We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alpine Garden Motel
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice little motel”
Reviewed January 9, 2012

The hosts are very friendly, warm and welcoming and very helpful. The rooms are clean and comfortable, really quiet, the motel is very close to everything and only 5 minutes from the Thermal Pools. Free towels for the pool, free Wi-Fi are a bonus. I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    28
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
43
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mandurah, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2011

Great little motel. We stayed here for one night in November 2011. Walking distance to everything in Hanmer Springs. Friendly and helpful owners. Free towels for the Thermal Pools. Very comfortable unit at a great price. Quiet, had a great night's sleep.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atholmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Cozy, clean, well equipped apartment with fantastic view. Definitely recommend.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Liamri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

The Alpine Garden Motel offers clean, modern and cosy accommodation with a spa bath too if you haven’t already had enough at the Thermal Pools of Hanmer Springs.

The owners are friendly, helpful and very eager to help, like when we asked if we should check on our Christchurch Accommodation which was booked months earlier. The owner telephoned them for us, sent faxes on our behalf and went out of his way to help. They even provide towels for those visiting the Thermal Pools. We couldn’t recommend this accommodation highly enough if you are staying in Hanmer Springs.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a Spa Bath and Free Broadband Internet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iDStyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2011

This was very good accommodation in a lovely town. The facilities were excellent including the free use of towels to go and visit the nearby springs.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ELC66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2010

This is a wonderful little place just off the main road. Clean, comfortable and helpful owners. We stayed one night but wished it could have been more.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crocford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 12, 2010

Every thing you need. Very friendly hosts. Only a short walk to everything. Bike tracks at the end of the road. We will be back next year.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colnago5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.3 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
686 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#6 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
289 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpine Lodge Motel
Alpine Lodge Motel
#19 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
457 reviews
0.1 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
594 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Motel
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Mote...
#12 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Garden Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Garden Motel

Property: Alpine Garden Motel
Address: 3 Leamington Street, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpine Garden Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deb and James welcome you. Whether you are passing through or spending time in the Village and surrounds we want your stay with us to be relaxing and refreshing. All of our units are spacious, each with a sunny veranda, spectacular views over the Hanmer Basin and out to the mountains. Only a 5 minute stroll to all that the Village has on offer - the Thermal Pools, cafes and great restaurants. We are a 4 star rated motel and our nine modern units offer accommodation options for most travellers needs - comprising of 4 one bedroom, 2 two bedroom family units and 3 studio spa bath units, all of which are serviced daily. We have free Wi-Fi and free towels for use at the thermal pools. A complimentary paper is delivered Monday-Saturday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Alpine Garden Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing