We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best in New Zealand”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Motel
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland
1 review
“One of the best in New Zealand”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stayed here on the 13th & 14th of January. The first thing we encountered was the huge cheery smile behind the reception counter. This welcome lead us to an incredible two days and nights of opulence and comfort. This motel is placed a short walk to shops, restaraunts and famous pool complex. The hosts did a magnificent of tending our requirements...with a smile !
I personally thank the owners and staff for our wonderfull experience at the Hanmer Springs Scenic Motel.........5 STAR

Alan Smith, Auckland

Room Tip: All of the rooms have a great outlook
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smithya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    33
    9
    1
    4
See reviews for
54
54
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed for one night with another couple. Jane and Richard are fantastic hosts, and as we had stayed at another hotel the night before, they let us drop our things off early into our room while it was being made ready for us. Lovely people really accommodating will definitely be staying again. It is only a 10 minute walk into Hanmer town ship and as it was raining they even gave us an umberella :)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

Our stay: 2 bedroom family unit for two nights in December, 2013. NZ$225 p/night.

Motel Location: on the road into town, but not in the heart of town as such. 10 min walk to the thermal pools, but if it is raining (which it often is), then you need to drive which is a pain as car parks can be hard to find.

Facilities: newish looking, clean and tidy. Our room had two bedrooms, one bathroom (disabled access), kitchen / meals and living room. My wife commented that she didn't like the layout. The beds could have been better positioned rather than having the head under the windows. Kitchen had 4 electric cooktops, but no oven or dishwasher. There was a courtyard.

Beds: Small queen in the master was overly firm. You get the feeling that it is 'industrial strength'. I struggled to get comfortable. Two singles in the second room were more comfortable. Window curtains were dusty, and I was sneezing given the bed head was under them. Pillows a little chunky / lumpy.

Bathroom: Shower (no bath) - ours was fitted for disabled access. Vanity. Toilet positioned behind door which was a little cramped. Mixer taps.

Electronic: wireless internet described as 'touchy' and was in fact not working (I paid to hook on to another provider and got slow speed access). TV in the living room, and a second smaller TV in the main bedroom. This was perched high on a cupboard and would have been much better off being bigger and wall mounted. Basic Sky TV.

Furnishings: good. Lounge in the living room was comfortable.

Parking: great - dedicated park right our front. Single story facility.

Windows: no fly screens, a pity as there are biting bugs that prevent you leaving the window open at night.

Servicing: Semi-service. New towels and rubbish removed only.

Owners: very friendly and happy to help. Seemed to be pet friendly based on others who were staying.

Warnings: Tiled entry. Beware if it is wet outside as it can be slippery in the hallway as people enter with wet shoes.

Bonus: Access to the DVD library to entertain the kids on wet weather days. Great idea.

Laundry: Communal pay facilities on site.

Ideas to improve: Pillowtops on beds. Wall mount TV in main bedroom. Re-orientate beds away from under curtains. Get internet working. Shuttle to / from town on wet days. Upgrade Sky TV to include more channels. More information on the local walks / hikes / drives. Provide one set of laundry tokens for one free wash / dry given no laundry facilities in the rooms. Oven / dishwasher.

Overall: Better than average, but not enough to be rated as very good.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveM0572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosford, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

We only stayed one night in this lovely location of Hanmer Springs. The motel is an easy walk to town and the Springs, it is just out of town so there is no hussle and bussle. The motel room was clean, comfortable and very reasonably priced. Staff were very friendly and willing to assist with local attractions and information. There are more up-market and expensive places to stay, however, this was very good value for money. The scenery was lovely looking at the mountain backdrop and sheep grazing next door. Highly recommended for a clean, comfortable stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LDF237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

3 of stayed here for 1 night, good location close to the springs, easily walking there, rooms are as basic as you can get, no frills.location is good.no proble parking, I will say we had a amazing view out the back. snow covered mountains.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Padraig O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

This motel is only a few minutes walk from the centre of this lovely little town. The motel rooms are spacious, clean and quiet. Parking right outside the room helps with loading and unloading cars. A free voucher for some internet time to download emails etc was much appreciated and there was easily enough for what we needed. Staff pleasant and friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nakkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

We enjoyed our 2 night stay here in a studio unit which had everything we needed. The walk to the thermal pools was only a few minutes away which is why we chose this place. The studio was clean & it also had a fairly large bath room. The reception staff were friendly but on arrival we were told that they hadn't received our booking. After we showed them the confirmation, they said they hadn't checked their emails & quickly gave us a room. This was a bit of a let down after a tiring long drive!

Room Tip: Make sure you have your confirmation on arrival, especially if you are travelling during the holiday...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alybow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.5 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#5 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
0.5 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Alpine Lodge Motel
Alpine Lodge Motel
#19 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hanmer Apartments
Hanmer Apartments
#2 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
0.5 mi away
ASURE Hanmer Inn Motel
ASURE Hanmer Inn Motel
#10 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Motel

Property: Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Motel
Address: 2 Amuri Avenue, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scenic Views Motel is proudly New Zealand owned and operated. We pride ourselves in offering our guests a warm, friendly hospitality and first class service. Built of natural stone and timbers, Scenic Views is situated only 400 meters from Hanmer Springs Famed Thermal Pools and village centre, yet offers a feel of country. Magnificent views of mountains and forest from most units. We offer our guests, fully equipped Studios, 2 & 3 Bedroom units, Spa Bath Studio and Private Spa Pool Studio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing