We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hammner Springs Apartments January2013 Andrew Jayne Watt”
Review of Hanmer Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hanmer Apartments
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We found the apartment lovely. The way it was decorated and the modern up- dated colours was lovely. The crisp white sheets and beds were fantastic, views fantastic, it was clean and spacious and had everything you needed..We liked the extras such as DVDs and bikes if needed. It was a great place to stay, very well priced and we will be choosing it again for our next stay plus be telling our friends about it. The owners were very helpful and friendly. Great experience!
Thank You!
Jayne and Andrew Watt

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reubenwatt7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanmer_Apartments, Owner at Hanmer Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2013

thankd for your kind words - we do try hard to give excellent service, which we can achieve as we only have 4 units to lok after - boutique!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (526)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

329 - 335 of 526 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2012

After staying in town on Saturday night we found this place to stay to get a bit of peace and quiet. The room was large, clean and very comfortable. It had two rooms with very comfortable beds. The upstair bedroom had windows to view the stars. The private garden outside was beautiful and nice spot for a wine. The owners were very friendly and helpful and we borrowed free bikes to ride into town and around town which was absolutely fantastic. As the apartments sit just out of town it was peaceful and restful. Pity we only stayed one night but we will be back for sure.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amberrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanmer_Apartments, Owner at Hanmer Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

thank you for your kind comments - we get many guests remake about the peace and quiet being 1.5km away from hustle of village (especially weekends and school holidays) where it is just a lovely 15 minute walk into village. Yes our free bike hire (road use only) is much appreciated as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

On our arrival the host (Shane) was very helpful. Accommodation was new, clean and comfortable. Only a 2 minute drive to centre of town which was nice as there was no noise. They charge extra for daily servicing, but empty the bins and provide clean linen each day irrespective. Only disappointment was we were travelling light and were using the bath/shower gel provided but this wasn't replaced the second morning. May have just been an oversight. But overall very good. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanmer_Apartments, Owner at Hanmer Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Thank you for your comments - just to clarify, we clean out rubbish bins, restock coffee and tea tray, replace dish cloth and tea towel and provide new bathroom towels daily - at no charge - however if a guest wants a "full service" i.e. vacuum, hygienically clean bathroom & restock, replace bed linen etc then a charge of $25 is made to cover the 2 hours work involved.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Our 2-level apartment as shown on the internet, with a single-level unit for disabled visitors, was even better in reality...great outdoors sitting and kids' playing area for each of the four units. A couple of minutes' drive to the main street in town for supplies, and the obligatory dip in the hot pools, could also be a pleasant walk for those so inclined. The apartment is spotless and has nearly all the basic kitchen requirements for most people...and the comfy 2-seater lounges and beds that are natural sleep-makers add to the feeling of home...

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tappy43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanmer_Apartments, Owner at Hanmer Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

thanks for the informative review - everyone staying here says they get a great nights sleep due to comfy beds and peace and quiet, away from noise of village, which is still just a pleasant walk away

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We loved your apartments and had a wonderful three days in this beautiful part of the country. Snow capped mountains and divine thermal pools to relax in, beautiful forest walks, and top class restaurants - what more could one want? Would recommend anyone to stay at Hanmer Apartments. A must when visiting NZ's south island.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margaret m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanmer_Apartments, Owner at Hanmer Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

thank you for your review - yes alot of guests tell us that 1 night is not enough here as Hanmer has become a destination rather than a pass through/stop off. 2 nights minimum is required to fully appreciate what the Hanmer village and surrounds has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We choose Hanmer Apartments to provided our family with a well deserved short break. After considering several other options and although we were initally concerned about the distance from the centre of town we thought for short term stay it wasn't going to be a major issue but the peace and quiet, the views, the wonderful friendly service and quality accommodation Hanmer Apartments is thoroughly recommended - we will be back for a longer visit!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adele K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanmer_Apartments, Owner at Hanmer Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

thanks for your kind review - yes one of our strengths is the peace and quiet that comes from being 1.5km from the village - all you hear is the birds singing and the cows mooing! it is a lovely 15 minute walk into pools.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

It's was a great place to stay. It is a newish motel on the edge of town. The friendly owners were very helpful with great advice on local activities. They are happy to give us a lift into town and also picked us up after dinner to bring us back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ayeaye2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanmer_Apartments, Owner at Hanmer Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

thanks for your kind words - yes, being 1.5km from Thermal Pools (nice 15 minute walk), we offer a nightly shuttle into village for restaurants and will pick up before 10pm - all part of our service and freebies (many more) we provide!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
1.1 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
476 reviews
1.0 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#7 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
723 reviews
1.2 mi away
Village Lake Apartments
Village Lake Apartments
#4 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
295 reviews
0.8 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
615 reviews
2.8 mi away
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
#9 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanmer Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanmer Apartments

Address: 4 Woodbank Road, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Price Range: $106 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hanmer Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four modern (4+ star) affordable, spacious 2 bedroom apartments. FREE WIFI, FREE towels for pools, FREE DVD hire, FREE shuttle into town (1km away) in evenings. Inclusive of heat pump / air conditioning, electric blankets, SKY TV & Freeview, queen & king / twin beds, fully equipped kitchenette with benchtop oven, electric frypan, microwave oven, kettle & toaster. Patio with BBQ facilities and magnificent alpine views. Huge backyard with trampoline, jungle gym and swing for kids. Relax and unwind in our spacious quiet surroundings just 1km from the world famous Thermal Pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hanmer Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing