We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alpine Garden Motel
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 26, 2013

An outstanding motel within easy walking distance of hot springs, but off main road. Large, well-endowed rooms w/ excellent amenities & cooking facilities. Free wi-fi a big plus.Generous seating & spacious table.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Local-knowledge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 82 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2013

Recently stayed for 1night with friends from U.S.A in a nice 2 bedroom unit. Room was spacious,clean and comfortable with lovely little deck to sit and admire the view. Quiet location close to pools etc. Would stay again.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Domaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

I loved the feel of this motel. It may not have been the newest but it is well loved with immaculate grounds, first class service for the owners, excellent location for pools, top restaurant, views and area to sit outside each unit enhancing a sense of privacy. To have a supply of towels and bath mats to take over to the pools is as added extra for travellers - very handy thanks. I would definitely return here.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

One of the best motels we have stayed in for cleanliness and friendliness of staff. We spent two nights there over New Year with friends and had a wonderful time.The owners were very accommodating re our needs and we can't rate the service and state of the motel unit high enough!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DunMoven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Had the end unit so was lovely and quiet. The unit was spotless and the spa bath lovely. We really enjoyed out stay there and would go back again. Beautiful gardens and very well maintained. Nice to have towels available for pools and DVD's too.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

I stayed here for four nights in December and it was nice. The room was spacious and clean although there was a spider that seemed to work overtime in the shower and bathroom area. (I didn't bother it and it didn't bother me.) The kitchen was great and I appreciated all of the cooking amenities. The sitting area was alright, not so much lounge-y as functional. I would have given 5 stars but I feel like the bathroom needs updating and the floors tended to creak quite a bit. The sink had separate faucets for hot and cold water - not that convenient, and the shower didn't have strong water pressure. What was nice was the bench outside the door and the amazing view of the Hanmer mountains.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank orchid414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night on 15 november 2012. It has a great location, a 5 minute walk to the shops, restaurants and thermal pools, and the rooms are clean, spacious and well equipped and the bed was comfortable. The hosts are pleasant and helpful, there are towels for guests to use at the thermal pools which saves paying to hire them there, and there are lots of dvds at reception you can watch in your room. I could have stayed here longer to explore the area and would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsKnight123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.3 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#7 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
714 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpine Lodge Motel
Alpine Lodge Motel
#17 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
136 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
472 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aspen Lodge Motel
Aspen Lodge Motel
#20 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
153 reviews
0.6 mi away
Forest Peak Motel
Forest Peak Motel
#19 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Garden Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Garden Motel

Address: 3 Leamington Street, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Price Range: $90 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpine Garden Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chris and Becky welcome you. Whether you are passing through or spending time in the Village and surrounds we want your stay with us to be relaxing and refreshing. All of our units are spacious, each with a sunny veranda, spectacular views over the Hanmer Basin and out to the mountains. Only a 5 minute stroll to all that the Village has on offer - the Thermal Pools, cafes and great restaurants. We are a 4 star rated motel and our nine modern units offer accommodation options for most travellers needs - comprising of 4 one bedroom, 2 two bedroom family units and 3 studio spa bath units, all of which are serviced daily. We have free Wi-Fi and free towels for use at the thermal pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Alpine Garden Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing