We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How to start a holiday”
Review of Rippinvale Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rippinvale Retreat
Ranked #2 of 15 Hanmer Springs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Ever wanted a home away from home but with a five rating, then visit Helen and John. So welcoming and informative of the local terrain. Helens culinary skills are amazing, breakfast and canapes were amazing. The house and grounds are a testimont to the hard work the pair of them have put in over the years. Lounging in the outdoor spa at night with snow on the mountain tops, the stars in the sky and champagne in hand, amazing! Hamner Spings itself is only a 10 minute stroll, great way to help ease the waistband after a lovley dinner. Our only disapointment was that we did not stay longer. Well worth the travel over the ditch from Aus. Will definately visit again the next time we visit NZ. Thanks for the wonderful time we had.

Room Tip: The quality of the rooms and the service will be the same. Excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank liz b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (199)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 200 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2011

Went there for partners 40th birthday treat. Very warm welcome by the hosts Helen and John. Had a glass of wine and some nibbles brought to us before a nice dinner that was booked by Helen at a local restaurant, which was also very nice. Then went back to the open spa for some relaxing time. Had a lovely sleep. Next morning a home cooked breakfast that rivals the best restaurants anywhere. So much beautiful food. The hosts made us very welcome and would stay there again. Thanks Helen and John. From Karen and Craig

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2011

Rippinvale was the highlight of our trip to Hanmer. It epitomises everything that a perfect B&B should be - wonderfully warm and hospitable hosts, truly magnificent breakfasts which would be more than a match for any fine dining restaurant anywhere in the world and a divinely comfortable bed. All this topped off in the evening with delicious canapes and the best mulled wine we have ever tasted. Thank you Helen and John for a wonderful treat and we look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NunkeriYallingup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

I was in NZ for work for a considerable amount of time and my partner from aussie could only come and visit for a few days, I couldnt think of anywhere better we could of spent our few days together, John and Helen just looked after us like long lost children, and we felt completly at home, I dont want to ruin it for anyone going to stay there but all the little touches that they provide just make you feel completely spoiled. Can recomend it to anyone wanting to stay in the area, and will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slowandsteady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

This is our 4th trip to Rippinvale and we just love it! Have rebooked to go again.
Helen and John are fabulous hosts and Helen's breakfasts are to die for.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aucklandtraveller4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2011

A lovely retreat, the best ever... We were well in truly looked after, felt like a king and queen. Our groumet breakfasts were devine, to our canapes and wine at 6 pm and our good night treat of port and chocolates. Helen gave us a lovely massage each, she was a fantastic host. Loved the visits from liley the cat. Rippenvale retreat is excellent, it is so relaxing we just loved it!


Mark and Tania, Ashburton

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tania14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2011

We had a fantastic stay here in September. The welcome we received was perfect, with a little home made treats and friendly conversation. We had a lovely couple of days exploring the local area and the hot pools and i'm sure we'll be heading back when we can. Would not hesitate to recommend staying here to anyone

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morgantaylor88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.8 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#7 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
714 reviews
0.7 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
472 reviews
0.9 mi away
Village Lake Apartments
Village Lake Apartments
#4 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
#9 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
326 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vibrant Living Retreat & Day Spa
Vibrant Living Retreat & Day Spa
#4 of 15 in Hanmer Springs
114 reviews
0.7 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rippinvale Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rippinvale Retreat

Address: 68 Rippingale Road, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Hanmer Springs
Price Range: $169 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Rippinvale Retreat 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very special New Zealand experience, offering fine boutique accommodation in a relaxed atmosphere. Our suites are private and semi contained set in a private courtyard. Tariff includes pre dinner wine and canapes,fabulous gourmet breakfast of the finest locally grown ans seasonal produce and full evening turn down with Port and chocolates.Use of all facillities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Booking.com so you can book your Rippinvale Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing