We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Motel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Larchwood Motel(Hanmer Springs)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpine Garden Motel(Hanmer Springs)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hanmer Springs Retreat(Hanmer Springs)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Settlers Motel(Hanmer Springs)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tussock Peak Motor Lodge(Hanmer Springs)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpine Lodge Motel(Hanmer Springs)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harrogate Gardens Motel(Hanmer Springs)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Scarborough Lodge Motel(Hanmer Springs)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpine Springs Motel(Hanmer Springs)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (162)
Filter reviews
162 results
Traveler rating
106
36
13
1
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
106
36
13
1
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstayed heresmall play areastudio unithot poolsfamily suitecomfortable place to stayon arrivalideal locationspa roomshower pressurelast minute bookingan easy walka great staylocal walksappointed roomsmain bedroomhammer springs
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
129 - 134 of 162 reviews
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stayed here on the 13th & 14th of January. The first thing we encountered was the huge cheery smile behind the reception counter. This welcome lead us to an incredible two days and nights of opulence and comfort. This motel is placed a short walk to shops, restaraunts and famous pool complex. The hosts did a magnificent of tending our requirements...with a smile !
I personally thank the owners and staff for our wonderfull experience at the Hanmer Springs Scenic Motel.........5 STAR

Alan Smith, Auckland

Room Tip: All of the rooms have a great outlook
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smithya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed for one night with another couple. Jane and Richard are fantastic hosts, and as we had stayed at another hotel the night before, they let us drop our things off early into our room while it was being made ready for us. Lovely people really accommodating will definitely be staying again. It is only a 10 minute walk into Hanmer town ship and as it was raining they even gave us an umberella :)

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Our stay: 2 bedroom family unit for two nights in December, 2013. NZ$225 p/night.

Motel Location: on the road into town, but not in the heart of town as such. 10 min walk to the thermal pools, but if it is raining (which it often is), then you need to drive which is a pain as car parks can be hard to find.

Facilities: newish looking, clean and tidy. Our room had two bedrooms, one bathroom (disabled access), kitchen / meals and living room. My wife commented that she didn't like the layout. The beds could have been better positioned rather than having the head under the windows. Kitchen had 4 electric cooktops, but no oven or dishwasher. There was a courtyard.

Beds: Small queen in the master was overly firm. You get the feeling that it is 'industrial strength'. I struggled to get comfortable. Two singles in the second room were more comfortable. Window curtains were dusty, and I was sneezing given the bed head was under them. Pillows a little chunky / lumpy.

Bathroom: Shower (no bath) - ours was fitted for disabled access. Vanity. Toilet positioned behind door which was a little cramped. Mixer taps.

Electronic: wireless internet described as 'touchy' and was in fact not working (I paid to hook on to another provider and got slow speed access). TV in the living room, and a second smaller TV in the main bedroom. This was perched high on a cupboard and would have been much better off being bigger and wall mounted. Basic Sky TV.

Furnishings: good. Lounge in the living room was comfortable.

Parking: great - dedicated park right our front. Single story facility.

Windows: no fly screens, a pity as there are biting bugs that prevent you leaving the window open at night.

Servicing: Semi-service. New towels and rubbish removed only.

Owners: very friendly and happy to help. Seemed to be pet friendly based on others who were staying.

Warnings: Tiled entry. Beware if it is wet outside as it can be slippery in the hallway as people enter with wet shoes.

Bonus: Access to the DVD library to entertain the kids on wet weather days. Great idea.

Laundry: Communal pay facilities on site.

Ideas to improve: Pillowtops on beds. Wall mount TV in main bedroom. Re-orientate beds away from under curtains. Get internet working. Shuttle to / from town on wet days. Upgrade Sky TV to include more channels. More information on the local walks / hikes / drives. Provide one set of laundry tokens for one free wash / dry given no laundry facilities in the rooms. Oven / dishwasher.

Overall: Better than average, but not enough to be rated as very good.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveM0572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We only stayed one night in this lovely location of Hanmer Springs. The motel is an easy walk to town and the Springs, it is just out of town so there is no hussle and bussle. The motel room was clean, comfortable and very reasonably priced. Staff were very friendly and willing to assist with local attractions and information. There are more up-market and expensive places to stay, however, this was very good value for money. The scenery was lovely looking at the mountain backdrop and sheep grazing next door. Highly recommended for a clean, comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LDF237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

3 of stayed here for 1 night, good location close to the springs, easily walking there, rooms are as basic as you can get, no frills.location is good.no proble parking, I will say we had a amazing view out the back. snow covered mountains.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Padraig O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews