We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”
Review of Hanmer Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hanmer Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Oldenzaal
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

This very goodlooking backpackers is runned by lovely people! Very friendly and willing to make you feel comfortable! The double room was a bit small, but very cosy! It was a romantic nice room and the price 64 $ was excellent for what we get! The shared facilities where very clean and there was even a massage chair which you can use for free! All together awesome place to stay in very nice city!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GijsRikhof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    26
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
17
38
22
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
CA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

If you're a backpacker, you can't go wrong with Hanmer's backpackers. It's clean, spacious, and Tristan goes out of his way to make you feel welcome and get your needs met. Be sure to ask for the double room ensuite.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RavenOwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

Very neat and tidy place. From the entrance to the kitchen and lounges, even the outside, they were all clean and organized. Room wasn't the largest but for what we paid and the service we experienced, it certainly was very good. Bathrooms were also very clean and inviting. Loved the place! Will be coming back definitely and recommending to others.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelJunkiesx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Owner operated backpackers. The owners both previous and current owners are very friendly (I did meet both them). A small yet very cosy backpackers. I would rather say it's more like stay in own house. Everything is clean and organised. The location is close to most of the attractions. Good jobs, Tristan and Edwin!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vjie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Stayed in a double room here and it was cozy, warm and quiet at night. The fire was going in the living area all day and night so it was warm. The kitchen area was very nice and we loved the coffee, kiwis and hot chocolate. There is a nice loft area with couches, games and a large book swap.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank caymantiga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

After a long day of travelling and uncertainty of road closures due to heavy snowfall we recieved a friendly welcome from the friendly owner and a speedy check in which was much appreciated. Loved the extra touches in the hostel such as free fruit, tea, coffee, spices, milk etc. Hot water bottle in the room was lovely. The rooms were cosy and functional as well as clean. Nice clean well equipped kitchen if you want to cater although the main strip of eateries is only a short distance away (5mins walk). One small gripe was on the night of our stay there was a someone (unsure if he was a guest or staff member) playing computer games loudly in the communal area making it very uncomfortable for us to relax there. Otherwise we really enjoyed our stay and would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank splodgeIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

brilliant, absoutely fantastic, seriously this hostel stands far above most if not all the hostels we stayed in during our 5 month trip! Free ice cream is pure genious and we made some lifelong friends during our 2 nights staying here - the kitchen/dining area was perfect for 8 of us to sit up til midnight getting to know each other. Great location close to a beautiful waterfall walk and some lovely small local shops. My fingers are crossed tightly hoping we get to visit this hostel again. Absolutely spot on.

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Amanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HanmerBP, Owner at Hanmer Backpackers, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Thank you so much for that fantabulous review Amanda. Always nice to read our guests have enjoyed themselves. Happy travels. Kind regards, Edwin van de Koolwijk, Owner Hanmer Backpackers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
693 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#7 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
291 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jack in the Green Backpackers
Jack in the Green Backpackers
#9 of 12 in Hanmer Springs
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hanmer Springs Top 10 Holiday Park
0.3 mi away
Drifters Inn Hanmer Springs
Drifters Inn Hanmer Springs
#1 of 12 in Hanmer Springs
193 reviews
1.0 mi away
Alpine Adventure Holiday Park
Alpine Adventure Holiday Park
#8 of 12 in Hanmer Springs
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanmer Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanmer Backpackers

Property: Hanmer Backpackers
Address: 41 Conical Hill Road, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hanmer Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hanmer Backpackers is the most centrally located hostel in beautiful Hanmer Springs. Our hostel is a small, cozy, friendly and warm Swiss chalet style backpackers providing excellent accommodation and service at low prices. We are the most affordable accommodation provider in Hanmer Springs for the independent traveller. The main attraction in Hanmer Springs are the Thermal Pools, which are located a 3-4 minute walk from our hostel! But there's more, Hanmer Springs is a fabulous place for mountain biking, hiking / tramping, skiing, rafting, bungee jumping, quad biking, golf, fishing, shopping and many more things. Our kitchen is well stocked with all the essential cooking equipment, fridges / freezers, free tea, plunger coffee, instant coffee, hot chocolate, milk for the hot drinks and a complete spice rack. There is a nice outside patio with comfortable garden furniture and a gas BBQ + utensils. The lounge has some comfy sofas, extensive book exchange, board games, guitar and a massage chair to take care of your sore muscles after a day full of activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Hanmer Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing