We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in Every Way”
Review of Chalets Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chalets Motel
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We used Trip Advisor when deciding where to stay In the South Island and are glad we did. All the positive comments regarding The Chalets Motel were confirmed. It had everything we required. The service was spot on, Rooms were spotless and comfortable. Views overlooking Hanmer were impressive and only a short walk to the centre of town.With each Chalet being seperate you have your own space, even a garden seat for that morning coffee.The hosts Pat and Jock were very friendly and made you feel welcome. Certainly have no problems in recommending The Chalets Motel to anyone visiting Hanmer Springs.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duncan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Huge thanks for your awesome review! We are just rapt that you your enjoyed your 5 day stay with us so much, and we certainly do appreciate the time you have taken to put this review on Trip Advisor for us. Hope you can return one day! =) Pat & Jock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (384)
There are newer reviews for Chalets Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 384 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2014

Wonderful quiet place with lovely scenic views. Ideal for families. Great location. Lots of extras like dvds and books. very friendly too. loved it and will definitely return. Would highly recommend to others.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hollihats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Glad you had such a good time here with us at The Chalets! This is a great review - thanks so much - we do try and make The Chalets 'a home away from home' so we are just rapt that you and your family really enjoyed your stay. Hopefully you will be able to return and enjoy some happiness in Hanmer again! =) Pat & Jock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

I decided to say here based on Trip Advisor and am now very glad I did. Probably one of the best vacations I've ever had. Rooms were spotless, had every amenity you could need, views were amazing, and the owners were the friendliest and most helpful people you could hope for.

I thought the location was also perfect, as it's only a couple of minutes walking distance to town so you're close to where everything is, but far enough away that you're not disturbed by any noise. A very peaceful nights sleep.

A definite 10/10 stay and am already planning my return.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thales2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Wow, thanks heaps for giving us a 10/10!! So glad you enjoyed your time with us, and we really appreciate you taking the time to do this awesome review for us. Looking forward to when you can return! =) pat & jock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

1. Clean!!! (Very high standard of cleaning, we were very impressed!)
2. Excellent Customer Care (very friendly, informative & welcoming but not too much in your face!)
3.Close to town! (A pleasant downhill walk to town with a wee easy uphill climb back to chalet)
4. The extra,s, 5 stars (Morning Press hand delivered, Xmas cake for supper, awesome and very much appreciated!)
Loved our stay and we will be back!

Room Tip: Separate chalets off differing sizes, Views vary from each, but all very nice.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Thanks heaps Diane ~ it was lovely to have you and your family stay with us over Christmas, and
it's so good to hear that you enjoyed Christmas in Hanmer! It's really good to get your 4 positive comments, very much appreciated and we hope you can make it back to stay with us again sometime! =) Pat & Jock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed in the 2 bedroom Chalet for a girls night away/hens night. As there was only 4 of us and were keeping it quite low key, it was perfect for relaxing on the patio having a drink in the afternoon and ideal size to accommodate all of us without being too large or too cramped up. The chalets are a 3 minute walk into town and the 2 bedroom chalet is the nearest to the bottom of the hill so afforded us some privacy and meant we didn't disturb anyone when we came home from the nightlife scene at some ungodly hour. Everything was clean and tidy and the beds comfortable.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cflutey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Thanks girls - a lovely review, thanks so much! That's great you had a good 'Girls' Weekend'
here with us, good to hear! We do appreciate you taking the time to do this review for us, and
hopefully we will see you again! =) Pat & Jock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We booked the chalet online and had a great stay. The chalet was very well equipped, warm and well designed. In walking distance to the pools and in a peaceful and quiet setting. The staff was very helpful and we had a very friendly welcome. Thank you, Pat. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Chalet Motels!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SabineMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Hi Sabine & Mark ~ thanks heaps for taking the time to post this wonderful review on Trip Advisor for us! It's always so good to get such positive comments, and we are just rapt that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope you can make it back to The Chalets sometime! =) Pat & Jock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed here for two nights as part of a mini South Island road trip. I think I may have actually enjoyed the motel more than the attractions offered by the town! The view was gorgeous and the surroundings were so peaceful and so green! However, I think what we enjoyed the most was probably the free WiFi! It was the only place we stayed at that provided free, high speed WiFi and it was wonderful to check emails or even to find places to go explore around Hanmer Springs! The DVD collection was also a plus as it brought the family together each night. Jock and Pat were also wonderfully friendly hosts. In fact, I would've loved to stay longer! I would definitely recommend Chalets Motel to anyone considering staying in Hanmer Springs!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elzappozah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Wow, thanks for that great review! Yes, the free wifi is very popular now with advults and young ones. And holidays are a good time to catch up with some DVDs you have been meaning to watch for a while. Thanks again, and we hope to see you back one day! =) Pat & Jock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.3 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
703 reviews
0.2 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
466 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#7 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Village Lake Apartments
Village Lake Apartments
#4 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
297 reviews
0.5 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
605 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Motel
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Mote...
#12 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalets Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalets Motel

Address: 56 Jacks Pass Road, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Price Range: $90 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chalets Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your hosts, Andrew & Vera, welcome you to The Chalets Motel, a unique alpine retreat situated in the picturesque resort of Hanmer Springs. Famous for its Hot Thermal Pools. We offer 10 totally separate, modern, fully self-contained alpine-style chalets, including Luxury 1-Bedroom SPA chalet and 2-Bedroom Chalet with wheel-chair access. Each chalet has its own carpark with space for mountain bikes. All chalets have stunning views of the hills and surrounding mountains. Sunny & quiet. Spacious grounds ~ children's playarea with trampoline and swing. LCD TVs with 50+ SKY Channels, includes all Sport Channels. Free WiFi and DVDs. Easy 600 m stroll to the Hot Thermal Pools and village centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Chalets Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing