We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good accommodation with stunning views.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alpine Garden Motel
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Staverton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Very good accommodation with stunning views.”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We booked to stay one night but wished we could have stayed longer! Very clean and well maintained unit with seating on the verandah to enjoy the sunshine and the views. They even provide you with a towel if you decide to visit the hot pools just a couple of minutes walk away (well worth a visit!)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LancashireLass21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    28
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
43
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gore, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Had to stop over a night due to the fact we had car sick kids who had travelled from Takaka and needed a spell from travelling. We arrived and liked the act we could use our CRT card. This motel was both afforable and roomy. The launday facility was great, the rooms large and pleasant . Will definately stay there again- view was also beautiful staff helpful and pleasant.

Room Tip: Not sure as did not have time to look around however my guess is that the rooms alongside shared the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenny s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Minutes walking distance straight down the road from the fantastic Hanmer Springs atttraction this little place offered a very comfortable nights rest for my two friends and I. I slept on the sofa bed in the lounge area whilst they had the double room. My bed was easy to assemble and fresh linen was in the cupboard ready to use. Their room was comfortable also and had the bathroom off it. My only quarm was that I had to go through their bedroom to use the bathroom in the middle of the night.

We were running a little late to arrive and communicated by phone but were on time in the end. Staff were feriendly and accommodating though.

The kitchen area was well furnished. A nice place to stay. Would recommend

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Urbanexplorer31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmsleyNZ, Owner at Alpine Garden Motel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope the rest of NZ was as enjoyable. Regards, Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkerød, Frederiksborg, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We stayed four nights at the Alpine Garden Motel. Originally Hanmer Springs should only have been a small stop on our South Island round trip, but partly due to the great hospitality of the Alpine Garden Motel we stayed four nights. It is central just walking distance to basically everything in Hanmer Springs, rooms are not the news but they are clean and well serviced every day. The owners are very help full with everything. The motel offers free unlimited and easily accessible internet and free towels (as many as you want) for the pool and spa just across the road.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JesperL651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmsleyNZ, Owner at Alpine Garden Motel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you Jesper for your kind comments. Hope to see you again in the future. Regards, Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
172 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Owners are friendly, helpful and understanding. We had emailed them a couple of days before about us turning up early, and they said no problem with us dropping off our bags and immediately taking the complimentary towels to the Hanmer Springs hot pools. There's also little bath mats as well as the towels which is a great idea to help get feet dry.

Anyway, as it transpired our room had been made up early and we arrived a little later than expected, so we were able to check in properly then take the towels to the hot pools.

The next morning it was so quiet and the curtains so good that we didn't realise how late it was. After waking up for about 15 mins we checked the time and it was 10:17am, ooops checkout is supposed to be 10am! But they were great about it and staying until 11am wasn't a problem.

Free DVD hire - we didn't use any but looked like there would have been 40 or more.

We stayed in room 8, which had a spa bath, and a kitchenette i.e. a couple of hot plates and microwave, crockery, etc. Of course the usual jug/toaster.

No more than a 5 min walk up to some shops including a takeaway, a superette, a pizza place, and a bar/restaurant.

Little downsides - no little soaps (just small tubes of gel) or conditioner (which would have handy after our hair being in the hot pools), and the bed seemed a bit small for what was supposed to be a queen. Only 3 Sky channels in addition to the free channels. But the early checkin and unexpected late checkout more than made up for those.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glennomeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

A nice little motel. Friendly and helpful managers. Spacious rooms, good off street parking and spotlessly clean, Alpine Garden Motel offers well priced accomodation in a quiet area of Hanmer Springs only a short stroll up the street to the shops. The bed was comfomy affording good quality sleep in a nice quiet area of town. All the facilities are well maintained and the property is run like a good motel should be. Nothing fancy by any means but well suited to both overnight travellers and longer stayers alike. The Motel kindly offers a towel service if using the nearby Springs and parking for a late departure was no problem. There's plenty of choice for accomodation at Hanmer when it is off season but Alpine Garden would be high on our list for consideration

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Austin-Powers63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Outstanding motel, would definitely stay here again. A very short walk from the shops and pools. The room was clean and spacious with excellent amenities. Full kitchen and free wifi.
Amazing service from the owners.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 213SN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.3 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
693 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#7 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
291 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpine Lodge Motel
Alpine Lodge Motel
#18 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
463 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Motel
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Mote...
#12 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
147 reviews
0.1 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Garden Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Garden Motel

Property: Alpine Garden Motel
Address: 3 Leamington Street, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpine Garden Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deb and James welcome you. Whether you are passing through or spending time in the Village and surrounds we want your stay with us to be relaxing and refreshing. All of our units are spacious, each with a sunny veranda, spectacular views over the Hanmer Basin and out to the mountains. Only a 5 minute stroll to all that the Village has on offer - the Thermal Pools, cafes and great restaurants. We are a 4 star rated motel and our nine modern units offer accommodation options for most travellers needs - comprising of 4 one bedroom, 2 two bedroom family units and 3 studio spa bath units, all of which are serviced daily. We have free Wi-Fi and free towels for use at the thermal pools. A complimentary paper is delivered Monday-Saturday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Alpine Garden Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing