We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Manager lets it down”
Review of Hanmer Horses - CLOSED

Hanmer Horses
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hanmer Horses is one of the oldest riding stables on the South Island. We pride ourselves with the quality of our horses and our ability to make your ride exceptional. We can cater for the youngest toddler to very experienced riders. With over 30 horses to choose from we can select the best one for your abiluty and expectations, so please come and ride the dream!
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Manager lets it down”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

The horses were lovely, the guide was very attentive and the scenery was beautiful. The only thing that let's this place down is the manager (I think her name was Jean). She was abusive to the staff, screaming at them in front of the customers and then would shout at the customers themselves...! It made everyone feel a bit tense and unwelcome. Not a good start to the ride. I'm not sure how anyone could work for her. However a friend went on a different day when the manager wasn't there and had a good experience. There are many more nicer and more friendly rides elsewhere in New Zealand.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank ElectricGoldfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    5
    2
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“extremely expensive”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We had a 1.5 hour trek, it was generally up a ski road, then into a farm, nothing startling, luckily we didn't strike the manager that the other reviewers got ??!!!! However it was incredibly expensive, and i wouldn't recommend it to anyone

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank pemb1est
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Horrible Manager”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Went here with our children and the manager was just mean and nasty to our children. We left after a terrible experience.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
8 Thank Bacwoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Horrible Manager”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

The lady who runs the place is horrible!!! The staff a lovely but when i was their the old crazy lady screamed at one so much that she started crying!!! Poor horses and staff that have to work for her must have a terrible life! The worst part is that im not making this up for a terrible review. The staff and horses and the place is nice but the manager (the old lady) is really quite horrible.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Magnus W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Old tired horses”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I told them I had experience and got put on a tired old Donkey who followed the leader, very boring.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hanmer Horses also viewed

Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
 
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing