We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The others don't compare!”
Review of Rippinvale Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rippinvale Retreat
Ranked #2 of 15 Hanmer Springs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 16, 2010

We stayed at Rippinvale during a recent visit to New Zealand. We had stayed at other properties in Hanmer Springs on previous visits but Rippinvale Retreat is undeniably the best B&B in town. We have stayed at many hotels and guesthouses throughout Europe and USA and what Helen and John offer at Rippinvale is second to none.
Their devotion to detail and warm and generous hospitality make Rippinvale a special place to visit. We wish them every success and have no hesitation in recommending their property to any potential visitor to Hanmer Springs.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IRISHPANDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (203)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 203 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2010

We had a thoroughly enjoyable time staying at the Rippinvale Retreat. Helen was a wonderful host and baked incredible breads and roles for breakfast. Rippinvale is only a few minutes from Hanmer, but is easily accessed by car or bicycle. We enjoyed the whole two days we were there and wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimcarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2010

This is our second visit with Helen & John. We love this place - it's our home away from home. The food is fantastic - Helen does a great job. Have decided to make this an annual trip as it is truly fabulous.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aucklandtraveller4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2010

It's a pity that one reviewer, despite awarding 5 "stars" for Cleanliness etc gave only 4 for overall rating, because we truly doubt that there is anywhere better to stay. John and Helen are excellent hosts, the accommodation extemely comfortable, the setting beautiful and restful, the facilities extensive, and the breakfasts almost (but not quite!) overwhelming. We borrowed their bikes to explore Hanmer Springs (an excellent way of doing so), played tennis on the grass court, and learned the art of petanque. Had we had more than a day we would have taken adavntage of everything else on offer. We did visit the Spa but wouldn't regard this as the highlight of our time in Hanmer - we would have been better off in the spa bath at Rippinvale sipping our glasses of evening wine while admiring the wonderful garden.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnaitchy1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2010

If I could give more "stars" I would! Rippinvale was beyond what we could have imagined! The atmosphere, the hosts, the food....the food! WOW! Thank you so much Helen and John, we truly enjoyed our time with you in your little slice of Heaven! You both were amazing hosts; always going the extra mile (and even exceeding that)! Thank you, thank you! Rippinvale Retreat in Hanmer Springs is a must see, and a must return!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mellissawood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2010

Although I have stayed at Rippenvale before, I was blown away by the quality of the service. Upon arrival I was greeted by my host, we were shown to our room and settled in. The rooms are fantastic and the breakfasts are probably the talk of the town. Really, there are no words to describe Rippenvale. The hosts are great, the rooms are great and the food is phenominal!. Nothing ever seems to be a problem at Rippenvale. Everything is taken care of for you and Helen will even organise dinner reservations at any one of the great dining atractions around Hanmer. You will have to go there and look for yourself, you will not be dissapointed.

Allan Smith, Christchurch, New Zealand.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank allanvh5150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2010

We spent our 10th wedding anniv. at Rippinvale and could not have made a better choice. It is the little things that add value, Helen is born for hospitality and John also very obliging. For me the highlight was sipping bubbles in the hot outdoor spa as the first star appeared on a crystal clear night above the snow capped mountains. For my husband it was Gayle's amazing massage (a close second for me). Also reccomend Malibar for dinner, take your wallet a bit $$$ but very worth it!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Familyfour09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.8 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#7 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
731 reviews
0.7 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
483 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marchmont Gardens
Marchmont Gardens
#3 of 15 in Hanmer Springs
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
#9 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
336 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cheltenham House
Cheltenham House
#1 of 15 in Hanmer Springs
143 reviews
0.8 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rippinvale Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rippinvale Retreat

Address: 68 Rippingale Road, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Hanmer Springs
Price Range: $161 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Rippinvale Retreat 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very special New Zealand experience, offering fine boutique accommodation in a relaxed atmosphere. Our suites are private and semi contained set in a private courtyard. Tariff includes pre dinner wine and canapes,fabulous gourmet breakfast of the finest locally grown ans seasonal produce and full evening turn down with Port and chocolates.Use of all facillities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Rippinvale Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing