We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous chalet”
Review of Chalets Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chalets Motel
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful chalet close to hot springs pools in town. Scenery was amazing. Only had a one night stop over to be close to Christchurch for a flight out the following day. Had everything we needed. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (399)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 399 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2014

free wifi, great dvd selection, quiet spacious units. Great views, comfortable beds. This is a short 5 minute walk from main shopping area and is quiet. Each unit is separate so no noise from neighbours. I highly recomend. My first choice in Hanmer.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nzp0ppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Our group of 6 had booked the Chalet 6 which had 2 bed rooms and one bathroom. One bedroom had 3 beds and a pull out bed, the other had two beds. There was a lounge area with sofa and a dining area to accommodate 6 on the table. The kitchen was well equipped. We stayed for one night. There was also a common washer and dryer which could be used for a fee. The whole place was very clean. Andrew was helpful. The check in was very smooth. The free wifi was useful. We were provided with milk on arrival and complimentary news paper in the morning. It was a good place to stay and walking distance from the thermal pools. The location was great overlooking the mountains. Car parking is available outside each chalet. Would certainly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trawelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We checked into chalet no 4 at The Chalets Motel in Hanmer Springs on a lovely afternoon. The motel is situated away from the main road cutting it off from the hustle-bustle of traffic. The property is beautiful and has 10 wooden chalets with car parking and small gardens attached to the chalets. Our chalet no 4 was a 2 bedroom apartment with a fully equipped kitchen and 1 bathroom. Unfortunately, the weather was not on our side and it rained non-stop from late afternoon thereby disallowing us from enjoying the town.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wrishy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

We stayed 1 night in the 1 bedroom spa. The chalet had plenty of room and a very large spa. The kitchen was well arranged and had an oven as well as the cooktop and microwave. The motel is a few minutes walk from the cafes and spa/hot springs of Hanmer Springs. The service was great.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Momofan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a day in chalet no 4 with two bed rooms and a bathroom. It was raining full day so we were mostly indoors and I don't regret that coz the chalet with its wood interiors was very cosy and beautifully done up. The entire property is beautiful with lot of greenery and our chalet had amazing views overlooking the mountains. The kitchen was fully equipped and the heaters were very efficient. I loved the place and was glad we choose this place to stay at hanmer. The check in and check out were smooth and the lady at the reception was very sweet :) A must stay place :)))

Stayed: April 2014
Thank DrVidhiJain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Thank you for providing such a clean, friendly and quiet stay on Sunday 18 May. We only stayed one night but personally I found the chalet to be extremely well presented and comfortable. I will be back to stay with my family. The large lounge rooms were brilliant for our group to be able to mix after a visit to the pools and dinner.
Pauline Young
Part of the Timaru Divas Golden Oldies Hockey Team
PS I will also be telling others of your accommodation!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletsMotel, Manager at Chalets Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2014

A BIG THANK YOU, Pauline, for your excellent review.
We would love to have you and your family staying in our motel in the future too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.2 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
491 reviews
0.3 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#7 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
757 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Village Lake Apartments
Village Lake Apartments
#4 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
310 reviews
0.5 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
622 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hanmer Apartments
Hanmer Apartments
#2 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalets Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalets Motel

Address: 56 Jacks Pass Road, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Price Range: $105 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chalets Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your hosts, Andrew & Vera, welcome you to The Chalets Motel, a unique alpine retreat situated in the picturesque resort of Hanmer Springs. Famous for its Hot Thermal Pools. We offer 10 totally separate, modern, fully self-contained alpine-style chalets, including Luxury 1-Bedroom SPA chalet and 2-Bedroom Chalet with wheel-chair access. Each chalet has its own carpark with space for mountain bikes. All chalets have stunning views of the hills and surrounding mountains. Sunny & quiet. Spacious grounds ~ children's playarea with trampoline and swing. LCD TVs with 50+ SKY Channels, includes all Sport Channels. Free WiFi and DVDs. Easy 600 m stroll to the Hot Thermal Pools and village centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chalets Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing