We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location easy reach to Springs and forest walks”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Motel
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 18, 2012

We stayed at Scenic Views motel en route to friends in Richmond, South Island. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was fine with a kitchen was adequate for our purposes (cooked breakfast etc). Nice walks so the woodland/park nearby.
less than 10 minutes walk to the Springs, supermarket and restaurants. Food in the "pub"(Alpine Arms) was disappointing, but the fish and chips at Captain Mike's following night was good, excellent value although should have gone for the large fish(only a dollar or so more).

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peterofware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (160)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 160 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2012

My husband and i got a family room as we were travelling with my parents. It was very spacious, clean and was good value for money. The reception lady was very friendly and helpful. I would definetley recommend this motel to others.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davemich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2011

Fantastic location convenient to all facilities. Rooms very clean and tidy with beautiful views of the mountains. Reception staff so helpful and friendly. Would definitely stay here again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eileen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2011

Rooms were clean and well aired and the lovely lady at reception was a true Gem Thanks Andrea for your time and help

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2011

Only had one night at Scenic View . The room was very comfortable, well equipped and very clean. Welcome was friendly, scenery was beautiful.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OrioleMcFlurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2011

Stayed for two nights in this lovely motel. The rooms are clean, colourful and comfortable, with wonderful views. Friendly owners/staff. Short walk to the hot springs, shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank banofee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2011

We just loved our stay at Hanmer Springs Scenic Motel. We stayed in a family suite and everything was superb: the room was spacious, the kitchen was well equipped and we looked onto a wonderful padlock with grazing sheep (which my children loved). Well hosted, well presented - would love to come back again soon.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank icantbelievemyluck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.5 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#7 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
771 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
298 reviews
0.5 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
628 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tussock Peak Motor Lodge
Tussock Peak Motor Lodge
#10 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
179 reviews
3.2 mi away
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
#9 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Motel

Address: 2 Amuri Avenue, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Price Range: $110 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scenic Views Motel is proudly New Zealand owned and operated. We pride ourselves in offering our guests a warm, friendly hospitality and first class service. Built of natural stone and timbers, Scenic Views is situated only 400 meters from Hanmer Springs Famed Thermal Pools and village centre, yet offers a feel of country. Magnificent views of mountains and forest from most units. We offer our guests, fully equipped Studios, 2 & 3 Bedroom units, Spa Bath Studio and Private Spa Pool Studio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing