We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful weekend away”
Review of Rippinvale Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rippinvale Retreat
Ranked #3 of 15 Hanmer Springs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Wonderful weekend away”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We had a wonderful weekend away at Rippinvale Retreat. Wine and snacks in the early evening were wonderful, especially after our drive after work from Christchurch. Lovely breakfast. And relaxing spa in the gardens.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    11
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
174
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2013

This is a place you will not regret staying. Upon arriving to Hanmer Springs, it took a while to find the place, as the street signs on the roads are small if any in some places. Once we found it though, Helen came out and welcomed us by name and was warm and hospitable.

She is a fine living example of good customer service. So good that she reminded me of younger version of my Grandmother in that she takes care of you that well. She brings you this breakfast every morning that is the BEST breakfast I have ever had. Most the breakfast items she bakes and makes herself. Loved the breakfasts and will miss them.

On to the Accommodation side of things, its great. The place is spotless, the bed is amazing and soft. Real touch of home away from home. There is a nice walk out area and an AMAZING SPA POOL out the front in a bush setting. Absolutely LOVED this place and will not hesitate coming back again.

Room Tip: Any room is great. I wish we had gone in Winter though, to catch the snow, but summer is just as goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ezra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christchurch
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

My partner and I stayed here to celebrate my 40th Birthday. To say I felt pampered was an understatement -from the moment we pulled in front of the house, Helen made us feel welcome. Although the two rooms were joined to Helen and Johns home, it felt like we were in a world of our own.
Helen and John are wonderful hosts and were on hand if we required any restaurant reservations, any advice on activities and if we just wanted to chat! Helen revels in her hostess role and although we had heard of her legendary baking skills, we were still surprised by the little "welcome fudge brownies" on arrival.
Before heading out to dinner, Helen popped in with some pre dinner wine and canapés and arranged a time to have breakfast served the next morning. We were told that breakfast would be served in our suite!
After our dinner in Hanmer, we arrived back at our suite and decided to have some bubbles under the stars - Rippinvale Retreat has a jacuzzi situated in the grounds and it was all ready warmed and ready to go - what a fantastic end to a fantastic night!
The next morning was the icing on the cake as Helen arrived with our breakfast - freshly baked bread, croissants, homemade preserves from her garden, homemade Bircher muesli and preserved pears grown in the trees outside our suite - all topped off with fresh brewed coffee and fresh squeezed orange juice. Second course of our breakfast banquet was pancakes with bananas, maple syrup and bacon!
To say that we had a fantastic stay with Helen and John at Rippinvale Retreat would be an understatement. I can honestly say that I will be back and that the retreat is worth every penny. Although my partner and I were only away for one night, we felt revived by the visit and by the time we left, we felt like we were leaving old friends behind (including Lily, the beautiful and very cuddly cat)!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maxieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We often stay in Hanmer Springs for the weekend and wanted a special night away. We were expecting larger rooms and in particular a larger bathroom. We seemed to be tripping over each other if both of us were in the room at the same time. Having said that, the unit was extremely clean and spotless. Because they advertise as a B&B we were not expecting the unit to be on the other said of the garage and far from the house. To us they should be listed as motels, not a B&B as we did not step foot inside the main house. Our breakfast was delivered to us in our room which is a nice touch, but we didn't spend any time with the owners and that is what a B&B is to us. Other than that Hanmer Springs is a wonderful weekend getaway and we will be back to the town, if only to play goft - what a wonderful course!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wildtraveller99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen B, Owner at Rippinvale Retreat, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
We are very sorry that you were dissappointed with your stay. Just to clarify however, On our website we advertise as "boutique accommodation, not as a B&B. Rippinvale is not a "homestay" which is probably more what you were looking for. In the 14 years we have been at Rippinvale we have found that this is for the majority of visitors especially our domestic guests the much preferred style of accommodation rather than sharing facilities with hosts. On the whole our guests like their own privacy and facilities. By serving our gourmet breakfast in your suite enables you to relax , sleep in if you feel like it and not have to dress for breakfast or leave your warm suite. This is especially appreciated in our cold winters.
We are happy to interact with our guests at any time as we make clear on arrival and is clear from the numerous reviews we have had to date. We do this on your terms however as we are very mindful of our guests privacy.
With regard to your comment about advertising as a motel rather than boutique accommodation, we doubt that there are any motels that offer the service, breakfast, afternoon tea, pre dinner drinks and canapes not to mention the numerous other facilities that we have here at Rippinvale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at Rippinvale Retreat, and it was as good as the first time. I cannot say enough about this wonderful place and hosts. We were lucky enough to have two nights this time. The breakfast is incredible and so filling and yummy. The room is spotless, and all the details make all the difference. Thank you for making our visit great again. Can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We booked as a last minute break for our wedding anniversary and were not disappointed. The owners were attentive and provided superb service, supplied us a feast for breakfast and got us in to some great restaurants with little notice. The accommodation was very comfortable and the little extra touches made it extra special, great for our a wedding anniversary!

Room Tip: The shortish walk into town will help to walk of some of the generous breakfast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed September 17, 2013

If you have ever wondered what its like to be treated like royalty then Rippinvale Retreat is for you! My wife and I booked the romantic package for our 10 year anniversary. What a weekend of relaxing, eating and being spoilt. Helen and John were fantastic hosts and all the little touches make up for a great stay. We both enjoyed the massage very much and the afternoon tea was a culinary delight. Set in beautiful grounds in a quiet relaxing setting, you would not know there was a Alpine village just around the corner. Thanks again to Helen & John, it was just what we were looking for. Murray & Vicky.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murray A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.7 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
457 reviews
0.8 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
682 reviews
3.4 mi away
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
#9 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cheltenham House
Cheltenham House
#1 of 15 in Hanmer Springs
139 reviews
0.8 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
590 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chalets Motel
Chalets Motel
#7 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rippinvale Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rippinvale Retreat

Property: Rippinvale Retreat
Address: 68 Rippingale Road, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rippinvale Retreat 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very special New Zealand experience, offering fine boutique accommodation in a relaxed atmosphere. Our suites are private and semi contained set in a private courtyard. Tariff includes pre dinner wine and canapes,fabulous gourmet breakfast of the finest locally grown ans seasonal produce and full evening turn down with Port and chocolates.Use of all facillities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Rippinvale Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing