We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Time In Hanmer!”
Review of Chalets Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chalets Motel
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 10, 2013

This stay at the Chalets Motel was a perfect break away! Extremely nice, functional & warm self contained chalet. Not far from local shops, restaurants, bars & amenities. Very helpful and friendly owners - I would not hesitate to recommend this place to anybody who would like to take time out in Hanmer Springs! Thanks for a wonderful stay & will hopefully be back for another visit!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Hi Chris, Wonderful to hear you had a 'perfect break away' with us at The Chalets. Thanks heaps for taking the time to post this great review on Trip Advisor for us - it's very much appreciated and we hope to see you again one day =) Pat & Jock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (384)
There are newer reviews for Chalets Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 384 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

What a peace of heaven this motel is. I would love to keep this place a secret so there will be a place to stay when next in Hanmer! However you all need to know this motel is well worth a visit. The self contained, private chalets are homely and the beds are so cosy and comfortable. The heating is ample for the size of the units. 1 queen and 2 single beds in the 2 bedroom units. Towels to hire for $2 each so don't take your own. Close to amenities. Friendly, helpful hosts. What more could you want... highly recommend!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Biffee63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

What a great review for us! Thanks so much ~ it's great to hear you really enjoyed your stay with us. Yes, the $2 Spa Towel Hire to take to the Hot Pools is very popular! We so appreciate you taking the time to do this review for us ~ big thanks again, and we hope you can return to enjoy some more R & R when you can =) Pat & Jock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We had only one night at the Chalets Motel just to get away from the hustle of Christchurch for a night. It was perfect for what we needed, a full kitchen, nice bedroom and bathroom. It's greatly situated just out of the town, so we were able to take stroll to the cafes and restaurants if we wanted. We will definitely come back a lot as it was a nice wee escape, and especially relaxing with the great hot pools just down the road!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucyhannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Thanks so much Lucy ~ great review! We are so happy you enjoyed your 1 night stay ~ come back again and enjoy a few more days of R & R! We so appreciate you taking the time to post this review for us =) Pat & Jock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Chalets motel and will definitely be coming back to stay. We met Pat on day 1 who was very friendly and welcoming, she also has a lot a knowledge on the area. The self contained room we had was spotless and had everything we needed. The pools are only a 5 min stroll away so we couldn't have asked for anything more. We could have stayed for longer as all the amenities provided ensured you had everything you could require.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Hi Geoff, Thanks so much ~ that's a great review for us, and we are just rapt you enjoyed your stay here at The Chalets in lovely Hanmer Springs!

Big thanks too for taking the time to post this review on Trip Advisor for us, and we look forward to seeing you again! =) Pat & Jock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We only had one night in our chalet, and came in on the tail of a classic Nor'wester, so it was a case of batten down the hatches - although we got in a quick walk before it really turned nasty. But our home for the night was absolutely perfect, the chalet was clean, nicely fitted out and would have suited a longer stay without any question. Excellent for self-catering options (and enforced indoor entertainment) but also handy to everything the village has to offer, less than 10 mins walk away. Pat was very helpful and an accommodating host. We'd love to return as soon as we can and spend a little longer.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

Thanks a lot Peter ~ that's a really great review for us, and we are rapt you enjoyed your stay here with us at The Chalets (in spite of a roaring nor'wester!). We look forward to seeing you next time you can make it up here, and we want to thank you very much for taking the time to post this great review on our behalf. =) Pat & Jock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Chalet was first class,clean,no broken bits,we were only there for 2 nights celebrating our 52nd wedding anniversary so didn't make best use of the well equipped kitchen area,eating out at local restaurants which are very close to hand,another reason to opt to stay at the Chalets Motel.
Next time at Hanmer the Chalets will be the choice,no contest.
Peter & Ella C.
Nelson

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

Hi Peter & Ella, thanks heaps for your great review! We are very happy to see that you enjoyed your couple of days with us, and we look forward to seeing you next time you can make it down to lovely Hanmer Springs (maybe on or before your 53rd Wedding Anniversary!!) Thanks so much for taking the time to post this great review for us. =) Pat & Jock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Quite perfect - make every effort to stay here! Go on waiting list if need be. Excellent location close to the pools, and with an enchanting outlook. (A bellbird even landed on the kowhai tree outside our unit.) Very welcoming and charming owners. And a real kitchen - not just a microwave on a shelf. Suited us to a tee as we could heat up our gourmet pie properly.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank Lucy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Hi Lucy, what an awesome review! Thanks heaps, we really appreciate you taking the time to post it on Trip Advisor for us. It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay so much, and we hope you can come back and stay again one day

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.3 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
706 reviews
0.2 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
466 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#7 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Village Lake Apartments
Village Lake Apartments
#4 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
297 reviews
0.5 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
605 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Motel
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Mote...
#12 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalets Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalets Motel

Address: 56 Jacks Pass Road, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Price Range: $92 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chalets Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your hosts, Andrew & Vera, welcome you to The Chalets Motel, a unique alpine retreat situated in the picturesque resort of Hanmer Springs. Famous for its Hot Thermal Pools. We offer 10 totally separate, modern, fully self-contained alpine-style chalets, including Luxury 1-Bedroom SPA chalet and 2-Bedroom Chalet with wheel-chair access. Each chalet has its own carpark with space for mountain bikes. All chalets have stunning views of the hills and surrounding mountains. Sunny & quiet. Spacious grounds ~ children's playarea with trampoline and swing. LCD TVs with 50+ SKY Channels, includes all Sport Channels. Free WiFi and DVDs. Easy 600 m stroll to the Hot Thermal Pools and village centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Chalets Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing