We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“real value for money” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hanmer Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hanmer Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
mold
Level Contributor
527 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“real value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

really easy to find just a few minutes walk from the hot springs

excellent host

we had a double room in the annex with private facilities, really modern , spacious and quiet.

lovely kitchen and dining area

cant fault it

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chris c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HanmerBP, Owner at Hanmer Backpackers, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Sooo glad you couldn't find a fault! You should come back and try harder next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    25
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
18
36
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
Hadsten, Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

This hostel is a really pleasant stay. It reminded me of the cosy ski huts in Norway. The hostel has some really nice common rooms, where the oven fills up the hostel with a warm nice feeling. The rooms and beds are great, and this small hostel invites you to get in touch with the other guests and the hosts. Talking about the hosts, they are always keen to give some good advises about the area, and the are very friendly and openminded. I stayed here for four nights and felt absolutely at home. Enjoy your stay.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ketil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HanmerBP, Owner at Hanmer Backpackers, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you for your kind words. We loved having you for 4 nights. Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

What a great place to stay! So warm and comfy and Tristan the host is very friendly and helpful also. Everything was super clean and good quality- proper beds and doonas etc. You will not get cold in winter here! Kitchen was big and had spices and lots of utensils/ plates etc. fast wifi and a massage chair. Totally worth a stay!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Benita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HanmerBP, Owner at Hanmer Backpackers, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thanks for the awesome review. Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GloArm
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

The hosts Yoko and Tristan were very accommodating when we phoned to book a room for 4 adults and a baby. They organised a room separate from the main rooms and even provided a travel cot. We had brought a sheet for the cot with us but I think they would have had something we could have used otherwise. The only thing that could have been better is if they'd had a highchair (or if they did I didn't see it)
The kitchen facilities and BBQ areas were great and the tea and coffee provided were appreciated.
The hostel is a 2 minute walk from the thermal pools which were lovely to stroll over to after dinner with baby asleep in the pram parked next to the pool.
Would highly recommend this hostel. We will be back!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank GloArm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HanmerBP, Owner at Hanmer Backpackers, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you for your very nice review. We're happy you enjoyed your stay, see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevens Point, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

We stayed in a suite with a large bed and a private bathroom. Everything was very clean and kept up nicely. The kitchen area was very clean and spacious also. Only blocks away from downtown Hanmer and the pools. Fair priced and the owners were amazing.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HanmerBP, Owner at Hanmer Backpackers, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you for your great review. We' enjoy having amazing guests like yourself. Enjoy your travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Province of Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

Owners are very nice people. Felt like I entered a cabin home! Fire was going and a large communal dining table. Full kitchen was available for our use as well. Our room was upstairs and was decent in size. We were next to the five bed dormitory room which happened to be a bit noisy that night, but it wasn't too bad. You can hear squeaky sounds and pops when people use the stairs or walk, but it was fine. No towels provided, but can be rented/hire for one dollar. Only room complaint was not having an operable window as it was hot during the night. No flat sheet is provided. Only a duvet and fitted sheet. No fan. Bathrooms were clean and shower water was hot when I used it. Pressure was decent, not hard or full. Hot water can last up to an hour between all the shared plumbing, but will then have to refill itself. Overall a nice place in town and nice staff. Walking to pools was only ten minutes.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Worldttravel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HanmerBP, Owner at Hanmer Backpackers, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our little hostel.
There are a couple of things in your review that we would like to explain a bit further.

All of our rooms have at least one opening window. The window in the double room upstairs is a “centre pivoting” window that opens all the way. We’re sorry you had a bit of an uncomfortable night, we should have showed you how to operate it upon check in (there is a handle at the top of the window frame).

As a traveller I find flat sheets are a nuisance that end up at the bottom end of your bed while it should be protecting you from an unwashed duvet cover.... We change all bed linen (duvet cover, fitted sheet and pillow cases) with every check out, therefore there is no need for a flat sheet, your duvet cover is fresh and clean when you check in.

Not sure what you meant with the hot water. As far as we are aware we have never run out. Our fireplace has a “wet-back” meaning that the fireplace is connected to the hot water cylinder and keeps the water hot continuously.

Usually the stroll to the hot pools takes about 2-4 minutes, unless you have a break at the pub of course (-;

Thanks again for your kind feedback and enjoy your travels.
Tristan and Yoko
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

absolutely loved the place and welcoming owner Yoko. Definitely higher level comparing to any of the regular backpackers. Spotless place, free beverages, spices, freshly baked bread and massage chair! it makes your stay even better. Excellent value for money. Small, cozy and very welcoming place, you can notice that owners take pride in what they do, good on them and no wonder why they get great reviews! will be back again in the future!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lazanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HanmerBP, Owner at Hanmer Backpackers, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thanks for the wonderful review. We’re looking forward to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#6 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jack in the Green Backpackers
Jack in the Green Backpackers
#9 of 12 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kakapo Lodge YHA
Kakapo Lodge YHA
#3 of 12 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hanmer Springs Top 10 Holiday Park
1.0 mi away
Alpine Adventure Holiday Park
Alpine Adventure Holiday Park
#8 of 12 in Hanmer Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanmer Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanmer Backpackers

Property: Hanmer Backpackers
Address: 41 Conical Hill Road, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hanmer Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hanmer Backpackers is the most centrally located hostel in beautiful Hanmer Springs. Our hostel is a small, cozy, friendly and warm Swiss chalet style backpackers providing excellent accommodation and service at low prices. We are the most affordable accommodation provider in Hanmer Springs for the independent traveller. The main attraction in Hanmer Springs are the Thermal Pools, which are located a 3-4 minute walk from our hostel! But there's more, Hanmer Springs is a fabulous place for mountain biking, hiking / tramping, skiing, rafting, bungee jumping, quad biking, golf, fishing, shopping and many more things. Our kitchen is well stocked with all the essential cooking equipment, fridges / freezers, free tea, plunger coffee, instant coffee, hot chocolate, milk for the hot drinks and a complete spice rack. There is a nice outside patio with comfortable garden furniture and a gas BBQ + utensils. The lounge has some comfy sofas, extensive book exchange, board games, guitar and a massage chair to take care of your sore muscles after a day full of activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity and HostelWorld so you can book your Hanmer Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing