We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picturesque”
Review of Rippinvale Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rippinvale Retreat
Ranked #3 of 15 Hanmer Springs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 8, 2010

My husband and I decided to take an overnight trip to Hanmer Springs, and wanted to splurge on a nice boutique accommodation. We couldn't stop recommending Rippinvale Retreat for the rest of our trip. It was a quiet, lovely accommodation on perfectly manicured grounds surrounded by picturesque mountains. The hosts we phenomenal, and the breakfast was out of this world. We both agreed that Rippinvale Retreat was the nicest place we've ever stayed. We would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rfar2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (201)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 201 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2010

This is a beautiful place to stay in beautiful and peaceful surroundings. The suite is very tasteful and has all of the little extras that you look forward to in boutique accommodation. The food is superb and there are plenty of peaceful activities to partake of. Lawn tennis, petanque, garden walks, sitting by the pond, picnic (hamper provided!), massage or hanging out in the jacuzzi. The service is excellent and altogether makes for an extremely pleasant getaway. The township is only a 10-15 walk away, or 2 minute drive. We will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryChCh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2009

Rippinvale Retreat is an absolute gem in the beautiful town of Hanmer Springs. Set in beautiful gardens the accommodation is so immaculate it looked as though no one had ever stayed in the apartment before us. The hosts Helen and John care for their guests with such care they made us feel so welcome, but were never intrusive. Helen is a wonderful cook and her breakfasts and other culinary surprises make this place a real treat.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank queenySydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2009

Amazing place. Booked for just one night sadly! Arrived there and was was greated by name, a tour and some complementary home baking. The accomodation is amazing, plush and beautiful. It was so relaxing to be able to walk in the lovely and well-kept gardens.

The information sheet states that breakfast is substantial, and that's not a lie. Neither of us needed any lunch that day! All of the extra treats, such as the glass of port at night and the canapes glass of (very good quality) wine before dinner went down very well.

The proprieters are super friendly and make you feel well at home.

No complaints at all! Highly reccomended.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rscoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2009

WOW. We needed some serious R 'n R and decided to start our 10 day holiday to celebrate 25 years married with 3 nights in Hanmer Springs - not far from home (Blenheim, 2 1/2 hrs drive max) - a familiar place but always done on a tight budget with kids in tow in the past. My husband often uses Wotif to find places to stay on his many business trips so that was where we turned for this trip too.

The description and photos of Rippinvale Retreat looked like it was what we wanted and we were not disappointed, in fact expectations were far exceeded! We'd never used a Bed and Breakfast before but it fitted in our price range so we decided to give it a go.

Helen and John were the most gracious, friendly and discreet hosts that anyone could hope for. Pleasant, comfortable decor in the apartment, privacy, peace and quiet, outdoor jacuzzi with mountain views, delicious home cooked breakfasts (with enough leftovers to tuck in the backpack to munch on while out and about), little extras that came as a surprise, good suggestions for where to dine - didn't need to lift a finger, what more could we want! And Lily the cat making herself comfortable on one's lap was the final touch to making it feel like home away from home (well, for an animal lover it is). It was a lovely base to return to after some mountain hiking and sightseeing or just to stay put for a while and relax.
thanks, Helen and John for a great stay. We hope to be back, Gwenda and Geoff

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingCavs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2009

By far the best accommodation we had in New Zealand. The property was absolutely stunning (as were the hosts). Helen and John made us feel so comfortable and our every need was attended to without hassle. The breakfasts are simply amazing, and we fell in love with Lilly (the cat).

Stay a few days if you can, its well worth it. The property provides numerous attractions including a tennis court, jacuzzi and beautiful grounds.

We can't wait to return!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shellbell_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2009

We went to Hanmer for 2 nights in need of a relaxing retreat and we found it. Rippinvale Retreat is located about 1 km from Hanmer township on a couple of acres and is therefore quiet and peaceful. We were there in late winter and were able to relax in the spa enjoying close views of snow capped mountains.

Each evening we enjoyed a glass of wine and homemade canapes courtesy of our hosts - this was a lovely touch. While out at dinner our dining table was set for breakfast and our bed turned back.

Breakfast was divine! My husband was skeptical about the continental breakfast but he admitted it was a continental breakfast like no other. Helen supplied homemade pastries, bread, stewed fruit and preserves. The only thing that may not have been homemade was the yoghurt, but it was delicious. Did I mention the porridge and burcher muesli? Yum.

The suite itself was spacious, clean and comfortable. The linens were luxurious and Evolu toiletries were another nice touch. it wasn't absolute luxury, but it was very, very nice.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jakenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.8 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#7 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
723 reviews
0.7 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
476 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marchmont Gardens
Marchmont Gardens
#2 of 15 in Hanmer Springs
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vibrant Living Retreat & Day Spa
Vibrant Living Retreat & Day Spa
#4 of 15 in Hanmer Springs
116 reviews
3.5 mi away
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
#9 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
330 reviews
0.8 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rippinvale Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rippinvale Retreat

Address: 68 Rippingale Road, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Hanmer Springs
Price Range: $162 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Rippinvale Retreat 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very special New Zealand experience, offering fine boutique accommodation in a relaxed atmosphere. Our suites are private and semi contained set in a private courtyard. Tariff includes pre dinner wine and canapes,fabulous gourmet breakfast of the finest locally grown ans seasonal produce and full evening turn down with Port and chocolates.Use of all facillities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Rippinvale Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing