a selection of cheeses and meats as well as a good choice of yoghurt and fruit juices. Coffee was served in a plunger for one and the toast was made to order. The bedrooms and beds could do with a spruce up. Probably no advantage having bunks at a B and B instead of single beds. Having read the other reports it seems the new owners have intend to make some changes. I'll be back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blangley16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2012

Was planning on staying one night but ended up staying an extra night. The rooms are nice but the beds old and soggy. Bathrooms are communal for most rooms and very old. However this was offset for our group by the great communal lounge, dining and full kitchen. Most restaurants in Hamner are over rated so we cooked a big feed up, played board games and drank the local wine. Free Laundry. Nice Breakfast. Nice Hosts.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank t-mainia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

This bed and breakfast is run by a welcoming couple and their small dog. We had an en-suite room with a balcony and had use of the kitchen and lounge. The owners are welcoming and friendly and they loan out towels for the pools.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oxford08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanet, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2012

Stayed here 2 nights with my wife in feb 2012 and met the new owners ( they bought the B&B from Rosie but kept the name ) and were delighted. Although we were disappointed by Hanmer Springs itself which doest deserve the trip to visit we had to sleep somewhere ! And Rosie was the good thing of our stay. It's quiet, the mattress was new ( the new owners made some adjustments ) the hosts very nice and the breakfast good. Definitely worth a try.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adamreith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2011

Rosie is a lovely and friendly lady but this place should not be called a B&B and is really just an overpriced and glorified backpackers. The rooms are very dated and bathrooms are backpacker style. Breakfast is nothing special just toast, cereal and fruit. The place is in a great location in Hanmer springs but you can do ALOT better for the rates being charged.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelequalslife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garry and Rebe... R, Manager at Rosie's Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 25, 2012
We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at Rosie's. We are the new owners of Rosie's as of 23 January 2012 and are already starting to make improvements to Rosie's B and B. Expect to see many great additions and changes over the next 6 months.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#5 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
0.2 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
8 on Oregon
8 on Oregon
#7 of 15 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
0.1 mi away
Drifters Inn Hanmer Springs
Drifters Inn Hanmer Springs
#1 of 12 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.2 mi away
ASURE Hanmer Inn Motel
ASURE Hanmer Inn Motel
#10 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosie's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosie's Bed and Breakfast

Property: Rosie's Bed and Breakfast
Address: 9 Cheltenham Street, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a break and get away from the Rat Race for a few days and come put your feet up at Rosie’s.A two storey Swiss style chalet situated in the heart of the Hanmer Springs village. Less than a two minute walk to the famous Thermal Springs. Enjoy all that Hanmer Springs has to offer, a relaxing soak in the hot pools or a sumptuous massage. Enjoy the many walking and biking tracks, a game of golf or a stroll around the village. Dine at one of the many restaurants and cafes that Hanmer has to offer. Choose from one of our many different room options, this also includes a wheelchair suite and a self contained chalet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Rosie's Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing