We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In a word”
Review of Hanmer Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hanmer Apartments
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 6, 2013

In a word "abstolutelybloodymarvelousasalways"!
Not our first stay here and it won't be our last. A great place for the family with loads of space and fantastic hosts. We love the views, the location and the feel. Always come away relaxed and dissapointed to not be staying longer.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanmer_Apartments, Owner at Hanmer Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

thanks! we try to present a relaxed atmosphere, being 1.5km out of the village, it is quiet and yes the units are spacious and a huge backyard for the kids to play in, thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (510)
There are newer reviews for Hanmer Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

275 - 281 of 510 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2013

This property was very impressive. It looked brand new and it is actually 4 years old. You would never think it when you walk in to these beautiful apartments with loft upstairs, good size lounge and great bathroom and bedrooms. The kitchen has everything you need too. Very modern and well looked after by the friendly owners. You even get a little courtyard and backyard and amazing views of the mountains. We even got snow! So impressed. Very peaceful and not too far out of town, we kept driving back and forth to the pools and the shops and the restaurants. Not a bother! Definitely support this little family run business, you won't be disappointed. Free Wi-Fi too.

Room Tip: All rooms are wonderful and clean and modern.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KiwigirlBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanmer_Apartments, Owner at Hanmer Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

thank you for your time - yes we keep the place looking like new and pride ourselves on excellent service as we are a small family run business, getting lots of repeat visitors.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We decided to head to Hamner for a weekend away to telex and recharge.

We arrived to a pristine apartment that was modern and warm.

Massage and hot pools were on the agenda for the weekend so we had organised for a massage therapist to come to our apartment. After a wonderfully relaxing massage we drove only a few minutes to the pools. They had supplied us with large pool towels...so good!

We had a very warm relaxing stay and loved how easy it was to organise.

We would 100% recommend Hamner Apartments to anyone...you will love it!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kla81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanmer_Apartments, Owner at Hanmer Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

thanks - we try to make sure your stay with us is as relaxing as possible and give good advice on what to do, thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We had a family weekend away for my birthday and the Hanmer Apartments were awesome. Relaxing surroundings and our 2 children were content to explore and enjoy. There were 5 of us sharing one apartments and felt we all had space to relax and unwind. The apartments are modern, clean and tidy and we loved the upstairs mezzanine bedroom layout - great views from upstairs too! Really lovely location as we like to get out and walk/run - the distance to the shops and pools isn't far and it was a good excuse to get out and enjoy the scenery. The hosts were so friendly and accommodating and it made our stay feel very "homely".

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanmer_Apartments, Owner at Hanmer Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

thanks for taking the time to review us - yes I agree being out of the village does have its merits as it is so quiet and peaceful here especially compared with some of the village noise in weekends, and we are not too far away! thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

My family and I booked stayed at Hanmer Apartments in August 2013 and we enjoyed our stay. We booked 4 apartments and they are all clean. The furniture is modern and the place is spacious. The toileteries are good quality too (manuka honey). The hotel manager kindly lent us towels to be used for our visit to the Hanmer Springs and that saved us money considering one towel costs $5 and there were 10 of us! The location is not in the middle of Hanmer but Hanmer is tiny so everything is within walking distance. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carefree82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanmer_Apartments, Owner at Hanmer Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

thank you - yes we have free pool towels along with free wifi, free DVD's and free road bike hire - so lots of extras! thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Hanmer Springs was a great place to visit and Hanmer apartments a great place to stay. Shane was very welcoming when we arrived. Little extras like plenty of wifi, towels for the hot springs and complimentary push bikes to ride the short distance into the centre of the village made the stay very enjoyable. The apartments were very modern and very clean. Shane was also helpful in directing us to good places in town to eat, and we wern't dissapoined. We travelled around the south island for 10 days, and my wife and I agree that Hanmer was the best value for money on our trip.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanmer_Apartments, Owner at Hanmer Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

thanks for the wonderful review - yes we try hard to provide modern, clean, spacious 2brm units and give you as much help as we can, thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We are a family with two teenage kids so space is important. Loved our stay here. Our accommodation was very spacious, clean and modern. Could happily live in it full time. The facilities were great and was a perfect base for exploring the local area. The young couple who run it could not be more helpful, offering help and advice and being understanding when we arrived much later than planned after a long drive up the West Coast. Book here. You will enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IAN K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanmer_Apartments, Owner at Hanmer Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

thank you - yes we offer modern, affordable, spacious, 2brm luxury and try to be as helpful as we can! thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
1.0 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
707 reviews
1.1 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
466 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#7 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Village Lake Apartments
Village Lake Apartments
#4 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
297 reviews
0.8 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
605 reviews
2.8 mi away
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
#9 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanmer Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanmer Apartments

Address: 4 Woodbank Road, Hanmer Springs, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Price Range: $112 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hanmer Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four exclusive modern (4+ star) affordable, spacious 2 bedroom apartments. FREE WIFI, FREE bike hire, FREE towels for pools, FREE DVD hire, FREE shuttle into town (1.5km away) in evenings. Inclusive of heat pump / air conditioning, electric blankets, SKY TV & Freeview, queen & king / twin beds, fully equipped kitchenette with benchtop oven, electric frypan, microwave oven, kettle & toaster. Patio with BBQ facilities and magnificent alpine views. Huge backyard with trampoline, jungle gym and swing for kids. Relax and unwind in our spacious quiet surroundings just 1km from the world famous Thermal Pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Hanmer Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing